Home > All Providers Reviews > Voiceral Communications

Voiceral Communications Reviews

Voiceral Communications no longer has a working website; because of this, we assume it's out of business. Please continue to post reviews about your experiences, though — knowing about old providers will help current customers make better choices.

Users Average Rating

Providers Comparison

Note: The graphs above only measure the user ratings displayed over the last five years.
Write your own review

VOICERAL STOLE MY MONEY!

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

***IF ANYONE HAS ANY EXPERIENCE WITH THIS MAN AND COMPANY AND HAS ANY IDEAS THAT WOULD HELP ME GET MY MONEY BACK, OR AT LEAST A LIVE PERSON ON A PHONE, PLEASE CONTACT ME!!! I REALLY APPRECIATE THE HELP!! *****
MY EMAIL IS: [email protected]
HERE IS THE STORY:
I was a faithful Voiceral user for years! I referred all my friends and family to this company. I told them that this company was small and personal and had great customer service! Yeah, the phone service and quality was shotty and I had to reboot at least once a day, and half the the person on the other end of the phone couldn't hear me, or said i sounded like I was under water. But I still defended the company. I told everyone, "oh, it's just digital phone, it has its quirks, but you cannot beat the price! And the customer service is great!"
So after years of defending this company, I found MAGIC JACK! What a light in the darkness. Sure I had to change my phone number, but $20 cost a year for unlimited calling? You can't beat that. To my amazement the phone quality for Magic Jack is amazing compared to Voiceral.....so we decided to make the full switch.
I called to cancel my Voiceral account.....no answer. Left a message, no return call. Left another message....still no response. After many messages left, and no return calls, I thought I would never be able to cancel my phone account with them. FINALLY, I got a call, from the very rude owner, telling me that my phone had already been disconnected way back when got my message! WELL YOU NEVER TOLD ME THAT! Then he tells me that he tried to issue me my refund (as I was on the yearly payment plan and he owes me 1/2 a years money back!!!) but there where problems with my credit card account. So he told me he wasn't aloud to re-issue it or something, so i needed to write him a letter saying that i will not try to claim back charges on my card, and then he will mail me a check for the back balance. BOY AM I STUPID! I was a nice trusting person and emailed him what he wanted because I figured that there are decent people in the world. Now, it has been over 2 months, and I still have no check for the money he promised me. I have EMAILS TO PROVE IT THAT HE SAID HE WOULD SEND ME THE MONEY! YET HE STILL HASN"T GIVEN ME A DIME!!!!! THe last 2 months of my life have been spend calling him every day leaving messages and emails demanding my money back, with no response!!!!! THIS MAN IS A CROOK! DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!!!!
***IF ANYONE HAS ANY EXPERIENCE WITH THIS MAN AND COMPANY AND HAS ANY IDEAS THAT WOULD HELP ME GET MY MONEY BACK, OR AT LEAST A LIVE PERSON ON A PHONE, PLEASE CONTACT ME!!! I REALLY APPRECIATE THE HELP!! *****
MY EMAIL IS: [email protected]

I found magic jack!
Everything! Such a horrible deceitful company! Just give me my money back!
No

Thief of Thieves

user_review
0
No votes yet
0
No votes yet
0
No votes yet
0
No votes yet
0
No votes yet
0
No votes yet

Dave Convoy, who writes excellent reviews about his own (Voiceral) service, on this site is a liar and a thief. He has stolen my phone number, which I have had for 16 years. My guess is that he just doesn't want to refund any money..paid for a year in advance. He doesn't like to have to send replacement modems when one of his go bad because it will cost him money. He blames every problem with his service on someone else..me (client), other providers (Time Warner), crossed cables (ethernet cable must be plugged in wrong) etc. I have tried to get my phone number ported since the end of November and finally had to get a new number the end of January in order to have working phones from a new provider.
Have filed with the FCC and hope to get results but that will take time.
DO NOT  even think of using this voIP service. You will regret it.

The only pro is finding out that other phone providers are SOOOOO MUCH BETTER.
Everything!
No

Voiceral voip

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
0
No votes yet
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
0
No votes yet
0.6
Average: 0.6 (1 vote)

I have been with Voiceral since 2006. It started out very cheap and then the price kept rising without any notice. The service was fair with dropped calls and having to reboot all the time to get the phone to work. I stupidly thought all voips were like that. Voiceral offered a "deal" to keep the price down by signing up for a year in advance. I did this in August of 2008. The service was still so so. However, in November I noticed that it had gotten worse. I couldn't always get through to someone. I would call and nobody could hear me. I could hear the person I called but they could not hear me. If someone called me sometimes they would get through and sometimes they just couldn't hear me even though I could hear them. By Thanksgiving almost nothing got through. When I contacted the so called Voiceral tech support, I realized that I had to email them (Dave Convoy- owner of and only person at the company) because my phone call wouldn't go through.. He finally responded when I threatened to do a charge back and get my money back.
He then insisted that there was really nothing wrong that a reboot wouldn't take care of. I rebooted. That did not fix anything. He then rebooted remotely and called me at work (where I called him from) to tell me it was working fine...because he was talking to me on the phone (my work phone, duh!).
Then he told me that the ethernet cables must be plugged in incorrectly and when I insisted that they were not he had me unplug some of the power cables and wait 10 seconds "exactly" and replug. That did not fix anything. By now we were well into December and I still had no phone so I bought a Magic Jack to have some kind of phone service. He, of course, then blamed Magic Jack which I started using AFTER my phone service failed.
And finally he blamed Time Warner, who I had scheduled new service with. I had an appointment with Time Warner for Dec. 18, 2008 for my phone number of 16 years to be ported from Voiceral. In order to port a number, the new provider must go to the current provide and get all the info, name, address with zipcode and the number must be active. The port was rejected because the zipcode didn,t match.
The second appointment was scheduled for Jan. 12, 2009. That was rejected because the name on the account did not match mine. BUT now the zipcode was correct. I now had to make a new appointment for Jan. 22, 2009. A week before the new port/ install date I received an email from Time Warner that it was rejected AGAIN. This time because none of the info matched.
At that time, being desperate for a well working phone, I chose to get a new phone number. I was still working to get my old phone number back. Dave Convoy lies and lies. He told me that he never was contacted by Time Warner, thinking that I was really stupid and did not know that it is really Sprint who does their phone service. When I told him it was actually Sprint, he hemmed and hawed and said that he has other clients that went through similar problems and that it often took 2-3 months to port their number. It all being Time Warner's fault.
Through all this he (Convoy) told me that Time Warner/Sprint had to go through one of his servers, Paetec. Or go to NANPA and just take the number, which is illegal. And so on....All Dave Convoy does is collect the money and pay fees for servers such as Paetec and other colocaters to do all the hi tech work.
I continued to access my account to check for email, which was all I had. This past week I discovered that I couldn't get into my account any longer and if i called my old number I got "this number can't be reached as dialed" When I contacted [email protected] Convoy responde that I cancelled my account mid Dec. and he canceled it on the 20th of Dec. This is just another lie. I actually had printed out the call logs and the e mails between Convoy and myself. Calls were still coming in well into January.
I had filed a complaint with the FCC the second week of Jan. and I think that he may have heard from them and is trying to cover his ass by saying that I canceled and by back dating the cancel date.
Oh and...The reason my phone service did not work was because his modem was broken, which I kept insisting. He was loath to admit that because he would then be required to send me a new one, which would have cost him money. He ultimately sent one out to me but I refused it. I couldn't deal with this insanity any longer.
So....buyer beware. And if you read any of the sterling praises about Voiceral, know that Dave convoy is writing them.
 

Absolutely NONE!
Absolutely EVERYTHING!
No

Beware of Disgruntled Posters

user_review
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

I used to do customer support for Voiceral and I have to say, I would never do customer support again for anyone in any industry.  The customers you have to deal with are the stupidest, most moronic, pushiest, low-lifes you would ever care to meet.  I've looked at the posts for Vonage, Viatalk, Packet8, etc.,... they're all the same.  It's only the losers that post to these sites.  Don't get me wrong, during my 2 year stint at Voiceral, I looked at tons of these alleged ranking sites and voipreview.org is, for all intents and purposes, the only legitimate site out there.  The rest are just feeder sites that promote one company.  I know for a fact that 95% of the Voiceral customers love the support and the service.  In fact, most never called at all, ever.  It's only 5% of the customers that suck-up 100% of the support time.  And it's those people who come to sites like this to bad mouth their provider.  I look at viatalk's ranking and they are just getting the crap beat out of them by customers.  Hmm, do you think Viatalk, Vonage or Voiceral would still be around if they were that bad?  Of course not.  I just had to post this because I worked for that company and I know the owners and they are the nicest, most polite, courteous, customer oriented people you would ever want to meet.  And when I read these reviews about how rude and hostile they are... well, all I can say is... you must have been a total idiot and you must have invited that treatment.  I know the posters of most of these comments and the previous comment was posted by a person that I, as well as everyone else, dealt with.  If she didn't call a hundred times, she didn't call once - and here it is more than one year after she left Voiceral and she's STILL out here grinding her axe.  hehehehehehe  I mean, come on - get a life.  Sorry, I had to stop typing because I got laughing so hard.  I'd be willing to bet that Vonage, Viatalk, Packet8, Lingo and all the others have really good customer support.   These people are just total losers.  I read, much further down, a post by a woman who said she paid for an adapter 3 times and was never reimbursed.  That is total crap.  I know of that deal because I dealt with it and the owners gave her full credit to her credit card account.  She even sent an email apologizing for her actions but... did she ever post it publicly that she was wrong?  No.  Of course not.  Only bad news gets posted on sites like this.  I never did customer support before so I never paid attention to it, but after being subjected to a daily barrage of how bad we all are, I started paying attention to how people act.  I went to have my oil changed and this lady walks in and DEMANDS from the manager that they change her oil NOW!  I watch to see how the manager handles the situation and he politely tells her that there are customers in front of her and her car will be done when its time.  She demands again, that she be taken care of immediately.  I just sat there and laughed because I realized that these idiots don't just bash their VoiP company, they are idiots with everyone they deal with.  As an aside for any other providers who may read this... if you get a new signup who claims to be a computer wizard, phone expert or electrical engineer... don't let them sign up.  They are nothing but trouble.  They think they are smarter than everyone and they are the biggest pains in the a$$ because they think they know it all.  I know you all know what I'm talking about.  hahahahaha  Yea, we all know.  There are two things to take away from this.  1. do not EVER do customer support for ANYONE because you will only be subjected to the ultimate lowest level of human stupidity and ,   2.  don't believe the posts you read on sites like this because they are posted by total losers who have no lives and the other 95% of the customers are totally happy.

None.
Yes

Voiceral - worst ever!

user_review
0
No votes yet
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
0
No votes yet
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
0
No votes yet
0.4
Average: 0.4 (1 vote)

I was with Voiceral for a year and left over a year ago and I still shudder to think of my experience with that company, which was much the same as Castigate's - rude, blaming "customer service;" constant problems from the start; etc.- but worse.
At one point i was without phone service for two weeks, call waiting worked irregularly, there was frequent beeping, my phone often disconnected mid-call and sometimes the sound was dead at my end of the line so the person at the other end would just hang up as if it was a crank call. For awhile when I made a phone call there was a single ring at the other end and then nothing; at my end I heard a busy signal. They exchanged adapters 4 or 5 times with no improvement and each time I was informed that there was nothing wrong with the adapter. I got busy signals when I called people who i knew to have call waiting or i knew that their phone was not in use. DTMF failed (that is what they told me) which meant that I could not respond to a prompt (if you want x, press 1, etc.), mainly Voiceral’s, and I could not retrieve my voice mail through the phone. Because i could not respond to prompts  I could not reach Voiceral "technical assistance." I emailed numerous times to ask them to call me. They responded only once but I missed the call so there was no way to connect with them to get me back in service.
It was utterly unpleasant it was to deal with Dave Conboy, the owner, his partner (who left), and "tech support" (who left). I was talked down to, treated like i was an idiot, blamed for their poor service, all in a tone of utter rudeness. My attempts to speak human to human, i.e. "I am not an idiot, please do not speak to me in that tone of voice," were to no avail.
Apparantly I was using more minutes than the "unlimited" amount permitted so, one day, without warning, I received notice that I was being upgraded to a business plan for $48/month. The original plan I had was $17 but almost from the start I was charged $19. i was informed that the upgrade was retroactive for three months and there was a credit card charge of $89.61 on my next bill. I emailed back contesting this since I did not have a home business and I did not agree to a business plan. On a Friday at 4:45 PM (Voiceral closes at 5:00 PM) I received notice that my service would be discontinued on Monday at 9:00 AM unless I signed a form agreeing not to challenge the business plan cost.
I signed up with another service, ViaTalk, and, once my number was ported over, challenged the credit card payment and won. I had put up with Voiceral for over a year thinking that VoIP simply comes with technical problems. I was wrong! Have i had perfect service from Via Talk? No! But customer service is always courteous and tech support mostly knows what to do. I'd like to find a company in which i never even need to contact tech support but that may not be possible. In any case, avoid Voiceral like the plague.

 

 

 

None!
Everything! Read below.
No

This VOIP is a joke

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1.4
Average: 1.4 (1 vote)

This so called VOIP is really A joke. They have two people running the whole business and they have no idea what there doing. There technical knowledge doesn't go over reseting the cable modem, router and voice adapter. That's there resolution for every problem, other than sending out a new adapter when that solution fails. The head of the company David Conboy, can be a real nasty jerk. They like to blame there customers when reseting the adapter doesn't work. They also like to hike there service every few months. They started out pretty cheap, than they kept hiking there price. For what there charging now you can go to a real VOIP. When you have them enable fax capabilities on your line it puts a 3-5 second delay when placing calls. So when you try to call someone, you can hear them right away but they can't hear you for a few seconds. Very annoying. There solution is to call them everytime you want faxing capabilities enabled then call them back to disable. Ridiculous! Call quality is poor. When your on the phone you can here clicking(like someone is picking up the phone and hanging up) and sometimes echoing. They said it was my cable modem line but mysteriously it's working fine now that I switched VOIP service. Another problem that I had was with my voice mail indicator on my cordless phone. It was not working and they said my cordless phone was defective. Another mysterious fix when I switched VOIP companies is that it works fine now. Bunch of jokers. There is an hour and a half limit on phone conversations. Basically the call ends after an hour and a half. They claim it's in case you do not hang up the phone after a conversation, it will hang up automatically. Pretty stupid huh? I read on a message board that this is to discourage to much usage of there phone service. They actually charged one family the business rate without asking them. The family man complained that his phone would disconnect after an hour and a half. They fixed him alright lol. It doesn't disconnect on the business plan. They told him he was using the phone to much so they upgraded him automatically to the business plan. Don't let these guys fool you. There very nice in the beginning but if you have any trouble you'll find out how fast they turn on you. They lack communication skills, patience and VOIP technical skills. If you still decide to try them out, do not say you weren't warned. Do yourself a favor and look around for another VOIP. You can find others for cheaper that know what there doing and how to treat customers. Take care and good luck!

The only PRO is that I switched to another VOIP lol.
do not know how to treat customers, horrible technical skills, no patience, poor call quality, service is jimmy rigged!
No

This VOIP is a joke

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1.4
Average: 1.4 (1 vote)

This so called VOIP is really A joke. They have two people running the whole business and they have no idea what there doing. There technical knowledge doesn't go over reseting the cable modem, router and voice adapter. That's there resolution for every problem, other than sending out a new adapter when that solution fails. The head of the company David Conboy, can be a real nasty jerk. They like to blame there customers when reseting the adapter doesn't work. They also like to hike there service every few months. They started out pretty cheap, than they kept hiking there price. For what there charging now you can go to a real VOIP. When you have them enable fax capabilities on your line it puts a 3-5 second delay when placing calls. So when you try to call someone, you can hear them right away but they can't hear you for a few seconds. Very annoying. There solution is to call them everytime you want faxing capabilities enabled then call them back to disable. Ridiculous! Call quality is poor. When your on the phone you can here clicking(like someone is picking up the phone and hanging up) and sometimes echoing. They said it was my cable modem line but mysteriously it's working fine now that I switched VOIP service. Another problem that I had was with my voice mail indicator on my cordless phone. It was not working and they said my cordless phone was defective. Another mysterious fix when I switched VOIP companies is that it works fine now. Bunch of jokers. There is an hour and a half limit on phone conversations. Basically the call ends after an hour and a half. They claim it's in case you do not hang up the phone after a conversation, it will hang up automatically. Pretty stupid huh? I read on a message board that this is to discourage to much usage of there phone service. They actually charged one family the business rate without asking them. The family man complained that his phone would disconnect after an hour and a half. They fixed him alright lol. It doesn't disconnect on the business plan. They told him he was using the phone to much so they upgraded him automatically to the business plan. Don't let these guys fool you. There very nice in the beginning but if you have any trouble you'll find out how fast they turn on you. They lack communication skills, patience and VOIP technical skills. If you still decide to try them out, do not say you weren't warned. Do yourself a favor and look around for another VOIP. You can find others for cheaper that know what there doing and how to treat customers. Take care and good luck!

The only PRO is that I switched to another VOIP lol.
do not know how to treat customers, horrible technical skills, no patience, poor call quality, service is jimmy rigged!
No

Going Down

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2.2
Average: 2.2 (1 vote)

Second price increase in less than a year, with only 7 days notice before increase takes effect.
Their either going down, or trying to get close to, but just under Road Runner pricing. David Conboy, the owner, is rude to his customers and when you question why you get such short notice on the rate increase, tells you to go elsewhere. So I did, see you Dave, you'll be the next Sunrocket.

There are none for this company
No

sorry voiceral

user_review
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3.8
Average: 3.8 (1 vote)

well let me say that i got my refund like thay advertise as for quality as clear as packet8 and vonage but my friends hear a beep every few minutes "something to work on voiceral!" with out those beeps almost crystal clear.. now lets talk about tech support--- i build pcs and have also had voip for over 4 years from vonage to packet8 ect and when i had a anoying problem with the service cutting out prob due to the ata i call tech support and try to tell whoever that this seems to be shorting out every 5 to 10 mins and i lose service he decided to interupt me telling him this and tonld me i was wrong and that its my modem or router.. i tried to tell him again that i have monitored this but still it was like i was talking to the wall so i just gave up in the end they said i couldnt cancel my service until the ata was sent back.. i already paid $60 why not cancel my account the ata was a $30 unit and still i knew i wouldnt get a refund until the ata was sent out anyway after a rude email from some customer support they got the ata and refunded me $50 out of $60 wich was cool.. i suspect i prob would not have gotten this if i didnt go to the extreme but still they kept their word so give them a try-- i bet those rude tech/customer support people will get fired.. i prob would have stayed and gave voiceral a chance and i bet it would have worked with a new ata oh yeah when i send the ata back they said it was broke! geeze i tried to tell tech support this but he no listen lol

Yes

RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2.6
Average: 2.6 (1 vote)

Today I spoke with Dave at Voiceral. This person seems to care less whether he has any customers at all, judging from his poor attitude, not to mention the sheer volume of his voice. The man was actually shouting at me, talking over me, etc. It was not a confidence-building experience.
As it turns out, my husband misunderstood the equipment return policy. You do not get a credit for returning the equipment. The equipment is returned only to avoid additional fees being charged. Even so, our account WAS CHARGED IN ERROR for $39, for equipment that was returned more than 3 weeks prior to the date that the charge was levied.
"Dave" (I assume this is David Conboy, registered agent of Voiceral in Albany NY) did not care to clearly explain this to me; instead, it seemed as if he used the opportunity of my phone call to let off steam and pretty much dump his bad day all over me. HE DID NOT APOLOGIZE FOR CHARGING OUR ACCOUNT IN ERROR. He acted like it was painful for him to even admit that he had made an error. His attitude was "yeah, so what, you were charged and now you've been credited, so whaddaya want [you dumb cow*]?" His contemptuous attitude and snarling angry tone of voice was uneccessary and unacceptable.
I get the impression that Voiceral is a pretty much a one-man company. Perhaps "Dave" is overworked; if so I can lighten his load by at least one customer by taking my business elsewhere. Not that I believe it matters, but I generally prefer not to give my hard earned money to anyone who is so disrespectful of his own clientele.
Needless to say, we will be shopping around for another VoIp service provider. I deeply regret using Voiceral.
[*this was implied not said. I actually believe he was thinking much worse than "dumb cow"]

No

Pages

Voiceral Communications

2005Year Founded
55%Recommend
40User Reviews
Get Quote

Overall Rating

3.385
3.65
68%
67%
71%
59%
73%

Service Locations

Recent Reviews

Comcast logo
1
Comcast

had a horrible time dealing with customer service, we were billed after cancelling an old subscription at our previous address. We spent several...

November 9th, 2017 - ehogan
Phone Power logo
1
Phone Power

Watch out, they auto renew with no notice and will not return any funds should you want to cancel. You cannot not tell them to cancel auto renew...

November 8th, 2017 - mhlindgren

Most Recent Blog Posts

remote workers video call on laptop
How Fuze Web Powers Browsers for Seamless Enterprise Co...

With an ever-expanding array of available solutions and platforms for connecting teams, customers, clients, and key stakeholders, there has never been a more exciting time for business communications...

Nov 16, 2017
software integration icon on laptop, smartphone, and tablet
Six Software Integration that Can Optimize Your Busines...

Are you the type of person who wants to get more out of your business phone system? Then you’re in luck because you can easily gain an advantage with the efficiency and productivity benefits from...

Nov 15, 2017