magicJack

magicJack Plus 2014

Free unlimited local and long distance

Key Features:

  • 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer Choice Award
  • 24/7 customer service – Keep your Phone Number
  • 6 Months Free, then $29.95/yr. or $99.75 for 5 yrs.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $0.00
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

magicJack



Sound Quality
2.86577
Reliability
2.32215
Customer Service
2.32215
Features
2.32215
Price
2.32215
Overall
2.661746

145 Reviews | Write a review

31% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2002

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. magicJack allows you to plug in a device like a USB drive into your computer to make phone calls from your computer.

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Buyer beware: We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read the user reviews here first.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

Alincollin's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.182.84

Stay away. Not usable - MagicJack

Pros
Cost
Cons
Unusable. No customer service

I ported my number from Vonage and was essentially trapped. The calls would directly go to answering. You can only get in touch with support by chat and every time I was told to just power cycle. Does not help. I'm back with Vonage and regret trying these guys out. I guess you get what you pay for

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.4
cestlevie's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.25.191

Love my Magic Jack

Pros
Inexpensive, reliable, portable
Cons
lack of customer service

I like that I can get my calls at home to my cell phone as I travel for work. I love that it is so inexpensive also. I had Vonage before for 5 years and when I changed to Magic Jack I didn't notice a difference in sound quality. I've had Magic Jack for 3 years and am getting ready to purchase another year.I don't like the fact that there isn't any customer service to speak of. Also, people who call when I'm on another line cannot leave a message. It just keeps ringing and ringing until they hang up if I don't answer the call. But I loved that I could just take the Magic Jack plug in when I moved. Didn't have to worry about changing my phone number or calling someone to get it hooked up, etc.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.6
dglinx's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.101.103

DO NOT BUY MAGICJACK PDODUCTS

Pros
Easy setup. Sound quality is good.
Cons
Customer service is not existent. Web customer portal is very poorly designed. Everything is geared up towards marketing and sales but NOT towards customer account management! No free Conference calls as advertised.

The CUSTOMER SERVICE DOES NOT EXIST!!! I had two accounts. One for my iPhone and one for my LAN Line with 5-year subscription. While making modifications to my iPhone account one of their "Technical Support Representatives" by accident disabled my both accounts. She did not have a clue on how to reinstate it??? I have lost my business line. It has happened on August of 2014. After numerous messaging (No Phone Support. Only Web) and many different levels of "Support" they never got it working. Still No Dial Tone as of this review writing! It is Already December of 2014. I went with different VoIP.

DO NOT BUY MagicJack. No support. They will cheat you out of your money. Cut contract short! Disable your account and you be left helpless!.

Thanks,

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.8
daya78's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.131.157

Don't port your number to or from MagicJack ever!

Pros
It is cheap.
Cons
Voice quality is poor. Customer service is abysmal. Website is very uninformative and it's impossible to get someone on Live Chat.

I joined and cancelled within the trail period. Unfortunately, I decided to port my phone in and out. That was a huge mistake. I understand there are fees for porting in, but when I wanted to port out, I was dinged another $30 for that. So basically if you decide to port in and out you end up paying as much as you did for the MagicJack for a year!! I can't even change my mind now since I mailed the device. I called Customer Service and finally got someone who repeated like a parrot that there were fees for porting in or out and that it was in the Terms of Service, which is a long document, which I decided not to read every word of (I know, I know...the devil is in the details). I did check their FAQ and searched all over their site about porting. They mention fees for porting in, which I decided was ok but charging again for porting out seems over the top. All in all, if you can deal with the low volume for voice then it is may be worth the price, but expect no customer service and DO NOT PORT your number.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.2
jpmwriter's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.208.62

Wasted Money on MajicJack Purchase!

Pros
Price good, if only it worked!
Cons
Too many cons to list! A MJ tech did spend time on chat, testing my connections, then finally announced that there is no guarantee when one is using a satellite company for internet. I live in a rural area, no cable providers here, so Dish is my only choice. I can hear whomever I call perfectly, but they can never hear me and always comment how I am breaking up too badly to continue call, etc. Using headset or plugging in my phone seems to make no difference; I have tried all possible settings.

Beware of third party MJ tech services. I called one, and he accessed my pc, only to place a mysterious password on it when I recognized I was being scammed. He wanted $500 or more to fix! I had to take my pc to a professional, as no one could reboot or sign back into my computer anymore. Lost most of my saved data.... Huge expense and inconvenience. If I had the time and energy, I would research and sue this particular company, and know I would win in court. REMEMBER THAT MJ DOES NOT PROVIDE ANY TELEPHONE SUPPORT, SO IF YOU ARE CALLING AN 800 # TO REACH THEM, YOU ARE ASKING FOR TROUBLE WITH A THIRD PARTY IMPOSTER!

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
1.4
Tekmark's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.181.228

Great service for a Navy dad. - Magicjack

Pros
Good price, easy install, local number, convenient communication worldwide.Haven't
Cons
Haven't had any need for customer service, so no complaints to date.

Bought this device at a thrift store for $1.99! Sent it to my daughter deployed in Japan with her Navy hubby. I can call, or they can whenever. So far, so good.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.6
Newbury's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.98.214

Great Product - Magicjack

Pros
Price, Reliability, Ease of Use, Support, Can Bring Your Phone Number When You Travel
Cons
None

I purchased a magic jack 3 years ago for my office fax line. Previously I was paying the local phone company $70 per month for the extra line. I have it set up so the fax line goes into a computer so that I do not have to waste paper and ink printing out unwanted ads.
There is no difference in the quality of faxes received from the previous overcharged phone company. One day the service did go out and it was due to my nonrenewal of the product. They did however continue to support it for 2 months after I was supposed to renew it before cutting it off. I renewed and as soon as the payment was taken the line was back up. Another time the device went out and I contacted the chat line. They quickly responded went through some diagnostics and determined the device was bad. They sent me a new one priority and I had it in 2 days, I just had to pay $5.

I like this product so much I switched out my home phone service from the high priced cable company. I have not had any problems with this at all and it gives caller ID and will take messages and send you an email with a recording of the message if your answering machine does not pick up. I am also looking forward to bringing the device with me when I travel. I have a second home and now can bring my home phone number with me.

I have not experienced one negative in more than 3 years of use. Great product and highly recommend.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
Mac85658's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.135.218

Customer Service and Oxymoron - magicjack

Pros
Cheap and when it works it is quite good
Cons
Ill trained customer service reps who are reluctant to transfer proble to higher tier level of support.

Customer service ill trained and repeatedly ask same question. Very polite but not very helpful with a problem ie a call from US to Spain resulting in error message no routing available but no one in customer service could answer what it means and/or how to fix it

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.6
Rusty's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.205.157

worst phone company out there! - Magicjack

Pros
the cheaspest phone company out there...
Cons
The worst working product ever!

I had Magicjack for a year and all I can say good about it is the price. After that year it had problems. I could call out, but I couldn't hear everyone that called me. So after doing "live chat" over and over, being told the same things by different operators....I finally insisted on them sending me a new unit, because I felt mine was not working. (even though they thought it was just fine) The new one worked....so I was correct. These people are idiots who do the live chat! Then after one month, it was doing the same thing. Sometimes just unplugging it and plugging it back makes it work, but really??? What a piece of crap! I finally decide to end my sevice, and they charge me $32 to end it. Not so cheap now! Also, want to mention....Caller ID is not great. Even bought a new phone, but the only names that show up are the ones I put in my own phone. No other names show up...just phone numbers. And so many ro-bo calls are locall looking numbers.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.2
11111steve's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.204.7

Majic Jack deceptive advertising

Pros
Cons
don't disclose that they do not cover all numbers.

They say they cover the USA and Canada but its not true. They do not cover all of Alaska and any other numbers they consider "high Cost".

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
1.6