close
The price comparison tools on this website require you to disable Adblock for full functionality. Please consider disabling your ad blocker on our website in order to best take advantage of our tools.

VoIPo Reviews

VoIPo is a residential and business VoIP service provider that offers services within the United States. Described as The Likable Phone Company, VoIPo provides quality VoIP solutions at affordable monthly rates. Their services allow you to make and receive virtually unlimited calls to the U.S. and Canada using your regular phones with their VoIP service. Their plans are fairly priced, and VoIPo believes that they can help you save up to 75% on your phone service when you make the switch. They also offer a 30 Day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. 

Furthermore, VoIPo has plenty of extra perks with their phone solutions, including 40+ features, 60 international minutes per month, a free rollover line, and more. They are also a privately-owned, owner-managed debt-free company that believes in delivering top-notch customer service.

 

Users Average Rating

Providers Comparison

Note: The graphs above only measure the user ratings displayed over the last five years.

Editorial Review

Branded as  “The Likable Phone Company,” VoIPo offers affordable home phone solutions to customers in the United States. The company was created by Hostgator, a popular web hosting company, in 2006. Dedicated to delivering a reliable and straightforward service, VoIPo only offers one residential VoIP plan that includes more than 40+ features for an affordable monthly rate.

Cheap Yet Feature-Packed Plan

VoIPo’s residential VoIP plan is an excellent option for customers who want to get a reliable VoIP service but don’t want to deal with complicated or non-sensical features. Starting at $6.21/month (for their 2 year-contract) or $15/month (for a regular monthly plan), customers can take advantage of over 40 amazing features, unlimited calling to the US and Canada, and 60 minutes of free international calling per month. Plus, users also have the ability to send and receive text messages.

Excellent Customer Service

VoIPo isn’t called “The Likable Phone Company” for nothing. On top of their excellent residential VoIP plan, VoIPo also prides itself in having a great customer service team based in Southern California. They have support agents and technicians ready to assist customers for any queries or concerns, along with installation guides and an expansive knowledge base for all of your VoIP questions.

 
Write your own review

Good service for price

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

It’s cheap and it works. Has more features than a person knows what to do with but that’s good to have. The price is really good and I save lots of money. It’s phone service so not sure what else to say. Good service and cheap.

Very cheap price, lots of features
Not really
Yes

Very unreliable service

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

We made the worst business decision and moved our service to VOIPO. They are very unreliable. They have too many problems that I do not believe they know how to solve. We have lost so much business without knowing because customers can not reach us. When their server goes down, which happens very often, their customer support number and their live chat goes down so, you can not reach them. We are moving our service away ASAP. I wish I can sue them for the amount of business we lost.

None what so ever
service is totally unrelaible
No

8 years a VOIPO customer, but an awful company

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

I was a VOIPO customer from 2011 to 2019. After I sent an email to discontinue future service, and they acknowledged it, they still tried to charge my credit card for future service anyway a few days later. They also are claiming that they want me to pay $49.99 for an 8 year $25 router when new or return it, but it died years ago and I switched to my own replacement (Obihai) router. They did not request the return of the router ~3 years ago when I let them know it failed, but now want me to pay double the brand new price on a discontinued, un-pro-rated and horrible router. I had lots of problems before I switched to my own.

It was a good deal 8 years ago, but I switched to Callcentric for half the price, and there are lots of better priced options now.
All of them. Awful $25 router provided.
No

Very Poor Customer Service

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)

I used VOIPo for more than 4 years. After I solved the static issue caused by FIOS with my filter, the service was acceptable. VOIPo was unable to solve it in those days. here are providers with comparable or better service and lower prices, such as AxVoice. At renewals, they refused to offer any alternatives to take-it-or-leave-it pricing. The customer insults come when you cancel service. They demand the $5 adapter back or they will charge $49.95. After receiving the adapter with all identifying information, they want to know the UPS tracking number. Makes you wonder how many hundreds are received each day.

Competitive array of functions. Reliable although my usage was very minimal.
Very poor customer service. Communications cross over departments. Negative experience when canceling service. There are more competitive choices.
No

Horrible experience. Require payment in advance and then don't provide service or return $

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

They disconnected my service even though I prepaid for 2 more months. They sent me email saying I requested to disconnect service, which is not true. I cannot even contact them since they deleted my account and the only way to contact them is by logging on your account on their website. Ridiculous. If you want to have horrible experience - try VOIPO.

None really
Require payment for 2 years in advance and then disconnect your account and don't respond.
No

Truck load of features at a low price ... 1 1/2 years with VoIPo

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)

I was with Vonage Residential (another VOIP provider) for several years and loved the sound quality and features that came with the service, but the price increased every year. Vonage was becoming as expensive as an AT&T landline. I saw an advertisement for VoIPo promising all these features for a low price - I was very skeptical. I decided to give them a try. I started the transition to VoIPo by sending a signed request to my old service provider (Vonage) for the release of my phone number a month in advance. I had no idea these phone companies required so much time to release a telephone number these days. Once the number was verified and released VoIPo quickly setup the number on their servers. Configuring the VOIP adapter on my end was relatively painless. Once everything was setup I noticed the voice quality with VoIPo was not bad, but not as good as the outstanding voice quality of Vonage. Considering the money I am saving that is a compromise I will make any day. About a month after the transition the voicemail out for over a week. I was not a happy camper. It took a lot of communication with the help desk over several days before issue was finally resolved. One of the more knowledgeable technicians went through all my settings and got things running smoothly. The voice quality seems a little better too. I have been with VoIPo for about a year and half while using Comcast as my ISP. I have not had any issues since the voicemail failure over a year ago. I am pleased with the current level of service and totally delighted with the price. Yes, I have recommended VoIPo to my friends and relatives. I have taken advantage of their 2 year extension sale.

- Good price. - Large feature set
- Bargain basement IP adapters - It takes a few minutes for deleted voicemail to go away
Yes

Great Service = Great Price

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)

I have now been with them for two years and while they had their issues at the beginning, you simply cannot beat the price for the number of features you get. Ooma and Vonage are no comparison. The support gave me an attitude about using my own VOIP phone that they "do not support" but still gave me the necessary settings to allow my unit to be used with their system. You have to know what and how to use the control panel if you want a successful phone system. Plugging it in and walking away isn't the way to approach this service at all. I thought I would be smart and switch to the Ooma business and I quickly found out that the VOIPO had so many more features available and that if you wanted anything done at Ooma you had to use their equipment that you needed to purchase from them. I immediately switched back and VOIPO gave me no attitude about my F-up. Lesson Learned ---- Good Service!!

Easy set-up with direct contact to customer service. Easy to manage control panel
Once and a while the service is unavailable but that has been only twice in two years -- same as ANY big VOIP company would have in a comparison
Yes

Very unreliable company

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

System was down again.(
I took their Customer service rep (his name is Ray) 20 minutes on the phone
to admit there is a major outage.
Ray had no idea how long it will take to fix.
When asked to talk to a supervisor he told me nobody is available
I'm going to look for a different company.

Every time they need to adjust their server and they don't test - they ask
me to have friends that use different provider to test

Price
unstable
No

No customer service - VoIPO

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

If all you want are headaches, then this company will deliver that. VOIPO
does not care about customer service. The customer service agents are rude
and will lie to you, just to get you off the phone. They will always state
that the problem is yours and then fix the problem later on, doing the work
on their end. I have read that Timothy Dick (the owner), cares about the
customers, but this is not reflected at all in the attitude of the customer
service department. Not so surprisingly, the price that they advertise is not
the price that you will pay. The absolute minimum with a 2 year contract,
paying the whole amount in advance, is $7.71/ month. They also do not have
the same high rating among they reviews as the other companies which actually
charge less per month. It also appears that being honest with customers is
not very important. If you do get their service and need to transfer to
another company, be aware of the problems and difficulty your will have.
VOIPO has kept customer phone numbers and forced the customer to pay for
another month before they were willing to transfer the number. The claim it
is part of their fine print.

Service works 80 percent of the time.
Service does not work 20 percent of the time.
No

VOIPO - Switched March 2016 No Problems

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

VOIPO.I have used this service for over six months and find it a great value.
My cost of $7 to $9 a month is well worth it. I added two years for $185,
compared to the $60 - $70 a month I was paying Verizon. The caller ID seems
very primitive, it is only accurate about 25% of the time. The site has many
option, I have easily blocked phony Microsoft,Credit Card,etc calls. They
need to add a manual that describes and shows how to uses the various
options.The sound quality can sometimes be spotty although I am not sure if
it is the IP service or my 15 year old Panasonic cordless system. With all
the cell phones in the family the landline wasn't needed, but we have had the
number for 35 years and many old friends and family still contact us on it.

Price Features
Explanation of features
Yes

Pages

VoIPo

Newport Beach , CA
United States
2004Year Founded
64%Recommend
57User Reviews

Overall Rating

3.8
4.54
74%
72%
82%
70%
90%

Service Locations

  • United States
  • Canada
VoIP app

The Skinny

First off, VoIPo doesn't want to confuse customers (or potential customers) with complex or meaningless differences between residential and business VoIP services: in the end, VoIPo's offerings are almost exactly the same:

  • Small business and home phone lines both cost $15 for a month-to-month contract or $6.21 a month for a two year-long contract
  • Small business and home phone service both deliver unlimited calls to the US and Canada
  • Small business and home phone service both have 60 included minutes of international calling per month
  • Small business and home phone service both have the same feature set

VoIPo also delivers quality customer service across all of its plans. They provide outlets like a support team, Knowledgebase, and installation guidelines for your VoIP service needs. 

the rub

The Rub

As far as a residential VoIP phone system goes, VoIPo makes it easy. Their VoIP service allows you to either choose a new number or port your existing number (for free!). With your residential service, VoIPo also provides over 40 productivity features and tools like caller ID, call waiting, three way calling, do not disturb, and more. Your residential service plan also comes with unlimited calling to the U.S. and Canada, and 60 minutes of free international calling to over 40 countries a month. Check with VoIPo's international rates chart for additional international calling rates.

If you sign up for a VoIPo residential service now, you can secure yourself a VoIP phone system for the low price of only $6.21/month (prepay sale of 2 years for $149). 

bottom line image

Bottom Line

With VoIPo, ordering service and setting up your new VoIP telephone system is easy. Select a new number or port an existing number, plug in the free VoIPo phone adapter to your phones and broadband internet connection, and that's it. VoIPo also has easy-to-understand and easy-to-read terms of service. And VoIPo also has the backing of HostGator, a leading web hosting company with a very good reputation for customer service and service consistency.

The prices are low, the features are great, the terms are easy, and the service looks good. Give VoIPo a go.

comment image

Our Two Cents

VoIPo's residential phone service comes with the same features as their business VoIP phone system, meaning that you get 40+ features to help you make the most out of your calling experience. These include Caller ID, Call Waiting, Three Way Calling, and other features that make your phone more functional than ever. Their residential VoIP service also offers subscribers unlimited calling to the U.S. and Canada, PLUS 60 minutes of free international calling a month. This is huge for any residential phone user that infrequently calls other international countries (select countries apply). They also have low international rates, too, if you need additional international calling.

VoIPo also offers customers the option to get a cheaper monthly rate if they sign up for a two year contract. And if for some reason you aren't satisfied with their service, you can cancel within 30 days and return the VoIPo adapter for VoIPo to refund 100% of your service fees.

Plan Info
Plan Name VoIPo Residential/Small Business VoIP Plan
Plan Summary For crystal-clear calling at a low price, VoIPo's home service plan makes switching to VoIP easy. This plan comes with unlimited calling to U.S. and Canada, 60 free minutes of international calling per month, a 30 day money back guarantee, and more. Pay in advance to get a cheaper monthly rate, or just pay month to month.
Key Features
  • Easy Setup
  • Free Rollover Line
  • 40+ Features
  • Money Back Guarantee
Notes Toll free numbers are $4.95/mo. and are charged at $0.025/min. for overage incoming minutes, and $0.01/min for outbound domestic calls. Additional U.S. number available at $4.95/mo. and are charged at $0.01/min. for overage incoming minutes and $0.01 for outbound domestic calls. Faxing is $4.95 /mo.or $36.00/annually This Plan is available in the following countries :
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • Plan Pricing & Services1
    Regular Price $15.00
    Promo Price $6.21
    Price Disclaimer $15.00/mo. or $6.21/mo. with 2 year contract
    Setup Fees Free
    Activation Fees Free
    Number Porting Fee Free
    BYOD Yes
    Termination Fee Free
    Unlimited Minutes Yes
    Toll Free3 Yes
    Plan Pricing Tiers2
    Month to Month
    (per user)
    • No contract : $15.00 / mo.
    Annual Contract Prepay
    (per user)
    • 2-year contract : $6.21 / mo.
    	
    Toll Free
    Setup $0.00
    Monthly $4.95 /mo.
    Included Min. 100
    Add'l Min. Cost $0.01 /min.
    Faxing
    Setup N/A
    Monthly $4.95 /mo.
    Included Pages N/A
    Add'l Pages Cost N/A
    Number Availability & Details
    Area Code Selection
    Local Number Port
    Number Port
    Toll-Free Number
    Virtual Numbers
    Equipment Options
    SIP/BYOD
    Phone Credit
    IP Phone Included
    IP Phone For Sale
    ATA Included
    ATA For Sale
    Plan Minutes
    Local Min. Included
    Add'l Local Min. Cost N/A
    Long Distance Unlimited
    Incl. Long Distance Min. N/A
    Add'l Long Distance Min. Cost N/A
    Plan Features3
    Admin Dashboard/Portal Yes
    Anonymous Call Rejection Yes
    Auto Attendant No
    Barge No
    Business SMS No
    Busy Lamp Field No
    Call Analytics No
    Call Announce No
    Call Continuity Yes
    Call Forwarding Yes
    Call Forwarding - Advanced Yes
    Call Hold No
    Call Logs/Reports Yes
    Call Me Now No
    Call Monitoring No
    Call Notifications Yes
    Call Park No
    Call Pass No
    Call Queuing No
    Call Recording No
    Call Return Yes
    Call Routing Yes
    Call Screening No
    Call Transfer No
    Call Waiting Yes
    Caller ID Yes
    Caller ID - Dynamic No
    Caller ID Block Yes
    Caller ID Control Yes
    Click-to-call Me No
    Click-to-dial No
    Conference Bridge No
    Conference Calling Yes
    Custom Greetings Yes
    Custom Tagging No
    Desktop Integration Client No
    Dial-by-Name Directory No
    Directory Assistance (411) Yes
    Do Not Disturb Yes
    E911 Yes
    Fax to Email No
    Find Me/Follow Me No
    Group Paging No
    HD Video Conferencing No
    HD Voice No
    Hunt Groups No
    Interactive Voice Response No
    Local Number Portability Yes
    Mobile App No
    Mobile/Desktop Sync No
    Music on Hold No
    Redial No
    Ring Groups No
    Selective Call Acceptance Yes
    Selective Call Rejection Yes
    Shared Call Appearance No
    Simultaneous Ring Yes
    Softphone Yes
    Speed Dial Yes
    Switchboard Software No
    Telephone Numbers (DIDs) Yes
    Third Party Softphones No
    Unified Inbox Yes
    User Portal Yes
    Video Conferencing No
    Virtual Extensions Yes
    Virtual Fax No
    Visual Voicemail Yes
    Voicemail Yes
    Voicemail to Email Yes
    Voicemail Transcription Yes
    Whisper No
    1Plan pricing displayed here has been sourced directly from the provider's website or via the provider's sales team. Pricing is subject to change without notice. Check provider's website for most current pricing.Plan pricing may differ based on the country for which you are requesting service.
    2To determine the number of users for your VoIP phone system, count the number of devices you need, including desk phones, softphones, conference phones, and fax machines.
    3The following plan features (offered by the provider) are either included in the plan, available for an additional fee, or unavailable. Check with provider for most current feature listing and any prices that may be incurred.

    Recent Reviews

    BryteCall Logo
    5
    BryteCall

    My Firm, the Spead Tax Group, PLLC, starting using BryteCall as our VOIP Provider during January of 2024, Jon Sharvit is their Accounts Executive...

    February 1st, 2024 - speadtax
    ViaTalk Logo
    5
    ViaTalk

    I honestly can't understand all these bad reviews. I've had Viatalk for close to a year and I am very satisfied with the quality of the service. No...

    January 27th, 2024 - skywarner

    Most Recent Blog Posts

    Call Screening: Everything You Need to Know
    Call Screening: Everything You Need to Know

    Call screening has been a boon in the world of telecommunication, significantly impacting how businesses and individuals manage their incoming calls. But what exactly is call screening, and why is it...

    Sep 22, 2023
    What is a Service Level Agreement (SLA)?

    A Service Level Agreement (SLA) stands as a testament to a provider's commitment to maintain a certain standard of service for its customers. But what exactly does it entail? And why are SLAs so...

    Aug 25, 2023