magicJack

magicJack Plus 2014

Free unlimited local and long distance

Key Features:

  • 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer Choice Award
  • 24/7 customer service – Keep your Phone Number
  • 6 Months Free, then $29.95/yr. or $99.75 for 5 yrs.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $0.00
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

magicJack



Sound Quality
2.847825
Reliability
2.34058
Customer Service
2.34058
Features
2.34058
Price
2.34058
Overall
2.662319

134 Reviews | Write a review

31% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2002

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. magicJack allows you to plug in a device like a USB drive into your computer to make phone calls from your computer.

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Buyer beware: We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read the user reviews here first.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

fineartvideo's picture


Member since:
Oct 2014

xxx.xxx.158.134

MagicJack - A Review

Pros
Cheap. Reliable. Portable. Versatile.
Cons

Magicjack is as reliable as your internet connection. You'll need at least 512K upload speed for this to work well, but more speed allows it to work well even when other devices are sharing bandwith. If your audio starts to break up, it's a sign the internet speed is too slow due to another device hogging too much bandwidth. 256K is the minimum, but than you can't use any other internet device while making a call.

The newer devices work with or without a computer. Without a computer, you need the included AC power pack. But you don't need the AC power pack if you use a computer. The USB port has enough power to operate the device. An added bonus is if you use this with a laptop that has wi-fi, you can bring the magic jack and a phone to any place that has wi-fi and make free calls without plugging cables into power or internet. There are still places in the country where there is no cell service, and this fills in those gaps as long as you're not moving around.

An added bonus not advertised is the ability to use the same phone number in two locations, provided you have two magic jack devices. That means home and office can share one number, or switch to separate numbers when needed. In addition, you can download an app to a smart phone or tablet and that will also share the number when it's within wi-fi range.

Very few services offer free calls to Canada and the US, so if you have people in both countries the calls can all be free with your cheap annual service fee.

Setting up a new device to run on a new magicjack number is simple and fast. But if you need to port in a number, it can be a hassle. As good as the technology is, the support service sucks. And there are no phone numbers to call. You're stuck using a chat service that can take half a day. And that's if you get someone who understands your problem and can figure out a solution.

Bottom line is this. Magicjack makes an excellent inexpensive landline service for people who otherwise would only have a cell phone. Cell phone service can be weak, batteries can die and phones can be lost or stolen. Thirty bucks a year is darn cheap for a backup or second phone line.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
2
Price
5
Overall
4.4
jesse durham's picture


Member since:
Sep 2014

xxx.xxx.3.157

MAJIC JACK LEFT ME HIGH AND DRY

Pros
tHE PRICE IS GOOD
Cons
i HAVE A SON THAT IS ACTIVE MILITARY. i AM DISABLED, THIS IS THE ONLY LINE TO TALK TO HIM. When I had a problem with majic jack they basically said so sorry and now I don't have a phone to talk with him. I wish I would have went with another service.

This problem I have had has taken me 2 months to find out they can't help me. There is no one in this company who is accountable. I think they have sold so many units they don't care but I think one day they will have to think about the people who took them there. What goes around comes around. Jesse Durham

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
1.8
AJS3's picture


Member since:
Sep 2014

xxx.xxx.65.182

Magic Jack Plus works very well

Pros
Works well. Inexpensive. Reliable
Cons
None for me as of yet.

Before purchasing my MJ I did a lot of research to see if something so inexpensive was worth it. I read multiple reviews about how horrible it was and the customer service was non existent. In actuality everything I have experienced is quite the contrary. The unit was easy to set up. The unit makes clear calls and to date one year in service I am so pleased that I purchased a second unit for my office. Most callers do not even notice that I am calling from a VOIP service. I have used their customer service live chat three times and each time my question was answered completely and in my opinion quite competently. I have wired the MJ into my home phone wiring and can pick up any extension and use my MJ flawlessly. I even have my burglar alarm dialing out on the MJ without problem.
I can only assume that the persons who left undesirable comments do not have a working knowledge of computers, the internet or are not tech saavy. In short if you have a very slow internet connection, it would be a given that the system will probably work poorly. Other than that I am quite happy and would recommend it and would purchase additional units if I required additional lines.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
annoyed and disgusted's picture


Member since:
Sep 2014

xxx.xxx.45.99

UNMAGICAL STAFF

Pros
CHEAP
Cons
HORRIBLE STAFF

IF I COULD RATE THIS COMPANY WITH A NEG 10 - I WOULD. AVOID. STAFF COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE UNHELPFUL. 4 different people AND THEIR WEBSITE all told me that my number would port. AFTER 3.5 HOURS ON THEIR HORRID CHAT HELP LINE- I find out that my number will not port.
They truly stink.
oh, and I GET TO PAY FOR THE SHIPPING.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
wayne robinson's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.129.30

Magic Jack plus 2014 NO GO

Pros
Yes it works with conditions
Cons

No customer support, good price we wanted the same phone # in canada & got a florida # .They promised a Canadian phone # & delivered a Florida # how do you save money when all your friends have to phone Florida.We wanted the same phone # didn't want to change,no go.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.4
stansmith44's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.248.246

avoid Magic Jack

Pros
cheap
Cons
Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
stansmith44's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.248.246

avoid Magic Jack

Pros
cheap
Cons
Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
PhoneyMan's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.231.221

MagicJack Works Great

Pros
I've had a original MagicJack since they first came out and I'm still using it today, I've had no problems with it since day one.
Cons
The only con I have is with the IP you might me using..it has failed a few times in these years but the failure has always been with the IP not my computer or the MagicJack.

Once again as stated above: I've had a original MagicJack since they first came out and I'm still using it today, I've had no problems with it since day one. And the only problem with it has always been my Inter Provider connection. Once in a while I get a little noise, but again I know its the IP because I can hang up and do over and no noise. How can you have phone service any cheaper ?? you can't.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
4.4
TheLazyComic's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.186.157

Slightly better than smoke signals. - Magicjack

Pros
The only pro here is the price, and Tragic Jack just raised that. Also, they are now putting fees on top of the price, so one needs to keep this in mind. The audio quality is alright 95% of the time, which I don't consider bad for the price.
Cons
Where do I start. The customer service? That's a joke. These idiots don't have a clue as to what a customer is requesting. My power supply went bad for my Magic Jack Plus? They wanted me to do dances through fire to get a new one from them. It was easier, (and cheaper), just to buy a new power supply from eBay. (And it was a better built one too). If you never have to use their customer "no support", you'll be okay. They just raised the prices too, plus are now adding fees to the prices. I'm need another phone line. Tragic Jack probably won't be my choice.

I have 2 of these devices. I still have the first one that you must plug into the computer to use. Believe it or not, it's the better of the two as far as dependability and quality. Oh.... and if you talk for a long time? (90 minutes seems to be the "magic" number). Tragic Jack will cut your call off... and will not let you redial the number. You'll get a recording saying all lines are busy. The other party can call you back though. I've had the first unit since 2008, and it still works. I've used it on my laptop with 4G connections with no problems. As the old saying goes, ya get what you pay for. Randy, The Lazy Comic.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.8
hooligan's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.171.216

Cheap and a number - Magicjack

Pros
Cheap, gives you a number, can port a number if you want, can get other area code numbers.
Cons
If you want to talk it is not always reliable. Need a fast internet service it would work much better.

I give this number out as my home phone. I hardly plug it in, takes the voice mail and emails it to me. I don't use it for calls I have a cell. Then i someone with something important I can call them back. I also use this number for credit card companies since they are always calling to sell some service. This way I never have to listen to them ring my phone. When it comes time to activate the new card from your home phone I plug it in and call in bingo it is activated.

I will give them this: The quality has greatly improved over when I first started with them way back when 5 or 6 years ago. ALSO, if you call 800 numbers they capture your number you are calling from so I use the magic jack for that since I have no desire for these sales people to have my cell number.

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
3.6