magicJack

magicJack Plus 2014

Free unlimited local and long distance

Key Features:

  • 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer Choice Award
  • 24/7 customer service – Keep your Phone Number
  • 6 Months Free, then $29.95/yr. or $99.75 for 5 yrs.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $0.00
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

magicJack



Sound Quality
2.82222
Reliability
2.31111
Customer Service
2.31111
Features
2.31111
Price
2.31111
Overall
2.638518

131 Reviews | Write a review

31% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2002

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. magicJack allows you to plug in a device like a USB drive into your computer to make phone calls from your computer.

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Buyer beware: We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read the user reviews here first.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

wayne robinson's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.129.30

Magic Jack plus 2014 NO GO

Pros
Yes it works with conditions
Cons

No customer support, good price we wanted the same phone # in canada & got a florida # .They promised a Canadian phone # & delivered a Florida # how do you save money when all your friends have to phone Florida.We wanted the same phone # didn't want to change,no go.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.4
stansmith44's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.248.246

avoid Magic Jack

Pros
cheap
Cons
Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
stansmith44's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.248.246

avoid Magic Jack

Pros
cheap
Cons
Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
PhoneyMan's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.231.221

MagicJack Works Great

Pros
I've had a original MagicJack since they first came out and I'm still using it today, I've had no problems with it since day one.
Cons
The only con I have is with the IP you might me using..it has failed a few times in these years but the failure has always been with the IP not my computer or the MagicJack.

Once again as stated above: I've had a original MagicJack since they first came out and I'm still using it today, I've had no problems with it since day one. And the only problem with it has always been my Inter Provider connection. Once in a while I get a little noise, but again I know its the IP because I can hang up and do over and no noise. How can you have phone service any cheaper ?? you can't.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
4.4
TheLazyComic's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.186.157

Slightly better than smoke signals. - Magicjack

Pros
The only pro here is the price, and Tragic Jack just raised that. Also, they are now putting fees on top of the price, so one needs to keep this in mind. The audio quality is alright 95% of the time, which I don't consider bad for the price.
Cons
Where do I start. The customer service? That's a joke. These idiots don't have a clue as to what a customer is requesting. My power supply went bad for my Magic Jack Plus? They wanted me to do dances through fire to get a new one from them. It was easier, (and cheaper), just to buy a new power supply from eBay. (And it was a better built one too). If you never have to use their customer "no support", you'll be okay. They just raised the prices too, plus are now adding fees to the prices. I'm need another phone line. Tragic Jack probably won't be my choice.

I have 2 of these devices. I still have the first one that you must plug into the computer to use. Believe it or not, it's the better of the two as far as dependability and quality. Oh.... and if you talk for a long time? (90 minutes seems to be the "magic" number). Tragic Jack will cut your call off... and will not let you redial the number. You'll get a recording saying all lines are busy. The other party can call you back though. I've had the first unit since 2008, and it still works. I've used it on my laptop with 4G connections with no problems. As the old saying goes, ya get what you pay for. Randy, The Lazy Comic.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.8
hooligan's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.171.216

Cheap and a number - Magicjack

Pros
Cheap, gives you a number, can port a number if you want, can get other area code numbers.
Cons
If you want to talk it is not always reliable. Need a fast internet service it would work much better.

I give this number out as my home phone. I hardly plug it in, takes the voice mail and emails it to me. I don't use it for calls I have a cell. Then i someone with something important I can call them back. I also use this number for credit card companies since they are always calling to sell some service. This way I never have to listen to them ring my phone. When it comes time to activate the new card from your home phone I plug it in and call in bingo it is activated.

I will give them this: The quality has greatly improved over when I first started with them way back when 5 or 6 years ago. ALSO, if you call 800 numbers they capture your number you are calling from so I use the magic jack for that since I have no desire for these sales people to have my cell number.

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
3.6
qhbohuci's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.141.190

Terrible service and customer support! - Magicjack

Pros
Cheap
Cons
Terrible quality, terrible support, hidden fees!

I have used magic jack for several years. From day one I've had terrible service (dropped calls, when calling my MJ number, can't hear the caller, trouble dialing out, terrible voice quality). I have replaced my magic Jack device, later upgraded to two newer devices and still no improvement. My internet connection of 25/5 is great too, which they insisted was slow. MJ device connected directly to the router.

I was very patient with the (chat) tech support which is most likely located outside of US and seemed to copy/paste pre typed responses that did not make any sense.

When I signed up for Magic Jack service I was provided Terms of Service (TOS) that I had to agree to in order to proceed with the service. Nowhere in the TOS it stated that I must also review and agree to what is listed in Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Right now after many failed attempts of improving my terrible Magic Jack phone service. I have no other option but switch to a different career. When I requested a phone number port out, I was told that I must pay a port out fee of $30 as listed in FAQs. Any attempt to discuss a waive of this fee was unsuccessful and the support agent simply referred to the FAQs and ended the chat.

I would strongly discourage anyone from using Magic Jack, do your research there are many alternatives with much better phone service quality and better customer support.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2
starkmtnstudio's picture


Member since:
Jun 2014

xxx.xxx.192.54

Don't Bother! - Magicjack

Pros
It all sounds great in theory...
Cons
It does not work in reality... if you have satellite internet

As soon as I decided to try this device I got a really bad taste in my mouth for the company because of the way the push-push-push the sales on you for extended service, rate plans, insurance, faster delivery.. non-stop. I said no to all of them and still got it within 3 days.

I tried to get it to work putting hours into it over several days and nothing. I finally disconnected it as I was going out of town. Then I tried it again, and again. They say you can have it hooked up and using it within a few minutes. Finally I tried it again... same problems... did the on-line chat thing for over 2 hours. Finally the person said "Do you have satellite?" Well, yes I do.

Oh, our device does not work with satellite. OH REALLY! Why doesn't it clearly state that on your web site? Oh it does, but she could never point me to where it says anything like that.

Long story short, I've lost about 8 hours fooling around with this, which is even more valuable than my $70 - $49.99 plus handling and shipping - that I am now past the 30 days and they won't refund.

This is just a BAD and GREEDY company - I'd stay away if I were you.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
Lily's picture


Member since:
Jun 2014

xxx.xxx.182.226

The worst service I have ever met! - Magicjack

Pros
Low price, terrible service!!!!
Cons
Terrible customer service. Don't trust their ad. Magic Jack never works if you don't plug it in the computer.

Magic Jack service is the worst I have ever met. My magicjack never works without to plug in the computer. I have to leave my computer on all the time in order to make the magicjack box works. I tried to call their custom service to fix that, but they were terrible and rude, and they can't fix the problem. My suggestion is DON'T BUY MAGIC JACK. It's awful!

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
1.4
rishi205's picture


Member since:
Jun 2014

xxx.xxx.192.58

MagicJack is pointless and a waste of time.

Pros
cheap, easy to use.
Cons
customer services is unbearable, sound quality is garbage, cheap material(breaks down fast, and i mean FAST), not many features as they described, someone you don't even know has the SAME NUMBER AS YOU!!! and many more..

I WARN EVERYONE THAT READS THIS BEWARE MAGICJACK. IT'S GOOD AT TIMES BUT NOT LONG TERM.

If you look at the pros to cons ratio you'll realize that there is more cons then pros, although magicjack is a nice and cheap inexpensive way to call and talk to people from Canada and the United States, but if you have problems like I do as well as everyone else that uses phones/cellphones/tablets/computer that utilize magicjack then you might as well give up on fixing the problem. I have had my home phone number for a long time, and i have been paying my local phone company(s) thousands of dollar (you heard me THOUSANDS, i'm not even joking), i have'd paid 55 dollars a month on my phone bill for the better part of a 2 decades till recently i changed provider to pay 46 dollars a month (not much of a difference), then MagicJack comes along with their eye catching advertisement 20 dollars PER YEAR!!, i like many fell for their TRAP. i ported my number since i had since the beginning of time to the new majicjack plus 2013, work well for a year then the new majicjack 2014 came, work well for 2 MONTHS, then broke down, i chatted with CS for a full 2 HOURS, FRUITLESS, then i wanted to port my number to a new carrier, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE, i didn't spend 1 hour not 2 either but 3 DAYS to get my number back.

AND THAT'S NOT ALL. i just recently been told that someone in the United States has the same magicjack number as i do, guess i'll have to spend my weekend this time to fix this problem.

I WARN EVERYONE THAT READS THIS BEWARE MAGICJACK. IT'S GOOD AT TIMES BUT NOT LONG TERM.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.2