VoIPo

VoIP Service

Two lines and unlimited US and Canada calling for $8.25 a month with 1 year contract.

Key Features:

  • Unlimited Calls to US/Can
  • Over 45 Features + Free 2nd Line
  • Free international call allowance

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $6.21
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: $15 a month for month-to-month. $8.25 with a one year contract. $129 for two years.

Special Notes

$6.21 a month with 24 month prepay

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Call Forwarding
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

VoIPo



Sound Quality
3.82353
Reliability
3.67647
Customer Service
3.67647
Features
3.67647
Price
3.67647
Overall
4.017646

34 Reviews | Write a review

68% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States and Canada
Founded in: 2004

"I happily reccomend VOIPo to all considering a plug&play VoIP service."

by usa2k

VoIPo bills itself as "The Likable Phone Company." And if you're talking about their prices, VoIPo is the likable phone company.

First off, VoIPo doesn't confuse customers (or potential customers) with complex or meaningless differences between residential and business VoIP services: in the end, they're almost exactly the same:

  • Small business and home phone lines both cost $15 for a month-to-month contract or $8.25 a month for a year-long contract
  • Small business and home phone service both deliver unlimited calls to the US and Canada
  • Small business and home phone service both have the same fair use limit (5,000 minutes)
  • Small business and home phone service both have the same feature set

Other pluses of VoIPo

VoIPo has easy-to-understand and easy-to-read terms of service. And VoIPo also has the backing of HostGator, a leading web hosting company with a very good reputation for customer service and service consistency.

The prices are low, the terms are easy, and the service looks good. Give VoIPo a go.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

Jabber5's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.66.165

Voipo Service is awesome!

Pros
Sound Quality, Price, Reliability, 2-line adapter, Softphone on iPhone/Android, Customer Service, Email Voicemail
Cons
411

I've had Voipo for the last 3 years and it just keeps getting better. First it's reasonably priced at around $6/mo for unlimited calling. You even get 60 minutes of international calling each month included with that. Voicemail is emailed to you in wav files. I have also recently begun using a softphone on my iPhone with my Voipo service which allows me to make and receive calls from my home line using my iPhone no matter where I am in the world! Fantastic! The support is CA based and extremely responsive. Open a ticket online or call and they get back to you right away. I was paying over $40/mo to the phone company for worse service. The only downside is that the 411 they provide is automated and you have to listen to an add, but I rarely use it and opt to simply google my phone numbers. Don't hesitate to sign up especially if you're already using a cable company voip service. Also enter 7325230700 into the promo code field and you will get a free month added to your subscription!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
Leolena's picture


Member since:
Jun 2014

xxx.xxx.19.239

Lost My Number to AT&T and never got back for me

Pros
Was chip first two years $180(two years) after that same price for a year
Cons
They Lost my number i had for years.

They let AT&T to port my number out without my consent and never being able to get my number back. So I lost my number i had for years.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
2.8
R C Pender's picture


Member since:
Feb 2014

xxx.xxx.242.18

VOIPo - Fast Service - Review

Pros
fast service, easy set up, great features, perfect sound, dial tone comes on immediately, calls go through no problem.
Cons
Have found none in 5 weeks.

Box came fast. Plug in, wait, worked perfect. Love all the features. got 2 months free so less than $7.00 per month. Service for ? very fast and just what I needed. Called New Zealand and daughter was on cell phone outside so really poor on her end. Called her again when she was in the house and no difference from line call. Got everything set up on line really good choices. Would pick it again. Had it 5 weeks so far and not one single problem.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
hlorri's picture


Member since:
Jan 2014

xxx.xxx.71.34

ALMOST (but not quite) there!

Pros
A wealth of features: - SIP access (Bring your own VoIP phone, generic soft phones, some mobile phones) - Validate your cell phone number, use for outgoing Caller ID - Forwarding/simultaneous ring, with safeguards against VM pickup (e.g. your cell phone)
Cons
- International calling tricky over SIP (BYOD, soft phones...) - Slightly tricky behind NAT firewall (short registration intervals required) - Occasional Quality of Service issues

This was the first VoIP provider I tried, and I liked quite a few things about them. I really wanted this to work out, but in the end there was one single showstopper that led me to switch to PhonePower.

VOIP's residential service has quite a few bells and whistles that I found useful. One key feature is the way they allow you to forward calls to your cell phone(s) for simultaneous rings. Normally this is an issue because your cell phone's voicemail might pick up the call (right away if you have no coverage), and your home phone will stop ringing. With VOIPo, once you pick up a forwarded call, you need to confirm that you want to receive it... A very simple and practical safeguard that I wish PhonePower had as well.

Also, it allows you to pick any of your registered numbers (virtual numbers, your cell phone numbers) as outgoing Caller ID. In my case, I have no cell phone coverage at home, so this allows me to use my cell phone number as my public "main" presence regardless. Combined with forwarding unanswered calls from my cell phone to my VOIPo number, I can then pick up incoming calls whether I'm in coverage (my cell), at home, or via a SIP soft phone from anywhere. (What particularly makes this attractive is that VOIPo's voice mail system is nicer and more practical than that of my cell phone carrier... voice mails can be sent to your email address as attachments, for instance).

Now the negatives.

First, the VOIPo-supplied phone adapter would lose its registration at regular intervals. My home network is behind a NAT router (basically a Linux box with masquerading firewall, but it's apparently the same issue with a standard NAT/broadband router you'd buy in a store), which means that the adapter does not have a public IP address (presence) on the Internet. So the adapter can initiate contact with the VOIP registration server, but not the other way around.

To keep the channel open, the device would normally send "keep-alive" packets to the server at regular intervals.. say every 30 seconds or so. Also, the device needs to re-register with the service every so often - perhaps every 1 - 3 hours.

For whatever reason, the VOIPo Registration server keeps losing the VOIPo adapter's registration after a few (10-15) minutes, and the device would not be able to receive incoming call until its next registration, some 45 minutes later. In other words, it would have an active "duty cycle", as it were, of some 1/4 of the time.

I did some testing, using my own VoIP soft phone (a Yealink SIP-22P from Amazon), and found a similar issue - at the default 3600 second/1 hour registration interval (even with keep-alive packets every 30 seconds in the interim), the VOIPo registration would lapse after 10-15 minutes. To work around this, I had to set the registration interval very short - 300 seconds/5 minutes. After this, I did not have any more registration issues with my SIP phone (or my soft phones) - but since I was not able to configure the VOIPo adapter, I was not able to use this. [*][**]

[*] VOIPo included a piece of paper with the adapter where they explained that if you are behind a NAT router, you need to forward all incoming traffic on UDP ports 2000-65000 to their adapter. This is a non-starter if you, like me, have other services in use. Also even when testing this, it did not seem to address the problem.

[**] In contrast, I now use a 7200 second (2 hour) registration interval with PhonePower, without any issues whatsoever. It's simply rock solid.

This led me straight to the 2nd and more important showstopper. International calls are restricted when using your own device (like my SIP phone). You can whitelist specific countries, but this does not always work. I had to contact their tech support line for them to fix something in order to be able to call to Norway, and even after multiple attempts, they were unable to fix whitelisting of calls to Taiwan.

In other words:
- Calling certain destinations is only possible when using the VOIPo supplied adapter
- The VOIPo supplied adapter does not work well behind NAT firewalls.

Lastly, although voice quality was overall pretty good - VERY good at times - there were other times when the voice was terribly garbled both ways. I've not experienced this once I switched to PhonePower.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
3
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
5
Overall
4.2
Dew's picture


Member since:
Jan 2014

xxx.xxx.113.246

I can recommend VOIPo

Pros
An inexpensive phone that has worked for me wherever I had good broadband internet service. Great special features that I can turn on and off easily, as needed, via my online account panel. Responsive customer service and tech help. Very reasonable pricing.
Cons
Internet service itself is sometimes unreliable and that effects the sound quality of the phone.

I have been a VOIPo customer since the summer of 2010 and, though I've lived at several different locations during the past four years, I have had use of my same New York-based telephone number in a number of locations. It has been easy to hook it up anywhere there has been broadband internet service.

In the account settings online, you can set voice mail to come to you as an mp3 file attached to an email. This wonderful feature has enabled me to receive messages while en route from place to place by using public wifi, checking email, and playing the messages through my media player.

VOIPo also offers call recording, call forwarding, call waiting, distinctive ringtone, a “do not disturb” setting, and detailed/extensive call history records, among other features.

Customer service and technical assistance has been quick, respectful, and responsive to my needs.

And the price is right! I recommend this service and this company. My brother originally recommended VOIPo to me; he has remained with the company since 2009. I have recommended it to friends.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
5
Overall
4.4
ATGWORLD's picture


Member since:
Nov 2013

xxx.xxx.204.75

VOIPO - few redeeming qualities

Pros
Customer service folks are pleasant when you can reach them. Since if you choose this service you will be in constant contact with them, that is a good thing. Great system if you are within shouting distance of the person you are trying to reach.
Cons
Poor reliability. Erratic service. Customer service is limited. Takes a long time to get through. The service sometimes just quits requiring an involved visit with customer service who are only available on West Coast business times.

This is a pretty bad phone service. I wish I had tried it for a few months before paying up front for such a long term commitment. The service is erratic. For domestic calls or international. I signed up for a long term believing that it would be similar to my prior VOIP provider but a bit less expensive. Turns out I was wrong. These guys try hard but are simply working with a system that is deficient in so many ways that it must be impossible to keep on line.

My guess is that most customers who use this as an office or home phone will leave the service as soon as their initial period is up.

I hope that my next VOIP service is better! Otherwise Verizon here I come....

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
3
Price
2
Overall
2.2
arusa's picture


Member since:
Jul 2013

xxx.xxx.192.128

horrible VOIPO-faxes

Pros
the price is very cheap
Cons
but you get what you pay for.

we were not getting faxes for over a week. they could not fix the problem and didn't know what the problem was. eventually faxes started coming in again but a week later this problem happened again.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
2
Price
5
Overall
2
wesb's picture


Member since:
Jul 2013

xxx.xxx.94.190

Would be great if it were reliable

Pros
Cost
Cons
Prepayment Reliability Lack of "Customer Service"

Ordered May 2012 24 month prepayment. Sounded like a good deal. Billing starts when ordered, not when shipped, received, or activated. Kind petty, but whatever.
Stopped working about 8 months into it. Left it unplugged as we really don't need it and didn't have time to deal with "customer service".

Company emailed wanting me to update credit card information in July 2013. I mentioned I would not update the information as I would not renew it because it did not work. They kindly sent me to a URL to cancel. Talk about a company not caring if their product works. I finally got them to look into the issue and they now blame the issue on my ISP. Since I am not a computer geek I do not know how to port forward or any of that nerdy stuff. And it ain't worth paying a tech to figure it out.

I asked company to refund remaing months (11 of them) and they will not. They want their device back, so they can give it to someone else, but want to keep my money. Shady. Not recommended in the strongest terms.

Magic Jack, Ooma, Google Voice via Obitalk device are ALL an improvement and are ALL cheaper than this crappy "service".

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
1.6
Primalpenguin's picture


Member since:
Jul 2013

xxx.xxx.176.149

VOIPo Simply THE BEST

Pros
Quality Price Customer Service (usually email but can get them voice)
Cons
Vpanel - Could do a little more and be more flexible - but for the price... it is a very small issue.

I had UVerse before switching 2 years ago and I CANNOT tell the difference. What I like: Price - Where are you going to get quality service at this price? Online VPanel - If you have calls from those you wish not to hear from you can make them hear busy signal or phone out of order. You want real privacy this is the key. Customer Service - when I first got the system there were a couple of issue and the tech support was very helpful. They did have to move me to another server and for the last 2 years it has been completely trouble free. Quality - No one can tell this is VoIP. I added a vitual fax (with added number) for $18/yr. I can receive faxes through that number to my email and send them from my computer. Pretty slick.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
wendell's picture


Member since:
Apr 2013

xxx.xxx.114.164

Taking it with you out of USA

Pros
Sound service, good for use only in the states if you don't travel.
Cons
I was told when I sign up that I could take it with me out of the country. Without warning, they cut off service to anyone who takes it with them out of the country. So now i need to start over with a VOIP service.

Very good tracking on your account via their website. Voice clarity was okay, we just could not use a computer on the same broadband dsl connection the phone was on at the same time of making a call. It would make the phone call choppy.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
3
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
3.6