Axvoice

Home Phone Service

Starting at $4.99, the Pay As You Go plan is flexible and designed to maximize savings.

Key Features:

  • Unlimited USA and Canada calling
  • Free hardware and activation
  • Money back guarantee, 30+ features

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $6.25
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $19.99
  • Other Fees: Applicable taxes, $1.50 emergency 911 fee

Special Notes

$15 number porting fee

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You
Sound Quality
3.81818
Reliability
3.636365
Customer Service
3.636365
Features
3.636365
Price
3.636365
Overall
3.790909

22 Reviews | Write a review

70% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2005

Axvoice, an Internet phone service provider founded in 2005, offers low-rate, flexible domestic and international calling plans for both residential and business customers. There are no contracts necessary to sign up with Axvoice service, and your money is protected with a 15-day money back guarantee.

Axvoice VoIP service works in your home by connecting your current home phone to the router with an adapter. Axvoice will supply a VoIP phone adapter with service for the cost of shipping ($19.99). Alternately, Axvoice supports Bring Your Own Device, so you can supply your own adapter if you have already purchased one.

Axvoice Residential VoIP Plans

Special promo offer of $6.25/month available now.

Axvoice provides four of the most economical residential calling plans available in VoIP service. The plans are set up to accommodate your specific household's calling needs and range from a Pay as You Go VoIP plan that only charges for what you use to a Blowout Deal plan with unlimited minutes for heavy phone users. Over 30 calling features are included on every plan for every customer at no extra cost. You can also keep your current phone number with Axvoice residential VoIP service.

Axvoice residential plans cover calls to the US and Canada and calls to over 45 international destinations are just 1.5 cents a minute. International plans are available if you make you more than a few out-of-country calls a month. The international plans include domestic calling as well to keep your monthly bill straightforward and clear.

Home Phone Service USA/Canada Plan

The Home Phone Service USA/Canada plan offers unlimited inbound and outbound calling anywhere in the contiguous US and Canada. The plan has three different term-based billing structures. You can choose the Monthly Plan for $14.99 a month with no commitments or you can subscribe for 12 months with the Flexible Yearly Plan and pay $10.99 a month. If you want the most savings, you can opt for the Blowout Deal. The Blowout Deal is $99 for the year, which equals $8.25 a month for unlimited calling to the US and Canada. You pay in full when you sign up for service and the total is closer to $153 with the taxes shown on the sign up form.

Additional Plans

The US/Canada 200 plan is $5.99 a month for 200 minutes of calls to the US and Canada. Additional minutes are billed at 1.5 cents a minute for the US, Canada, and over 45 other countries.

The Pay as You Go VoIP plan is $4.99 a month and includes free incoming calls. Outgoing calls are charged by the minute at 1.5 cents for calls to US, Canada, and over 45 other countries.

The Outgoing Only plan is a great substitute for a pre-paid calling card. Outgoing calls are billed at 1.5 cents a minute for the US, Canada, and over 45 other countries.

Axvoice Review

Axvoice reviews given by customers indicate appreciation for the 24-7 availability of customer service and the option for a live chat. In fact, Axvoice makes contacting a representative incredibly easy by providing a green "Live Help" button for immediate service.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

cindyw's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.116.245

Excellent service provider - Axvoice

Pros
Cons

I love this service! I decided to get a home phone since my cell phone service is horrible in my home area, and I still have five months left in my contract. I’ve been searching for a new job for a few months now, and my cell phone kept dropping calls. Not only that, but sometimes the calls wouldn’t come through at all. I had at least two different employers tell me they called me several times, but I never received a “missed call” notification. So those were the main reasons why I decided to get a home phone, so I could have a more reliable way for job offers to contact me. I have “follow me” set up to ring my mobile phone if I’m not at home, so now I can always be available. Since I’ve had Axvoice, I’ve been using my home phone more than my cell. If you knew me personally, you would know how much I love my cell. I never used a VOIP service before, so I didn’t know what to expect, but the quality is phenomenal. It actually sounds clearer than my cell phone. I’m glad I chose Axvoice over Vonage. Vonage cost $12 more per month, they charge $10 for their VOIP adapter, and charge shipping & handling to ship the darn thing, so Axvoice was the obvious choice for me. It was more affordable, and has some great features. When I first got my new cell phone number, I use to get calls from telemarketers and automated “work-from-home” calls all the time, so I was worried I was going to have the same problem with my home phone. Fortunately, Axvoice has an “Anonymous Call Rejection” feature that really comes in handy, especially when my ex and I broke up. So I’m definitely a fan of that particular feature. LOL. But the bottom line is, I love Axvoice, and I predict I’ll have this service for a very long time.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
tomasf's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.96.228

A wonderful experience - highly professional service - Axvoice

Pros
Reliable, cost effective and affordable service provider.
Cons
nil

I just switched my service to Axvoice and so far I’m extremely happy. I was getting sick of dealing with the BS with Xfinity. My bill was nearly $200 every month for their triple play package. I had their cable service with all the movie channels, home phone, and internet. For some reason, the bill seemed to be different every month. And when I had trouble with my service, their go-to response was “there’s a known problem in your area.” It just got too frustrating to continue to deal with their nonsense. I wanted to switch a long time ago but there was no other option. My father has satellite services and I absolutely hate it. I finally decided to downgrade to just their basic cable package, found a cheaper internet company, and got my home phone service through you guys. I’m really impressed by the quality of the calls. There is absolutely no difference between your service, and the expensive service from Xfinity. It makes me feel a bit stupid for not switching sooner. I feel like I threw away a crap load of money for nothing. So far, switching has been a great decision. My bills are lower, the service is great, and my wife is happy. So that’s all that really matters. I’ve only had to contact customer service a few times, but it was mostly just to ask questions, but they were always friendly and helpful, so no complaints here. I even recommended your service to a couple of my in-laws.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
pedro's picture


Member since:
Dec 2013

xxx.xxx.89.48

Axvoice - Terrible!

Pros
VOIP is cheaper than land line, but that is about it. Company looks good "on paper" and has decent reviews, but don't be fooled.
Cons
This company is a joke: 1. They do not have a phone to call, and e-mail is only support you will get 2. Enrollment process is very cumbersome 3. They required to call you back to confirm order - nice if you ALREADY HAVE A PHONE! 4. They requested copy of your credit card face side - send to them by email so that the whole world can see it, despite you should be able to upload it via their SSL protected website. 5. Total charges for 1 yr contract were ~$129, which they do not mention on their website. I know there are all kind of federal fees, but they could be up front with those, because they are known and fixed. We forced airline industry to show full fare cost when booking upfront. How hard is this for VOIP operators!!!! 6. I did not receive phone number that I selected but another one - why are they then letting you choose a number???? They said numbers are dependent on availability....Why offer that option then when applying? 7. Then they send you via email all your credentials in plain text (even they do have SSL protected website where you could login in and get these credentials safely). This included web login password - I bothered to create 20 char password that they then just revealed to the whole world in an email 8. Instructions how to configure your own gateway are vague and partially incorrect. Spent quite bit of time until things worked. 9. Dialing numbers out is very slow - up to 20 sec from moment you typed/dialed US number - skype does it in <5s 10. They will auto enroll your credit card for any payments without your explicit permission and they will charge it whenever they want. 11. So, I prepaid full year for unlimited US/CAN calls, and yet after 1st billing cycle they charged my credit card for 5 dollars without any explanation. When I emailed support they responded that they adjusted my billing cycle to 1st of the month (which I did not ask for) and refused to adjust cycle back to original date as I requested (and refund $5) claiming that this is how their billing cycle works. 12. After my threat that I will ask credit card company to cancel this transactions, my phone is not working as of this morning.

I am IT professional and I would strongly discourage anyone to do business with this company. They do not have address and phone number, no names of customer support people you work with, just e-mail support, slow at times (24-48 hr to respond). They betray customers' confidence to safeguard privacy. Paying less is only good if you get what you want, but being/getting betrayed is not worth any savings. Now exploring other (more expensive) options for VOIP and assuming they will never refund $129 because I did use my own equipment (and as some other reviewers already indicated). Will have to cancel my credit card, just in case! Moving on!

Piece of advice: do not go for 12-mo contract. Get a month-to-month at a higher rate and only if you are happy with service get a longer contract.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
1.8
newtonsen1's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.235.252

Axvoice Savior

Pros
Fast number transfer, excellent voice quality
Cons
none

It was quite difficult for us to change our phone company exactly when my wife was in the hospital but I had to do that as my phone service provider GlaxyVoice was closing its business. I was kind of “rescued” by Axvoice and they transferred my GalaxyVoice number on their own. All I had to do was sign up and then email an authority letter. They completed the whole process on my behalf while I was busy with my children and wife in the hospital. Besides that, I am getting free voice mail and call forwarding. At night, I can use Do Not Disturb feature which is the most useful feature with a new born in the house. Call quality and customer support is far better than what I was getting before.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
kell_bates's picture


Member since:
Sep 2013

xxx.xxx.222.172

Horrible Customer Service, overcharging with Axvoice

Pros
Cheap Service
Cons
Non-existent customer service. When they did bother to respond to emails, the questions were not answered or addressed. Was due a refund and never received it, and customer service would never respond. Use at your own risk.

Stay Away, there is no live customer service, you will never have questions and or issues resolved. The service was ok, but have many issues over the time that I did try to use it.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
2
RLR06H's picture


Member since:
Jun 2013

xxx.xxx.72.50

DO NOT GET THEIR SERVICE

Pros
Cheap
Cons
Customer Service, Technical Issues, Unauthorized Debits

With cheap price comes cheap service. I rarely ever encounter bad enough service where I feel the need to post a bad review. However, I feel like this particular experience is quite an exception. I obtained service from them because I read reviews that their VoIP was excellent and the connection was clear. From the day I received my "free" device I already had technical issues. I couldn't make or receive calls. The most frustrating part was that I couldn't even call to troubleshoot, I had to email which took me 3 days to get it resolved. It all ended up being an issue on their end. After that was resolved, I asked them to disable my call waiting which I could not have active as I was using this for a customer service position at home. They stated it was disabled but people were still getting a "ringing" when they called when I was on another incoming call. When contacting them they stated it depended on the provider of the person calling. That made no sense. What was the point of having call waiting disabled if it only worked with certain providers which seemed to be none of the ones that called me. After I advised them of that they then blamed the issue on me that it would be on my end. (Mind you, I now have Vonage and my call waiting disability has had no issues.) Then a day later my incoming calls were not coming through at all. I don't claim to be a IT wiz or anything but I have a fairly advanced knowledge of computers and I'm pretty sure this is not an easy connection for someone who has no clue how to troubleshoot. I've since cancelled my service and requested a refund of my remaining balance for my outgoing calls. They said I would be charged 39.99 for that "free" device until I returned it within 10 days, in which I have to pay the shipping in handling. They've already caused my account to be overdrawn and there is no way that I'm going to pay anything else towards this incompetent company. What a waste of my time/money. Do not get this service.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
JoeR's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.147.70

Excellent service at Axvoice!!!

Pros
Cons

Prices are lower, no contract required, good after sales support and 2 dozen free features. Voice quality is excellent on local as well as international calls. Just love everything about this service.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
klm323's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.147.62

Absolutely fantastic customer support at Axvoice

Pros
Best voice quality and low rates
Cons
Not a single issue

I’ve never had a VOIP service before, so I had a lot of questions before signing up. Axvoice customer service is impeccable. They were so friendly and patient with me. They made sure I understood everything and was completely comfortable with the details of the service before purchasing. So right off the bat, I liked Axvoice. I just want to give a breakdown of how smoothly the entire process was for me.

On DAY ONE, I called to inquire about the service and ask questions. Later that day, I spoke with my husband about it, and he told me to go for it. So I signed up on their website that evening to get started. Within a couple of hours a representative called to confirm the order and told me that I would receive the equipment within a week.

Day Five, I received my phone adapter. I was surprised it came so fast; it came sooner than expected. I hooked the phone adapter up to my modem, and plugged my phone into the adapter. It was extremely easy, my thirteen year old granddaughter helped. It only took me like 60 seconds to do it and I was able to make and receive calls immediately.

DAY SEVEN, I sent AxVoice some paperwork to have my old number transferred over to my service.

DAY 15, my number was transferred over successfully, and I started using my new service with no problems. The call quality is really impressive. I absolutely love it. The whole process was easy, the customer service was great, and the features are wonderful.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
Scotty B's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.248.177

My dog could provide better customer service than Axvoice does!

Pros
I never had a chance to find out -- they couldn't manage to finish the application process with me
Cons
Really bad customer service (at least during the application process).

I tried to sign up for their service but their "billing" department (so said their emails) was so inflexible and rigid about the process, I ultimately gave up trying to complete it. Not only did they fail to read/respond appropriately to emails -- repeatedly requesting information, for example, which I already provided to them -- my issue ultimately came down to their complete inflexibility in regards to a simple phone call. As with many companies, they use a phone call to validate their online client and wish to speak to you personally. However, in attempting to set up this initial call, Axvoice seemed completely inflexible, insisting on a time-table which I found decidedly inconvenient. Moreover, they seemed unable or unwillingness to accommodate an alternative time frame that was convenient for me. I wasn't trying to be a prima donna -- accommodating a customer's time table is perhaps one of the most basic tenets to proper customer service and I did provide them with a generous three hour window from 9am to noon any day of the week for which I was available for this procedure -- but AXvoice was ultimately incapable to accommodate my request.

Now, I understand when the cable or phone companies requires this kind of "window of availability" (i.e. because they are sending out an actual person to your home to whom you need to give access to your property), but c'mon AXvoice -- this kind of service window crap is really annoying when even when it is clearly necessary. We, on the other hand, were merely negotiating a time block for receiving a simple phone call! WTF? Do you really need to be THAT inflexible? Is your billing staff so impotent that they can't simply pick up the phone at ANY time of day? Ultimately, I just became frustrated with the email back and forth and given the wide range of competition in the VOIP industry, I felt this situation likely portended some really poor customer service for which I would have gravely regretted had I had the misfortune of enduring a full year of service with them. I suppose I might thank AxVoice for being such incredible boobs.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
jamesrohloff's picture


Member since:
Jan 2013

xxx.xxx.61.191

I highly recommend these guys.

Pros
Offering plenty of features and saving my money every month.
Cons
I can't find any thing annoying.

I have never written a review before in my life, but I guess there's a first time for everything. I'm recently divorced, and been really down on my luck since my wife left me. She usually handles all the bills and financial stuff around the house. I'm a guys' guy, so I don't know what kind of groceries to buy, or what kind of cable package to order. I'm absolutely clueless when it comes to that stuff. The first year on my own was brutal. I overpaid for everything. After my job cut our wages, I had to learn how to budget my money. To go from $11.50 to $8.25, was devastating. I decided to try making money online, so I kept internet and basic cable. I gave up cell phone services for awhile too; I was paying $87 per month for something I barely even used. I saw an ad for Axvoice, and checked the site out. I thought to myself, "$8.25?! I can do that!" The adapter came within a couple of days, and I was up and running. It was nice talking on a phone that didn't drop my calls or sound like I was inside an empty room. I can't believe how many features I get with my service. I have caller id, voicemail, three-way calling, call forwarding, and a bunch of other features. My home phone does more than my cell phone could ever do. I would need 20 different phone apps alone, to do the things Axvoice does. Now that I'm on my own, I can appreciate the small things, and these guys offer a big difference for a small price. Thanks for the awesome service.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
5
Overall
4.6