close
The price comparison tools on this website require you to disable Adblock for full functionality. Please consider disabling your ad blocker on our website in order to best take advantage of our tools.
Home > All Providers Reviews > Magicjack Plus

MagicJack Plus Reviews

magicJack Plus

magicJack Plus is the newest VoIP system available from magicJack. With magicJack Plus, you don't need to keep your computer on at all times to use your phone, as you did with the older magicJack product. This means you can save money on electricity by not leaving the computer on at all times.

magicJack Plus is one of the cheapest options available in VoIP technology, and with a magicJack Plus setup, you can see your phone bills drop to extremely low prices, around $19.95/year, according to the magicJack Plus website. And with the new magicJack Plus system, you can get an adapter that allows you to plus your magicJack port directly into a wall socket instead of your computer. This makes it easier to turn any phone line into a magicJack phone line.

magicJack Plus includes the following features for free:

  • Choice of phone numbers, and number porting available.
  • Free long distance and local calling within the US.
  • Free incoming international calls for US customers.
  • Free call waiting, voicemail, and caller ID service.

Customers report mixed feelings on magicJack plus, so be sure to read VoIP Review's magicJack Plus reviews to get a better idea of what to expect when it comes to service with magicJack. The customer magicJack Plus reviews listed below, and on our other magicJack pages, will help you figure out if a magicJack Plus system is a good fit for you, and how you can make sure you get the best possible magicJack Plus service.

 

Buyer beware. We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read their user reviews here first.

 

Users Average Rating

Providers Comparison

Note: The graphs above only measure the user ratings displayed over the last five years.
Write your own review

If you already have MagicJack, read this!!!!

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)

I purchased MagicJack in March 2018. I opted for selecting my own phone number, which I believe cost an extra fee of $10 one time only. I set up "Auto Renewal" on my account online as I pay all of my bills with auto-pay. I have a cell phone, and use it for everything. The ONLY reason I purchased MagicJack was in case I lose my phone in the house, I can use the MagicJack phone to call my cell phone. I also can use my home phone if my cell phone is broken, and I have no phone, or need to call my cell phone provider from a different phone other than my cell phone. My subscription expired in March 2019 but, because I set up "Auto-Renewal," my service automatically renewed, however, in August 2019 I misplaced my cell phone and picked up my MagicJack home phone to call my cell phone to locate it. There was a dial tone, but when I started to enter my cell phone number, I received a message on the phone that said I needed to renew my service???? So why did I receive a dial tone then? And why would I have to renew since I set up auto-pay? As everybody says, customer service is a FRICKIN JOKE! In order to get someone on the phone, you need to call the sales department 8006244252 (M-F 9am to 11pm ET and Sat/Sun 10am to 7pm,) and press Opt 1, enter your MagicJack phone number, then option 1, then option 0. I found this out after numerous attempts to reach the billing dept (8448662442 10am to 7pm ET, closed on weekends.) I explained that I am on auto-renewal but picked up my phone to use it for the first time since my service renewed on 3-24-2019, and received a message that I need to renew my phone service - why??? After being on the phone almost an hour with the cust svc rep, I found out that even though I was set up for auto-renewal, IF you paid to select your own phone number when you got the service, auto renewal DOES NOT renew your phone number!! Auto renewal ONLY renews the service, NOT your number. You have to call customer service every year to renew your phone number. The rep told me she could renew my number, but suggested I turn off auto-renewal as I have to call to renew my number EVERY YEAR. Not only that, calling to renew is cheaper than auto-renewal! I highly recommend auto-renewal ( IF you did not select your own phone, so you don't have to spend hours on the phone with a customer service rep.) Auto renewal is $45.61 per year whereas manual rennewal (calling) costs $44.83 yearly - it's cheaper but only less than a dollar cheaper, so it's easier to auto-renew, again, ONLY if you did not select your own. I also recommend NOT renewing for more than one year at a time because several reviews mentioned consumers purchasing 3 yr plans, and some 5 yr plans only to expire 1 yr later and MagicJack tells them they have to renew AGAIN, AND would NOT refund the money they already paid for a3 yr or 5 yr plan. The main thing i wish to convey here, though, is IF you opted to select your own phone number, setting up AUTO-RENEWAL ONLY renews the phone "service" for one year, and does NOT renew your phone number - you have to call EVERY YEAR to renew. The customer service rep I had was HORRIBLE, kept cutting me off! She'd read stuff off real quick, and when I'd ask a question, she just kept talking over me, like she couldn't hear me. It took an hour to understand what the issue was when I called, because she talked fast and refused to let me ask questions. I finally got mad and asked her to stop talking over me, and ANSWER my questions!!! She was the WORST customer service rep I have EVER dealt with. Other than all of that, I really do not use my home phone. But when I have on occasion, the service is fine, the call is clear. MagicJack does NOT offer Caller ID-Name. Your phone will display the phone number that dialed you, but no name is displayed. If your home phone is programmable, and you can program phone numbers into it, when someone calls you, who's number is programmed in your phone, your phone itself will then display the caller's name; it works the same as a cell phone - if the person calling you is already in your contacts, their name will show up when they call you. Now MagicJack is charging an extra $10 for "Concierge" service - I do not pay for this service. It is for "Premium Support" (they give you a different phone number to call,) and discounts on replacement devices. Because MagicJack runs off of wireless internet, you need to have a good connection for MagicJack to work when dialing out or receiving calls.

is cheap - $45.61 per year
Customer Service is AWFUL and is hard to reach. I would recommend this service if you want a home phone as a backup phone in your home because it's very cheap compared to Spectrum Cable or AT&T's home phone service (the price of a year of Magic Jack is about the same as what they both charge for one MONTH!!)
Yes

Great

user_review
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

We have had Magicjack for 6 years now with no problems. We have had different types of internet services from DSL or cable to now fiber optic no problems there. We have used it to fax and talk on no problems there. We have even used Magicjack on G router with 3 computers, TV, and our cellphones With NO problems. We have bought a few different types of Magicjacks when different ones came out to see if they worked as good as the older ones No problems there. We do NOt have the fastest speed internet in a matter of fact we have one one the lowest speeds to cut cost No problems with the Magicjack for us. We have NOT problems and will stick with Magicjack. The only time I seen ANY voice problems is when the internet service company had problems. If your having problems the odds are it is with your internet service not magicjack. I read there are some internet service companies out there blocking the magicjack from working and done systems like it to make the customers buy more. It could be more as in to buy the right to be able to use a magicjack type of service. The other buy more they try to do is make it so you have to buy there phone service. I would drop that internet service ASAP if they tray any of that.

Everything
Support could be better
Yes

Worst customer service on the planet

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

Not doing anything exotic with MagicJack so a limited feature set is not a problem. The device seems to work fine. Customer service, however, is absolute garbage. After purchasing a four-year plan during the renewal process, I find that I am again being asked to renew the service (automatically debiting my bank account/credit card) after only one year. I called to seek a clarification and discovered that magicJack (according to the person who answered the phone) apparently didn't have my current address, even though the invoice I received (PAID IN FULL) upon purchasing the plan clearly has my current address listed . . . the customer service rep claimed he needed a previous, long-outdated address for "security" reasons. These people couldn't differentiate security from a piano recital. So I sent customer support an e-mail describing the problem and I receive an e-mail in reply that the customer support e-mail box is not monitored and that I should call instead --- apparently no one at magicJack has the guts or initiative to correct their corrupted, useless database nor offer any positive assistance to a customer. I will reply by first filing formal complaints with my state Attorney General's office and the state Consumer Protection Agency. And if magicJack ignores my request to not attempt to automatically charge my credit card/bank account again, I will, indeed, file a criminal complaint (theft & fraud).

The device works as intended
Pitiful customer service which should fully embarrass management
No

Magic Jack

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

Absolutely the WORST customer service and reliability. The settings do address the problems I am having with my phone. You have to submit a live chat and I have NEVER been connected with this service. you keep getting this message: " Whew, we are pretty busy today! I apologize for the wait, but rest assured I am still trying to get an agent assigned to you as quickly as possible!" & then it directs you to FAQ. AT this point I have been on hold for 30 minutes. I have tried live chat 4 times before this and it's alway the same. The price is cheap & you get what you pay for. I will not ever use it again.

none at this point
Customer service, functionality
No

SCAMMERS

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

I wish I had read other reviews first before trying this magic jack out. So please, read first! DO.NOT.USE. I signed up for the free trial but returned the device within 30 days. I included the RMA and everything else like they said. I paid for the shipping and it was received and delivered to them timely. But guess what? THEY STILL CHARGED ME. I called several times and they keep hanging up. You can’t talk to anybody who is decent enough to actually care about your concern. So my resolution would be just to file a dispute with my credit card company. I learned my lesson. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE.

None
Scam
No

Bad customer service

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

When I inquired for the service they had the 30 day free trial, but obviously I had to give them my credit card number. When I received the system it did not work well with my internet, so I contacted the company and received a RMA number with return authorization, and shipped the unit back within few days of receiving the unit exactly as they wanted and I did include a copy of the RMA authorization with the return, and the tracking showed that they did receive the unit within couple of days. But then the the 30 days free trial date ended they charged my credit card anyway, I have contacted them several times and they keep telling me that the return has not processed through their warehouse yet and this has been two months since they received the unit back. When they did transfer me to the department that supposedly would give you a refund, I was on hold for an hour twice. So don't expect to get refund from them. After calling several time and getting no where, I got a little aggressive with them and they just hung up the phone.

None
Everything
No

Don't subscribe to more than one year service of Magic Jack

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)

I don’t recommend opting for multiple years of service of Magic Jack because if the device should fail within that period, you must replace it with a new device and a new subscription and there is no way to transfer the unused subscription months to the new device and no refund of the unused months. Also, don’t fall for the 911 surcharge that Magic Jack is offering. The Magic Jack plus works just fine when calling 911. I occasionally get a recorded reminder on the Magic Jack VoIP to pay the additional fee to call 911.

Has worked well for six years and saved me about $1000 compared to a landline and I get one $40 phone bill a year
Doesn't work well without a fast internet service and must have at least an N series 300 megabit router. Doesn't work well with a Wifi hotspot
Yes

For the money I like it...Magic Jack

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
3.4
Average: 3.4 (1 vote)

I would recommend the Magic Jack Plus to friends and make them aware that it is a very inexpensive phone service. The caller ID thing working from time to time with only the number displayed is a bit annoying. Caller ID names do not appear. This could be the third-party caller ID provider as MJ does not provide this service. There are a lot of comments on the Internet concerning the dysfunctional caller ID so I suspect their product has something to do with the problem.
If Magic Jack would just fix the poor sound quality and the caller ID issue this product would be as close to perfect as the POTS phones (Plain Old Telephone Service), a.k.a. landline phones.
With the money I save by using Magic Jack Plus I am OK with it.

On the renewal at the end of the first year I paid for the 5 year thing. Each year i have to send MJ $10 to keep my phone number. So $30 per year is a STEAL for phone service!
The caller ID, when it works, only displays the number, no name. Even for the people who are stored in the phone. The sound quality is not very good. My hearing is not what it used to be so i use ear buds when using the MJ phone. The ear buds are not needed when using my cell phones.
Yes

Huge Savings with Magic Jack plus

user_review
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4.6
Average: 4.6 (1 vote)

i have never had to call customer service. It was easy to install and I was able to keep my old phone number. I have excellent phones so reception is excellent.

Huge savings. Can use all my phones throughout the house and garage. I save over $300 a year and I was able to keep my old number. Can take it with me where ever I am and plug in and get my calls or use the ipad app.
No call fwd. but I do have the ipad app so can answer and make phone calls from my ipad. Do have to use area code with each call dialed and every once in Awhile will drop a call, but easy to just call back. The savings are worth these few cons.
Yes

Magic Jack is the worst

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

Terrible customer service, they took away the call forward feature and would not refund my money. I signed up and paid for the purpose of using it to call forward a business number. Then the next week call forward did not work. Tried to get a refund and they refused..

None
None
No

Pages

MagicJack Plus

2007Year Founded
29%Recommend
17User Reviews
Get Quote

Overall Rating

2.2705
2.94
49%
44%
45%
28%
58%

Service Locations

Recent Reviews

net2phone logo
5
Net2Phone

We had a different VOIP provider for many years and this company is like night and day to what our business used before. The customer service has...

November 7th, 2019 - TECBuilding
magicJack logo
1
magicJack

Magic Jack is ok as long as you don't need records from them to validate your payments nor you don't get caught up in one of their scams for extended...

November 6th, 2019 - westugirl

Most Recent Blog Posts

Professional Email Address
Tips For Choosing a Professional Email Address

If you want to build trust with small businesses, it’s important that you have a professional email address that uses your domain name. Scams are becoming increasingly more troublesome, which is why...

Apr 01, 2019
Best Twilio Alternatives
Best Twilio Alternatives in 2019

Twilio is one of the most popular ways for businesses who want to use an API to make their own phone communication systems to work with their websites. If you want to use customized phone apps on...

Mar 31, 2019