magicJack

magicJack Plus 2014

Free unlimited local and long distance

Key Features:

  • 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer Choice Award
  • 24/7 customer service – Keep your Phone Number
  • 6 Months Free, then $29.95/yr. or $99.75 for 5 yrs.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $0.00
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You
Sound Quality
2.811475
Reliability
2.286885
Customer Service
2.286885
Features
2.286885
Price
2.286885
Overall
2.62459

118 Reviews | Write a review

30% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2002

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. magicJack allows you to plug in a device like a USB drive into your computer to make phone calls from your computer.

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Buyer beware: We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read the user reviews here first.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

holland7000's picture


Member since:
Apr 2014

xxx.xxx.9.84

MagicJack Device breaks down after use 6 months use

Pros
At the start the price was wonderful, and easy installation.
Cons
They get you in with the "low cost" but quality and real availability of the service is not always there.

The device breaks down and the customer has already prepaid for the product. Very often can't hear clearly and the service is not available or is down.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
1.2
pommystew's picture


Member since:
Apr 2014

xxx.xxx.2.192

Avoid the Magic Jack

Pros
Great product, if you use it at home only (via good broadband internet) and don't try to use it via 3G/4G.
Cons
The company should win an aware for the worst customer service in the world.

In brief, at the end of my year contract I wanted to renew. Got to be honest, when it worked, it was pretty good. However I have spent five months (not every day obviously) trying to renew my plan. Tried everything, spent hours with their customer service people, their payment system would not accept any of my valid cards. In the end, I gave up. Put the magic jack into the bin. Seriously shouldn't be impossible to pay a company some money?! Avoid this product at all costs - if something goes wrong, you have wasted your money. And it will go wrong.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
1.6
Mike Calder's picture


Member since:
Apr 2014

xxx.xxx.19.35

MagicJack international - OK

Pros
Cheap
Cons
If you have any balance on your prepaid international card they take it.

The international prepaid service was OK, except when I went to use it they said I had no balance. I'd put $40 in and hadn't hardly used the service. Turns out if the balance had been there for over 6 months, you forfeit it. Seemed harsh. No emails, not warnings that it's almost 6 months and they're about the take your money. It's just gone.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
3
Features
2
Customer Service
2
Price
4
Overall
2.8
estephen5's picture


Member since:
Apr 2014

xxx.xxx.209.166

Magic Jack Rip Off

Pros
First year sound quality was excellent. Setup and use were very simple.
Cons
After I renewed after the first year I started getting messages that I need prepaid minutes to utilize work conference lines that I had been using for a year with no issues.

I used the magic jack for the first year with no issues, mainly for work while working from home. After I renewed for 5 years I got recordings that I now had to purchase minutes to call conference lines for work that I had been using with no issues for the past year.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
3
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.4
Jmach11's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.67.166

Does not work as advertised - Magicjack

Pros
Cons

The phone quality of the MagicJack leaves much to be desired. Sometimes it is fine and other times it is terrible. Also, I upgraded to the MagicJack Plus so that I didn't have to keep my computer on to use the phone. The first MagicJack Plus that I received worked fine for about six months. Then it stopped working. I had to pay fee to replace the old one. The new one never worked when it was plugged into a wall socket and not to the computer. The MagicJack Plus is a piece of junk!

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
1.8
mohan's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.146.4

Magicjack - bad customer care

Pros
Nothing other than Cheap
Cons
Bad Customer service; cheap business

I paid $20 for international phone and I haven't used it for a while- my account is still active but they deleted my credit.
The customer care person is not caring customers or the company's stock holders.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
1.2
AlanInAustin's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.65.223

Continuing intermittent failures and *terrible* support

Pros
Inexpensive -- if you keep it long enough to pay for the hardware Chat support Portability to other locations
Cons
- Monthly price sounded cheap, but didn't tell me that didn't include the box and additional 5-year license. - Inbound calls sometimes don't get connected - Support is *terrible* in terms of competency; save time and just do a power-reset as that's all they can tell you.

Don't be fooled - the price isn't as low as they say nor is the service as good.

We got MJ and it installed with ease. As we began to have connection problems, I thought it best to power cycle the MJ+ device (which connects from the router to the phone's wall jack). When I touched it, it was *hot*! Going online, I found some other people experienced that as well and found their service also suffered. "Eureka!", I thought, "that's why people are calling us and finding nobody home even though we're here and nobody's on the phone." I followed the recommendation of using a long USB cable to separate the MJ device from the transformer. Things improved somewhat but the problems remained.

I got MJ support on chat - that's the only way to reach them as MJ doesn't give out any email addresses - and they suggested power cycling the MJ device and the router. After going through that same song and dance for multiple sessions, I finally demanded they connect me to Level 2 support or else I'd drop my account. Level 2 joined chat and walked me through changes to several router settings. Over the next several months things got no better.

I contacted support and again asked for their help. I gave them specific times and dates when callers attempted to reach us and couldn't, even though we were home and the phone was not in use. I asked them to please check and see what return code or message their server received to not complete the call. (For example, were you not able to even connect to our router? Were you able to connect to the router, but not the MJ device? Were you able to connect to both the router and MJ device but not the phone line itself?) Their answer was simple: just power cycle your router and MJ device. They would not hear of anything further or discuss anything which might actually get to the root of **why** this was happening. I'm going elsewhere.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
rileys's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.170.125

WEB purchase of MagicJack Plus. No assistance needed.

Pros
Can be ordered from the internet, no customer service needed Easy to set up, instructions clear Everything necessary to start using the product came with it
Cons
MagicJack plus charges a yearly fee to keep your transfer telephone number. This seems unreasonable and unnecessary

MagicJack ordered from the internet. I know it could be purchased elsewhere but it saved me the time to go out and get it.

MagicJack works as advertised. Clear sound, no distortion. No dropped calls. I was on a conference call for over an hour last week. Clear sound with no issues.

I can only speak of course about my particular experience but MagicJack replaced my bundled cable telephone service and works extremely well and is reliable.

The transfer of your home number is very easy, takes about 10 business days before you can receive calls.

Once I had magicjack plus up and running I cancelled by phone service with the cable provider. Also I was able to realize additional savings because I was no longer tied to the cable providers voice modem. I bought my own that will pay for itself in under a year.

There should be no fear in moving to the magicjack plus service. It might seem like it is too good to be true. However MagicJack works exactly as advertised.

I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to replace their expensive bundled cable telephone service. You are already use to using in internet provided phone. This one is no different other then it costs a lot less.

Note I often have my home computer turned off. MagicJack Plus works without the need for the computer to be on.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
CustomerAvocate13's picture


Member since:
Feb 2014

xxx.xxx.58.56

MagicJack - BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE: YOU"RE ON YOUR OWN

Pros
Not sure, since customer service could never assist in getting this setup on my computer.
Cons
I must say, that this was one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had! The agent had difficulty understanding my request so asked me over and over to repeat what I had already TYPED out. I really found it annoying that there is no phone number to call to speak to someone. I found that when you call, you are basically speaking to someone who knows iittle or nothing about the product and have EXTREMELY POOR customer service skills. My agent actually began speak ill of me because she couldn't explain how to resolve the issue. I waited 20-25 minutes for an experienced agent to come on the line!!!! She was better, but still didn't resolve the issue with my set up then abruptly ended the call by letting me know that they are CLOSED! If customer support is important to you then this is not the product or company for you! ugh!!!

Found good reviews, but they were not supported by my experience with the product or the company! Be careful, they appear to have hidden costs associated with the use of this product. They make many claims online and on their packaging, but it's different once you install their MagicJack device.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
Frannie Fargo's picture


Member since:
Jan 2014

xxx.xxx.128.10

Magic Jack 20 minute calls then cuts off.

Pros
good for short calls. anything over 20 minutes gets cut off and you can call the same number back again for about 5 minutes and then cuts off.
Cons
needed it for once a month one hour conference call for work, not to run up my phone bill. only worked for 20 minutes.

i bought a magic jack to use about once a month for a one hour conference call for work. the phone quit after 20 minutes of talk time. after that i could call for about 5 minutes and then it hung up on me again and that was it for that number that day. after this, i tried it with talking to friends. yes, you get a 20 minute phone limit per call per phone number per day. i got a free phone number from text plus, free (after a few ads) and can talk for hours. bye-bye MJ, i got rooked out out of $40. but now all the wiser for it.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2