close
The price comparison tools on this website require you to disable Adblock for full functionality. Please consider disabling your ad blocker on our website in order to best take advantage of our tools.

aptela vs SureVoIP

Compare aptela vs SureVoIP. Find out whether aptela or SureVoIP is better for your VoIP business or home needs. The experts at VoipReview have analyzed the strengths and weaknesses of aptela and SureVoIP and detailed analysis of the comparison can be found below.

User Ratings & Reviews

  • 43 Reviews
  • 1 Reviews
4.6
1

Overview:

Aptela is the leader in today's burgeoning VoIP industry. They provide small businesses and medium-sized businesses with cost-effective and high-quality VoIP solutions.

Aptela offers two distinct business VoIP plans: Business VoIP and...

SureVoIP is a UK-based VoIP service provider that offers VoIP inbound, VoIP outbound, and hosted VoIP solutions to customers. The company utilizes open source software spread across two sites to power its VoIP systems. By doing so, SureVoIP is...

Provider Info

  • Website:
  • Headquater Country:
  • Founder Year: 2005

Plans Available*

  • N/A
  • N/A

Users Average Rating

Recent User Reviews

I have been using Aptela for years. I signed the previous company i was working for, to Aptela and I started up my company years ago and sticked with them. They are good at some points. But there are parts can make you frustrated. Usually no problem with connection but some connections is not clear. It happens daily basis. I use Polycom HD voice model phone which has superb sound quality. Another corcern is billing issue. Recently our credit card has been comprimed and we had to cancel the card. They tried to take money on 2nd and today is 23rd they have disconnected the service. No phone calls just email asking for us to fax credit authorization form. not even web based area that you can update your billing information nor add up back up payment option nor you can with credit card information. I wouldn't rely my business service with amature billing setup. 

ayhanyildiz November 23rd, 2011

Our two-attorney law firm was relocating after a quarter-century in one place.  We were not sure we wanted to bring our original PBX box with us for the long term, so we began to assess all our phone choices.  For no particular reason, I started out with extreme reluctance to consider VoIP, probably due to years of passing chatter about such issues as dropped calls, etc. and overall skepticism about relying on the Internet for important client calls.  Upon learning we could not keep our existing main phone number if we stayed with our landline (due to the location of the new office), we began to weight the possibility of VoIP, if only to be able to port our old number.  Well-informed friends also told me to give VoIP a fair chance because technology and faster Internet speeds might have made my apprehension outdated.  My further study made me realize that VoIP might not merely be an acceptable alternative; it might bring some advantages.  Not one to make long-term technology decisions (or spending decisions) lightly, I did my homework.  Reading as many reviews as I could find about all the various VoIP/virtual PBX providers, I found a confusing mix of raves and rants for virtually every company.  (I soon confirmed that moving on trying to find the company with no negative reviews was futile, and that, probably, they did not reflect a consensus; I also noted that many complaints had to do with high-call-volume users, and our small law firm has light to moderate phone traffic.) To make a long story a little shorter, after a lot of comparing, we tentatively settled on Aptela, and confirmed our choice after sales consultant Omid patiently answered our endless questions and addressed all our concerns (including frank discussion about the handful of negative comments that seem to appear on every provider's review page).  We have been very happy with the training, transition, and our trouble-free first ten weeks using Aptela.  No dropped calls or call quality concerns at all.  When we speak to each other in-house over the phone, but can simultaneously hear the colleague's voice faintly from down the hall, we recognize that the "live" and phone voices can be slightly out of sync at times. However, my concern about whether that might hinder phone conversations has not proven to be an issue at all.  We have noticed no appreciable lag in our phone calls.   To have the best chance of our switch to Aptela working out well, we verified adequate bandwidth by opting for cable internet over DSL. (Fiber optic was not available at the new location.) We bought preconfigured Polycom phones from Aptela, which seems to have been a great choice.  Combining newly installed network wiring, a new router/hub/firewall and all-new phones with new VoIP, we were braced for the worst even while hoping for the best.  To our pleasant surprise, everything worked well from the start.   We are very pleased with the call quality (particularly since we paid a bit more for the HD handset option)-- much better than our land lines.  Relearning how to transfer calls within the office took a little focus (can't just put a caller on hold and tell someone else to pick up).  We miss being able to see who else is on the phone by glancing at the phone itself, but get that functionality on the Aptela dashboard.  We love being able to send calls to any phone, and to use follow-me settings to receive calls anywhere-- but we have not actually used those appealing features much so far.  During pre-move initial training, Aptela helped me record our first voice prompts (we did not opt for professional recording)-- remotely, over my cell phone.  I was certain the recording would be poor quality and would have to be redone later, but was amazed at the clarity of that recording.  (We kept it.) Aptela's assistance with training, porting our old number, and fielding our questions was impeccable.  We have not had to open any trouble tickets, so I cannot comment about the tech support.  Although I am not wild about having to place a support call and then wait for a reply, I believe that will prove more useful in the long run than getting an immediate but less helpful answer from an offshore call center.  (I understand Aptela's support team is in at their main office-- which happens to be right in my backyard.) We have no regrets about either the general decision to switch to VoIP or our choice of Aptela.

Michael G May 11th, 2011

I regret to say that the experience with that company is just dreadful. I have purchased a number from them 02035155555 which costed £1000 if my memory serves me and I have been trying to port that number away from them for 10 months. They have flooded me with all sorts of technical details and admitted that they don't support Scenario 7 which is apparently the most common way of porting numbers in the UK. In one email they admit that Scenario 7 is less complicated than their preferred way of porting numbers and in another communication I have been informed that for technical and commercial reasons they don't support Scenario 7 porting. I have clearly stated that I would like to cover the costs if any and if they are reasonable, but obviously it's better for them to charge me monthly for all the incoming calls as opposed to cooperating in a process of number porting. In comparison, another number that was purchased from BT (01732463858) was ported to the new provider without any issues. They use obscure justification that they are not required to use Scenario 7 to avoid people leaving their network with their own property ... I strongly suggest avoiding that company at all cost. *********** Response from SureVoIP *********** Dear Paul, Thank you for leaving a public review of your experiences with SureVoIP here and on our Facebook page. To say I'm surprised is an understatement. Number porting is driven by the **Gaining Communications Provider (GCP)**, i.e. the company you move your number to. SureVoIP in this case are the Losing Communications Provider (LCP). We worked with your GCP, which we will not name because you have not, and explained what they needed to do. If you recall, I even sat on a conference call with them, you and your solicitor explaining what they needed to do as they were doing it all wrong and you were getting extremely frustrated. I also gave everyone the call recordings of that call. They came back to you and basically said they weren't interested? I then took the extremely rare path of approaching one of the carriers they use to set up a porting agreement with them for you. That process is not complete yet, that's why I was surprised that you post these negative reviews of SureVoIP. In all honesty, I couldn't have done more for you. With regards Scenario 7. This is not a UK standard and is a managed service from the BT Wholesale IP Exchange product for those that wish to use it. Using it is a technical and commercial decision that we have not opted for. It's not just a case of paying for a one of number port as you think. Forcing SureVoIP to use it is like telling an IT company to only sell Dell equipment. A Communications Provider is free to work with the LCP or GCP to agree a commercial and technical number porting method. For a list of those operators we have porting agreements with, please see https://www.surevoip.co.uk/support/wiki/number_porting SureVoIP are one of few that have the ITSPA Quality Mark in the UK. ITSPA review all of above and are very friendly if you approach them with concerns or wish to seek advice. I built SureVoIP by hand, from scratch with no investment and when I see reviews like this I take it to heart as I strive to please everyone, which I know is now not possible. Thank you, Gavin

PaulPreston September 21st, 2017
*Plan pricing displayed here has been sourced directly from the provider's website or via the provider's sales team. Pricing is subject to change without notice. Check provider's website for most current pricing.Plan pricing may differ based on the country for which you are requesting service.

Recent Reviews

lingo logo
1
Lingo

They add services for free without asking if you want them, then they start charging for them and won't remove them. Months of calls (including...

December 7th, 2018 - J. Jackson
ringcentral logo
1
RingCentral

I signed up with Ring Central under a year ago. In that time span, I've had four major outages with phone service and calling for technical support...

December 7th, 2018 - Yellow Music Company

Most Recent Blog Posts

voip phone and headset in contact centers
TCN Exec Shares Insights on Contact Center Trends and P...

Customers want and expect exceptional services from every brand interaction. This is why today’s contact centers are helping businesses across the world deliver excellent customer experiences to...

Dec 13, 2018
business phone system voip
This Month in Telecom: November 2018

This Month in Telecom is a monthly news round-up on VoipReview.org that aims to give our readers a fast and easy way to catch up on the latest news and top stories that are trending in the voice and...

Dec 03, 2018