magicJack

magicJack Plus 2014

Free unlimited local and long distance

Key Features:

  • 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer Choice Award
  • 24/7 customer service – Keep your Phone Number
  • 6 Months Free, then $29.95/yr. or $99.75 for 5 yrs.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $0.00
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

magicJack



Sound Quality
2.897435
Reliability
2.358975
Customer Service
2.358975
Features
2.358975
Price
2.358975
Overall
2.685897

152 Reviews | Write a review

32% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2002

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. magicJack allows you to plug in a device like a USB drive into your computer to make phone calls from your computer.

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Buyer beware: We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read the user reviews here first.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

ilanbloom's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.180.125

Affordable but... Magicjack

Pros
Affordable and you can port your existing number. I would recommend over the previous service I had through CenturyLink. I was being charged $46 a month for a landline.
Cons
Too many to list...but here are a few: A. You will receive more spam calls than you can possibly imagine. 2-15 a day. B. You will need to dial a 1 before calling any number, local and long distance. C. Certain US numbers, including several local number, are not accessible. D. You will encounter hidden fees, such as an international connection fee that is not mentioned anywhere and will drain your credit quickly, 911 yearly fee, needing to purchase international calling credit to dial certain US numbers, credit you buy for international calling will be applied only to your home phone but not to the mobile app that is linked to your home phone number. This requires a second purchase of credit. And on and on. E. Customer service is in the Philippines. Good English, nice reps, but they are not the company and will not be able to resolve issues. The company seems to not be listening to its customers.

Beware of this provider. Unclear policies, hidden fees and many short fallings make for a not-so-great experience. The system is set up to make money for the company and not to provide a good calling service. They get you to sign up and then provide crappy service.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
2
Price
3
Overall
2.6
sofisintown's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.18.5

MAGIC JACK- EXCELLENT VALUE!

Pros
Email notice for voicemail, loud and clear, use over the computer or handset, easy set up. You get to choose your number.
Cons
None

I had Magic Jack for a year now for home phone, and I am very satisfied with it. I do not have answering machine, but the voicemail service of Magic Jack always sends me an email when I have a message waiting. Over all it is an excellent value for $ 35.00 a year!
I took it with me and used it on a trip, and I saved a bundle by not paying roaming charges on my cell.
I recommend it to everyone!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
sonia sosa's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.61.184

I HAVE BOUGHT 5 MAGIC JACKS AND ARE SCAMM

Pros
WELL THEY WORK WHEN YOU BUY IT AND ARE GOOD FOR iNTRNATIONAL CALLING.
Cons
WHEN THE ONE YEAR OR THE 6 MONTHS FREE WHEN YOU BUY THE DEVICE , i TRY TO RENEW IT LIKE THEY SAY, AND NEVER CAN DO IT, IT KEEP ME ASKING THE PAYMENT AND CHARGING TO MY CARD, AND i KEEP TRYING HUNDREDS OF TIMES AND THEY CONTINUE ASKING ME FOR THE SAME THING AND NEVER NEVER RENEW THE SERVICE, THEY NEVER CHARGE MY CARD, AND I HAD TO GO AND BUY A NEW DEVICE, BUT TO PAY ALMOST 50 DOLLARS AS i PAY IN A vACAVILLE cALIFORNIA rADIO sHACK STORE AND AFTER SIX MONTHS, WHEN THEY TOLD TO RENEW, THE SAME, ALWAYS THE SAME, IMAGINE I HAVE ALREADY 5 DEVICES, CHANGING NUMBER EVERY TIME, CHANGING CREDIT CARDS, CHANGING E MAILS, SO THEY ACCEPT THE NEW DEVICE, FOR ME THIS MAGIC JACK COMPANY ARE SCAMMERS, BECAUSE THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO A BUNCH OF FRIENDS.

WHEN THE ONE YEAR OR THE 6 MONTHS FREE WHEN YOU BUY THE DEVICE , i TRY TO RENEW IT LIKE THEY SAY, AND NEVER CAN DO IT, IT KEEP ME ASKING THE PAYMENT AND CHARGING TO MY CARD, AND i KEEP TRYING HUNDREDS OF TIMES AND THEY CONTINUE ASKING ME FOR THE SAME THING AND NEVER NEVER RENEW THE SERVICE, THEY NEVER CHARGE MY CARD, AND I HAD TO GO AND BUY A NEW DEVICE, BUT TO PAY ALMOST 50 DOLLARS AS i PAY IN A vACAVILLE cALIFORNIA rADIO sHACK STORE AND AFTER SIX MONTHS, WHEN THEY TOLD TO RENEW, THE SAME, ALWAYS THE SAME, IMAGINE I HAVE ALREADY 5 DEVICES, CHANGING NUMBER EVERY TIME, CHANGING CREDIT CARDS, CHANGING E MAILS, SO THEY ACCEPT THE NEW DEVICE, FOR ME THIS MAGIC JACK COMPANY ARE SCAMMERS, BECAUSE THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO A BUNCH OF FRIENDS. DO NOT BUY I THINK IT IS BETTER TO LOOK FOR ANOTHER KIND OF SERVICE.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
5
Price
3
Overall
3
Kathyerine's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.13.119

Magic Jack...you get what you pay for

Pros
Cheap, cheap, cheap
Cons
About 50% of the time it will make noises on either side that makes it difficult for anyone to actually have a conversation...customer service SUCKS, wish there were negative stars. I would have chosen 10 minus for customer service...issues will not be resolved...do not buy international minutes!

I have had this magic jack voip service for two years...I paid for five. I will go for another voip when my fifth year is up. One that I will pay monthly but I will be able to speak to real people if there are any problems...
I bought some international minutes the other day. I had over 800 minutes. I tried calling someone out of the country. The phone just rang. No answering machine. No voice messaging. No one was home. I tried another person in the same country but my 800 minutes were gone and I only had 100 minutes left. There is no way you can actually TALK to a real customer service magic jack person. You can only chat to someone in India or another country. I can tell by the way they spell etc. They said they would get back to me by email. They never did. I keep CHATTING to ask them what happened to 700 of my international minutes with no results. Don't buy international minutes...
Another thing is there is no one and no where to get instructions. I wanted to save a message. It says press 1 for this 2 for that 3 for something else etc until I got to the option to place the message in a folder and save it. There is no way to get my message because there is no option to go back into the folder. You can put things in but you cannot retrieve them. OR IF you can, no one will help me to do it. I CHATTED and told the person my problem. How can I get to my message back to listen? They would just repeat what the phone says...press option 1 for this, option 2 for that etc. I said I got that part but now how do I access my message? The person sent the supervisor who said, press option 1 for this, option 2 for that etc. I said yes, I got that but how do I get into the folder to retrieve my message? I do not know how to do that...He closed the chat box on me.
The noise it makes when you talk can either be very bad static, whistles, or sounding as if the person were under water...
I would rather pay 10 bucks a month for a voip service that has REAL customer service...and will probably do it before my five years is up, actually...

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
3
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.6
shovelhead137462's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.166.21

Loyal and Love it! - Magicjack

Pros
Price. Features. Ease of setup. The smartphone app thats included is wonderful.
Cons
Customer service can only be reached via chat. As with all voip services, if power is off or internet is giving problems this will not work. (however with the smartphone app you can still recieve calls!) It will not work with pulse (dial) telephones without a pulse to tone convertor. Answer and talk yes, but cant dial out.

Ive been a MJ user since thier legacy MJ was introduced. The MJ plus is so much better because you dont need to leave it connected to a computer to use. I have this connected to the internal telephone wiring in 2 houses, and it feeds all of my telephones. The people that have complaints and problems more than likely have poor internet service. It doesnt need a whole lot of speed, but of course more is better. Mine work great with the 3 meg service that I have.
On two occasions I have had MJ units fail due to closeby lightning strikes. Each time MJ customer service replaced them and the only charge was a small amount for shipping.
I work for a telephone provider and even with an employee discount it doesnt come close the the MJ monthly fees.
I have to laugh when I see other voip providers pricing. $ 10-$20-$30 per month! I was originally paying $20 a year, but it is now $35, that still blows the doors off every other company.
The new smartphone app is great. I can take and make calls on the go or in home. Its like having a 1000 mile long cord on your phone.

Would I recomend it? YES YES YES I have installed this for most of my friends and family and several neighbors.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
5
Overall
4.6
TOG's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.217.110

A Long-time Customer - Magicjack

Pros
Great Price, Good service and over time the quality of the service has been upgraded
Cons
I have used the customer support and found it to be awkward to use, but at this price what do you expect?

I have used the original MagicJack as my only phone service for about 6 yrs. When I first got MagicJack there were several rural phone numbers that could not be called through MagicJack (but these numbers could call my number without problem). Now I can call these numbers without problem. I have an elderly relative whom I call daily. The free long distance has made the MagicJack a real bargain for me. I have tried to use the MagicJack customer support and found it to be frustrating to use. But I have eventually gotten the information that I need. At the price that MagicJack charges you cannot complain. In short the service works and the price really right. I am a happy customer.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.6
Texas Lady's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.179.124

Magic Jack FRAUD!!!!

Pros
NONE!!!
Cons
Crystal clear sound, great customer service, $5.00/Month Plan

I had an old (1st generation Magic Jack) unit. I needed to use a phone and my cell was not working, so I decided to try my old magic jack. I plugged it into my laptop and decided to use the free trail for $5.00 for 30 days. Prior to the 30 days (12/17/2014) they send me an email stating they will bill my credit card $37.73 Renewal on 12/20/2014. I had been charged for a renewal that I didn't authorize. They claim it will take 1 to 2 business days before they can refund my money. This is fraud. I have filed a complaint with the Texas Attorney General as well as Consumer Affairs. Do NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
Alincollin's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.182.84

Stay away. Not usable - MagicJack

Pros
Cost
Cons
Unusable. No customer service

I ported my number from Vonage and was essentially trapped. The calls would directly go to answering. You can only get in touch with support by chat and every time I was told to just power cycle. Does not help. I'm back with Vonage and regret trying these guys out. I guess you get what you pay for

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.4
cestlevie's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.25.191

Love my Magic Jack

Pros
Inexpensive, reliable, portable
Cons
lack of customer service

I like that I can get my calls at home to my cell phone as I travel for work. I love that it is so inexpensive also. I had Vonage before for 5 years and when I changed to Magic Jack I didn't notice a difference in sound quality. I've had Magic Jack for 3 years and am getting ready to purchase another year.I don't like the fact that there isn't any customer service to speak of. Also, people who call when I'm on another line cannot leave a message. It just keeps ringing and ringing until they hang up if I don't answer the call. But I loved that I could just take the Magic Jack plug in when I moved. Didn't have to worry about changing my phone number or calling someone to get it hooked up, etc.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.6
dglinx's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.101.103

DO NOT BUY MAGICJACK PDODUCTS

Pros
Easy setup. Sound quality is good.
Cons
Customer service is not existent. Web customer portal is very poorly designed. Everything is geared up towards marketing and sales but NOT towards customer account management! No free Conference calls as advertised.

The CUSTOMER SERVICE DOES NOT EXIST!!! I had two accounts. One for my iPhone and one for my LAN Line with 5-year subscription. While making modifications to my iPhone account one of their "Technical Support Representatives" by accident disabled my both accounts. She did not have a clue on how to reinstate it??? I have lost my business line. It has happened on August of 2014. After numerous messaging (No Phone Support. Only Web) and many different levels of "Support" they never got it working. Still No Dial Tone as of this review writing! It is Already December of 2014. I went with different VoIP.

DO NOT BUY MagicJack. No support. They will cheat you out of your money. Cut contract short! Disable your account and you be left helpless!.

Thanks,

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.8