iTalkBB Reviews

iTalkBB is a popular home phone service provider for VoIP phone calls between the United States and Canada and China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.

 

Users Average Rating

Providers Comparison

Note: The graphs above only measure the user ratings displayed over the last five years.
Write your own review

ItalkBB is the worst company that I dealt with in the US

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
iTalkBB should feel honored to received one star! Because they deserve zero star!! I have been in the US for more than 17 years. I have to say iTalkBB has been the worst companies I have ever dealt with. They gave you the warmest welcome when you sign up. But you will expect the most greedy goodbye experiences when you cancel. I transferred my number to Verizon in 4/18 2017, and thought italkbb service will be automatic be canceled. However, just want to confirm, I called iTalkBB in 4/20 to confirm. They tried every methods letting me to stay with their services. After they realized I will definitely go, they changed. I insist that don't charge me any more. They agreed. Two months later, I found they charged my credit card for $29.97 for the service of 4/20 - 5/19. I called them, they said you called at the first day of the billing cycle, we have to charge the whole month!. I said my number was already transferred to Verizon in 4/18, how did you provide the service for me for 4/20-5/19? they refuse to refund!! To all who want to sign up iTalkbb: Please, not only their service are really bad!! but also you have much much better options: Use Skype to do international phone call!! For international calling to landline or cell phone in China from your cell phone in the US, 400 minutes/$2.99, 1000 minutes/$4.99. Very convenient, and crystal clear!! For all iTalkBB users, dump this company, and run away as soon as you can to same 90% of your international call of Talkbb, and get much better signals and much better services in Skype!!
nothing
bad service, bad signal, bad prices
No

Worst Service - iTalkBB

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
If less than Zero rating were possible, I would give such a rating! This is the worst company I have ever worked with. I used their iTalkBB TV box so that my mother could watch Chinese programs. First, I had to pay $49.99/year for Renting the box, in addition to $10/mo for the phone service. I told them that I don't need the phone service, only the TV box for Chinese programs, then I was told that I would pay $15/mo if I don't use their phone service! Blood suckers! I had to keep the phone service even though the phone service has never been used. Fast forward, at the first day of the second year, I was charged another $49.99 for renting the TV box for the whole year. Within one month, I needed to cancel the TV service, since my mother had left for travel. I was told, not only do I need to pay another month of phone service which has never been used, but I won't get any refund of the $49.99 charge for the whole year, even though, I had only used it for less than a month. Additionally, I need to return the box to them within 15 days, or I'll be charged $75! This company is all about finding ways to charge you more fees, rather than providing good customer service, and a good customer experience. I will never, ever, do business with this company again, nor will I ever recommend this company to anyone I know. Avoid this company like the plague.
None
Too many to list.
No

Please think twice, three times before signning up with iTalkBB

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
I have been using iTalkBB's phone service since 2007 and I recently cancelled my service. Here is what happened to me since 2 years ago: every time my parents made an international call, the call will be cut off at random times. I called iTalkBB service and they did something on their backend to try to make things better. Things did not get better. I asked if they should provide a more updated box to me because the one I have been using is 8 years old already..... I was told that since I have bought the box (it was the only option in 2007) they would not be able to ship me the new box. I will have buy another box. I have to say, their customer service was OK. They told me what they have done in the backend. As an IT person, it made sense. After that phone call, my parents told me the calls did not get cut off as frequently but the quality went down. there are statics. Recently, we finally decided to that we want to get out of iTalkBB phone service and just use Google Voice instead. After all, Google Voice is cheaper, more flexible, and a lot higher quality. And here is how things went south: iTalkBB tried their best to keep me on their service, which I can totally understand. Our mind is made up, we are switching. So, I patiently told them again, again and again that I just want to cancel. Finally, they gave up. but then they told me that the phone box belongs to them and I had to ship it back to them within 15 days or they will charge me $59.99. I was like, what? I own the phone box, that is why yall would not give me a new one 2 years ago. They told me there must be a mistake because they should be able to give me a new one. I said "OK. That was 2 years ago. The fact is they told me no. So, let's not focus on the past. The issue we have now is you asked me to return the box that I have paid for." Then iTalkBB person, it is a her, said they have reimbursed me in a monthly base from 2008-2009. My answer to her was "I paid for the box. you decided to reimburse me, that is iTalkBB's decision. It does not change the fact that I bought the box. It is like you go shopping, and bought a skirt. Then the company told you they will pay you back for the skirt for some reason. You accepted it. But then you found out the skirt doesn't fit you so you went go return it, but come to find out you need to pay the company back for the shirt if you are returning it. That doesn't even make sense." Then that person went on to try to rationalize iTalkBB's behavior. And here is the kicker. They want original condition of their equipment, including the internet wire. I almost laughed my butt off. It has been 10 years in my case. I moved 3 times in the past 10 years. An internet cable wire is an internet cable wire. No one cares about original or not as long as it works. Not to mention that the wire may not work anymore after 10 years. At the end, I simply told her "Look, it will only cost me around $5 to ship you back this 10 year old equipment that I have no use. I would simply take it to the electronic center and recycle it. If you want this junk back, I WILL ship this junk back to you. Please note that our conversation has taught me that I will never ever return to iTalkBB anymore because iTalkBB simply do not have any integrity. This $5 will also earn iTalkBB my honest opinion on all the possible online review website I can find. I am not upset at you. You are just following what was given to you. The problem lies in the whole philosophy and culture of iTalkBB. I will not trust iTalkBB and I will not give a penny to iTalkBB moving forward. Again, I am sorry you will have to take the blunt comments from me. If you do not truly believe iTalkBB's way of doing business. I don't think you are happy in what you are doing. If that is the case, I hope you find a better job soon. Your patience to me and your insistence for keeping customers will earn you a much better job in a much better company. You are too good for iTalkBB". I mean it. She was a good customer service representative, she was caught in a rock and a hard place. I hope this review is candid and honest. I tried to be as objective as possible.
A iTalkBB number is given so that people from China can call the iTalkBB number, and it will be routed to house in the US. And there is no long distance charge.
Dishonest company Unreliable service Not so good customer service -- mainly on follow up on issues part. ** If you want to learn more details, please see my detailed review.
No

Do not waste your money ItalkBB

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
I have been using ITalkBB for near 10 years. ITalkBB customer support has been terrible; but I was just patient to tolerant because I did not have time to look other company. Recently, I can not tolerant ITalBB anymore and made study to choose other company. I noticed Ooma and made switch. I am extremely happy with Ooma and save big money (from $30 to $5 monthly). I wish that I could know Ooma early.
No

Terrible company

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
I have been using ITalkBB for near 10 years. ITalkBB customer support has been terrible; but I was just patient to tolerant because I did not have time to look other company. Recently, I can not tolerant ITalBB anymore and made study to choose other company. I noticed Ooma and made switch. I am extremely happy with Ooma and save big money (from $30 to $5 monthly). I wish that I could know Ooma early.
No

poor tech support for internet - Italkbb

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2.2
Average: 2.2 (1 vote)
i joined their internet for a month and the service suddenly stopped 3 days ago (no internet, no phone). I immediately reported it and requested for tech support. However, no one was able to give me a clear answer when would they fix the problem but just asked me to wait. I complained it to the manager but again, he could not tell me when could they arrange someone to fix my problem. He asked me to wait for another 3 days before he could give me a better timeline (as they are not working during the weekend). Again... this is not a guarantee but he just "trys his best". I requested to speak to his boss but he said that he is the top rank of his division. I am very frustrated with their work effeciency and poor co-ordination. It seems to me that the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing. Very poor tech support.
poor work effeciency and co-ordination
No

Do not use iTalkBB. the Customer Services is suck !

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1.4
Average: 1.4 (1 vote)
if you want to use iTalkBB, read this review before you connect them. I believe all the 5 stars rating review are hired and paid by the iTalkBB to try to fool the new customers. I have been using iTalkBB for many years. The major advantage with this company is that you can call China anytime and "no time limit" ( normally they auto cut you off after about 2 hours ). That's it ! Other than this advantage , you will suffer with all their customer services. There is one time, my sit top box broke. I have to call their Customer Services for three days and six times. Finally I ran out of patience and started to yell at them before they finally ship over a new sit top box. They increased monthly fee from $23 to $28 without notify me. the thing that pissed me off the most is when I sold my house and called in to disconnect. They simply asked me to leave a phone number and call me back in 24 hours. Everybody know when you sold your house, you need to disconnect lots of services like gas, water, electricity, TV, internet cable, phone, etc. I only spend about 10 minutes calls to disconnect each of all these services EXCEPT iTalkBB. They make it extremely difficult to disconnect it until you call them many , many times. Originally, I thought to re-connect the iTalkBB after I move to my new house. But, this tough disconnecting their services and bad customer services experience make me NEVER return this company !
You call China without extra fee
The Customer Services is the WORST I have ever seen in the U.S. It has typical Chinese way to doing business. You give them money ( subscribe their services ), they give the best services. But, you want to cancel the service or call in for any issues. They turn deaf hear to you.
No

Service getting better

user_review
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4.4
Average: 4.4 (1 vote)
I got italkbb service in 2005 and cancelled after three months because of the bad sound quality. Last month, I heard from one of my friends that italk was giving out free HD Chinese tv service with the phone service. And she told me that the quality had been improved. so i got the service. The free tv service is really good. They have cctv, phoenix and other channels, all in hd quality. The phone service is not perfect, but is definitely better than what i experienced 7 years ago. if you want a good tv service for free and an acceptable phone service with low rates. italk is a good choice.
Free Chinese tv free china local number no device fee
less plan choice no international fax
Yes

iTalkBB: Snarky Customer Service

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2.2
Average: 2.2 (1 vote)
I am not happy with my iTalkBB service and will cancel as soon as I can. I was happy at first.  Things went smoothly.  I could contact my relatives in China cheaply.  I was just hunky dory. One of the items packaged with my service was TV.  My TV service is NOT WORKING.  It was working, but it has not been working for weeks.  I have audio but no video.  Pretty sure I didn't subscribe to iTalkBB radio. So I contacted customer service.  Very quick.  Within two or three minutes I was talking to a person.  I'll give them a point for this.  Good hustle over there. Now, the problems.  I am fluent in Chinese, but prefer English.  When I requested an English tech, I was informed they had ZERO English techs.  Okay, that's fine, I speak Chinese.  Except three times now, I've gotten people who ended up being a bit snarky with me, likely because the tech assumed that because I requested an English tech my Chinese was poor.  Not the case and I am offended by their unprofessional attitude.  But I can live with this as long as my problem is fixed so I don't need to speak to them anymore.  Well, my TV is not fixed.  Almost everytime I've been given the run around ( Unplug and replug your TV's power?  What? ).  I've been given noncommital responses like, "your case is extremely rare" and "nobody else is having this problem," have been outright told its somebody else's fault ( my ISP ) or otherwise turned away.  They have no Tier 2 tech support like say Verizon or AT&T who can offer more advanced assistance, just people reading scripts telling me to unplug and replug my modem or something.  Half the time, they promised to call me the next day, probably just to get me to hang up.  I've never received a return call. Keep in mind all this time I am having Internet connectivity issues even though I've never had them before even though I've been with Verizon for about four years now. My TV is a lost cause, but that wasn't the final straw.  The final straw was last week when I tried to get a burglar alarm installed. The alarm company told me my iTalkBB service was interfering with the alarm communications.  Okay, I call iTalkBB tech support, they tell me my service IS NOT MEANT TO WORK WITH ALARMS?!  WHAT?!  The alarm representative told me that was a bunch of hogwash so I called tech support again.  A different person told me they were investigating the issue and would contact me NEXT WEEK MAYBE?!  WHAT?!  First, why did I get different responses and second, if they can't remember to call me within 24 hours, how are they going to remember to call me in a week, maybe? That is the final straw.  I am cancelling.  So frustrated.
Fast access to tech support. Pretty good about the whole contacting others in China cheaply thing.
Tech support is frustratingly useless. No English speaking tech support ( and several people I spoke to took me asking for an English tech meant I didn't know Chinese and were snarky / rude to me in Chinese ). Poor reliability - trashed my Internet.
No

iTalkBB: Decent Service

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4.4
Average: 4.4 (1 vote)
I love their local number in Taiwan or China, now my family can call me from Taiwan and not to worry about any charges for international long distance. Signed up in their store in Jan, reps had explained everything to me pretty clearly. I think the service is decent.
Taiwan number features low cost convenient
Yes

Pages

iTalkBB

Markham
Ontario
2004Year Founded
25%Recommend
12User Reviews
Get Quote

Overall Rating

2.0835
2.33
46%
36%
46%
38%
46%

Service Locations

VoIP app

The Skinny

Free Chinese Phone Number

iTalkBB can offer you a free local number in China.

Of course, you have to purchase the service in order to get the free number, but that's beside the point. iTalkBB can get you local numbers in China, Hong Kong, or Taiwain. With a number with a 950 area code, people all over China can call you without having to pay high international rates.

iTalkBB offers two calling plans:

  • Global Unlimited Plan
  • Residential Economic Plan

Global Unlimited Plan

iTalkBB's Global Unlimited Plan allows you to make unlimited calls to the US, China, and many other countries. You also get a local Chinese phone number thrown in there, which is great especially if you're calling China a lot.

iTalkBB's Global Unlimited Plan isn't a business plan. Like most VoIP providers, iTalkBB does have a clause to protect itself from unreasonable use. So, don't try any extensive office-related calling to China on your iTalkBB plan.

Residential Economic Plan

If you don't need to call that much, consider the Residential Economic Plan.

For $4.99 a month for basic phone service, you get 2 cent calls to the United States and China. However, if you spend more than 1000 minutes on the phone a month, you should definitely use the Global Unlimited Plan - it'll save you a little more money every month.

Recent Reviews

centurylink logo
1
CenturyLink

Worst service ever. Didn't even connect internet and decided to cancel, had to pay over 100 dollars for no service connection. Basically paid...

August 14th, 2017 - ZEROSTARS
axvoice logo
3
Axvoice

I am the kind of person who always goes first for the isle that says “Sale” because I like to SAVE. That’s how my life is and I am not ashamed of...

August 11th, 2017 - Alison Grace

Most Recent Blog Posts

Dialpad and G Suite integration
Making Business Communications Better with Dialpad + G...

Nowhere is change more evident in the world of business than in the communications field. Gone are the days when businesses simply relied on their landline phones and email to stay in touch with...

Aug 15, 2017
connecting users over cloud network
How Magna5 is Helping Businesses Make Smart Connections

Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) technology has improved by leaps and bounds, so much so that most businesses--from small businesses to larger enterprises--are replacing and upgrading their legacy...

Aug 10, 2017