8x8 vs Rebtel

Compare 8x8 vs Rebtel. Find out whether 8x8 or Rebtel is better for your VoIP business or home needs. The experts at VoipReview have analyzed the strengths and weaknesses of 8x8 and Rebtel and detailed analysis of the comparison can be found below.

User Ratings & Reviews

  • 35 Reviews
  • 14 Reviews
3.9
3.3

Overview:

8x8 is a trusted provider of award-winning cloud communications systems for business of all sizes. Having earned over 125 patents and counting, 8x8 is dedicated to developing innovative solutions that help businesses work simply and perform...

Rebtel is starting a revolution.

A venture capital-funded start-up, Rebtel began in 2006 with the goal of 'taking the phony out of mobile telephony.' If Rebtel hasn't succeeded at that goal, Rebtel has taken high prices...

Provider Info

  • Website: 8x8.com
  • Headquater Country: United States
  • Founder Year: 1996

Plans Available*

  • 8x8 Call Center Software - N/A
  • 8x8 Global Extension - $79.99
  • 8x8 Metered Extensions - $24.99
  • 8x8 SIP Trunking - N/A
  • 8x8 Unlimited Extension - $39.99
  • Virtual Office - $19.99
  • Virtual Office Pro - $49.99
  • N/A

Users Average Rating

Recent User Reviews

We've been trying to get 8x8 to fix a chronic problem with our recorded calls getting randomly lost or corrupted. We call and email them daily and get little to no response. The typical response is "that department is very busy with other problems, we'll get to yours when we get to it." They say that the problem gets escalated to a higher tier but we still haven't gotten a response and it's been over a week now. I've called our rep Aldrich and he says that he's done all that he can and I've talked to Donovan who is apparently the head of the tech department and he is the one that told me that they'll get to our calls when they get to them. Very unresponsive when it comes to resolving issues.

[email protected] July 24th, 2017

After 12 months of frustration, we have moved away from 8X8. The issue was never the suite of features. It was customer service for a persistent problem. The basic requirement for a telephone system is that it allows me to make and receive calls. For 12 months, we were unable to receive call from many local people. I was told that it was not the fault of 8X8 and to contact our old provider, Verizon. Verizon said they had ported the number and that was all they could do. We have switched to 3CX. Within 2 days, the local contact was able to trace and resolve the problem. Anyone can now call. My experience shows that 8X8 is not willing to help solve a serious problem. I should also add that they offered no compensation for this issue. I cannot recommend 8x8.

Family9531 July 3rd, 2017

I used Rebtel for a few years and was satisfied with their service However, this year everything changed and no amount of email correspondences gave me any correctable satisfaction. I deposited $10.00 each for 2 lines. (Total :$20.00). I used those two lines to call the Philippines but only for less than 3 minutes and most times the numbers were busy. Later on I found that the first line's credits were used up. I was told that system problems caused Rebtel to charge for unconnected calls and that they would put back the credits. Never happened. Not only that, my total calls probably amounted to only 2-3 minutes. Each $10.00 was supposed to be worth 60 minutes. The second line still has $3.10 left. I checked and discovered that this second line was last used in 2017 and that was my remaining balance since 2017. So what happened to the $10.00 that I recently deposited? I wanted a live conversation with the company but was told that they would only correspond by email. Emailing was frustrating because their answer were always inadequate and did not answer the questions that I asked. Never again will I deal with this company.

Derick Lee March 29th, 2018

I used a Rebtel number in Dec, and reached to total strangers. I tried 3 times and got the same results, was charged for these malfunctioned phone calls. I promptly cancelled my Rebtel account, which still had $24 credit left. My account had two Master Cards in it – one of them was closed/cancelled, one was active/current. Rebtel began charging the current/active card in March, when I made the switch. However, my $24 credit was refunded to my already cancelled credit card, which I had no access to it. I went back & force with numerous Rebtel reps, they all repeated the same thing – too bad, we can’t help you, you got to work with your “bank,” as shown below: “Hi Aki, We love to assist your concerned but it's already beyond our control the best thing you can do is to contact your bank to resolve this matter. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation. Best Regards, Customer Team” If you are canceling a Rebtel account, make sure use up all credit – because, if you have multiple credit cards loaded in your account, you have no guarantee they will refund your credit to your most current card. Nobody at Rebtel bothers to check which card is the most recently used – if your refund was sent to your closed/cancelled credit card, all you will get is, “too bad! Good luck with your ‘bank’!!!” with their friendly customer reps. Ugh!

aki james January 3rd, 2018
*Plan pricing displayed here has been sourced directly from the provider's website or via the provider's sales team. Pricing is subject to change without notice. Check provider's website for most current pricing.Plan pricing may differ based on the country for which you are requesting service.

Recent Reviews

ringcentral logo
5
RingCentral

I love that RingCentral is constantly upgrading its apps to make the service more useful and reliable. We've used RingCentral for five years now, and...

April 17th, 2018 - lauriermandin
magicJack logo
1
magicJack

I've been a MagicJack customer since 2011, so when my MagicJack+ packed it in, it wasn't a big deal. I purchased the replacement product MagicJack GO...

April 13th, 2018 - telserv

Most Recent Blog Posts

Q&A with Cyclix Networks: on Choosing the Right Ent...

With the growing number and popularity of alternative communication channels, some companies believe that a phone system is no longer necessary for conducting business. However, a professional...

Apr 17, 2018
Cloud Link
Mitel Exec Shares Insights on Why CPaaS is Crucial for...

Communications Platform as a Service (CPaaS) is a cloud-based platform that enables...

Apr 11, 2018