magicJack

magicJack Plus 2014

Free unlimited local and long distance

Key Features:

  • 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer Choice Award
  • 24/7 customer service – Keep your Phone Number
  • 6 Months Free, then $29.95/yr. or $99.75 for 5 yrs.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $0.00
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

magicJack



Sound Quality
2.838235
Reliability
2.33088
Customer Service
2.33088
Features
2.33088
Price
2.33088
Overall
2.655882

132 Reviews | Write a review

31% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2002

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. magicJack allows you to plug in a device like a USB drive into your computer to make phone calls from your computer.

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Buyer beware: We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicjack read the user reviews here first.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

AJS3's picture


Member since:
Sep 2014

xxx.xxx.65.182

Magic Jack Plus works very well

Pros
Works well. Inexpensive. Reliable
Cons
None for me as of yet.

Before purchasing my MJ I did a lot of research to see if something so inexpensive was worth it. I read multiple reviews about how horrible it was and the customer service was non existent. In actuality everything I have experienced is quite the contrary. The unit was easy to set up. The unit makes clear calls and to date one year in service I am so pleased that I purchased a second unit for my office. Most callers do not even notice that I am calling from a VOIP service. I have used their customer service live chat three times and each time my question was answered completely and in my opinion quite competently. I have wired the MJ into my home phone wiring and can pick up any extension and use my MJ flawlessly. I even have my burglar alarm dialing out on the MJ without problem.
I can only assume that the persons who left undesirable comments do not have a working knowledge of computers, the internet or are not tech saavy. In short if you have a very slow internet connection, it would be a given that the system will probably work poorly. Other than that I am quite happy and would recommend it and would purchase additional units if I required additional lines.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
annoyed and disgusted's picture


Member since:
Sep 2014

xxx.xxx.45.99

UNMAGICAL STAFF

Pros
CHEAP
Cons
HORRIBLE STAFF

IF I COULD RATE THIS COMPANY WITH A NEG 10 - I WOULD. AVOID. STAFF COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE UNHELPFUL. 4 different people AND THEIR WEBSITE all told me that my number would port. AFTER 3.5 HOURS ON THEIR HORRID CHAT HELP LINE- I find out that my number will not port.
They truly stink.
oh, and I GET TO PAY FOR THE SHIPPING.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
wayne robinson's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.129.30

Magic Jack plus 2014 NO GO

Pros
Yes it works with conditions
Cons

No customer support, good price we wanted the same phone # in canada & got a florida # .They promised a Canadian phone # & delivered a Florida # how do you save money when all your friends have to phone Florida.We wanted the same phone # didn't want to change,no go.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.4
stansmith44's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.248.246

avoid Magic Jack

Pros
cheap
Cons
Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
stansmith44's picture


Member since:
Aug 2014

xxx.xxx.248.246

avoid Magic Jack

Pros
cheap
Cons
Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Their customer service is really awful. Basically, "We don't care." Now magic Jack has a new dial pad that continually pops up on your computer, even after you minimize it. You have to unplug magic jack to use your computer. Before MJ was ok. Now I can't use it, and they won't fix it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
PhoneyMan's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.231.221

MagicJack Works Great

Pros
I've had a original MagicJack since they first came out and I'm still using it today, I've had no problems with it since day one.
Cons
The only con I have is with the IP you might me using..it has failed a few times in these years but the failure has always been with the IP not my computer or the MagicJack.

Once again as stated above: I've had a original MagicJack since they first came out and I'm still using it today, I've had no problems with it since day one. And the only problem with it has always been my Inter Provider connection. Once in a while I get a little noise, but again I know its the IP because I can hang up and do over and no noise. How can you have phone service any cheaper ?? you can't.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
4.4
TheLazyComic's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.186.157

Slightly better than smoke signals. - Magicjack

Pros
The only pro here is the price, and Tragic Jack just raised that. Also, they are now putting fees on top of the price, so one needs to keep this in mind. The audio quality is alright 95% of the time, which I don't consider bad for the price.
Cons
Where do I start. The customer service? That's a joke. These idiots don't have a clue as to what a customer is requesting. My power supply went bad for my Magic Jack Plus? They wanted me to do dances through fire to get a new one from them. It was easier, (and cheaper), just to buy a new power supply from eBay. (And it was a better built one too). If you never have to use their customer "no support", you'll be okay. They just raised the prices too, plus are now adding fees to the prices. I'm need another phone line. Tragic Jack probably won't be my choice.

I have 2 of these devices. I still have the first one that you must plug into the computer to use. Believe it or not, it's the better of the two as far as dependability and quality. Oh.... and if you talk for a long time? (90 minutes seems to be the "magic" number). Tragic Jack will cut your call off... and will not let you redial the number. You'll get a recording saying all lines are busy. The other party can call you back though. I've had the first unit since 2008, and it still works. I've used it on my laptop with 4G connections with no problems. As the old saying goes, ya get what you pay for. Randy, The Lazy Comic.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.8
hooligan's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.171.216

Cheap and a number - Magicjack

Pros
Cheap, gives you a number, can port a number if you want, can get other area code numbers.
Cons
If you want to talk it is not always reliable. Need a fast internet service it would work much better.

I give this number out as my home phone. I hardly plug it in, takes the voice mail and emails it to me. I don't use it for calls I have a cell. Then i someone with something important I can call them back. I also use this number for credit card companies since they are always calling to sell some service. This way I never have to listen to them ring my phone. When it comes time to activate the new card from your home phone I plug it in and call in bingo it is activated.

I will give them this: The quality has greatly improved over when I first started with them way back when 5 or 6 years ago. ALSO, if you call 800 numbers they capture your number you are calling from so I use the magic jack for that since I have no desire for these sales people to have my cell number.

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
3.6
qhbohuci's picture


Member since:
Jul 2014

xxx.xxx.141.190

Terrible service and customer support! - Magicjack

Pros
Cheap
Cons
Terrible quality, terrible support, hidden fees!

I have used magic jack for several years. From day one I've had terrible service (dropped calls, when calling my MJ number, can't hear the caller, trouble dialing out, terrible voice quality). I have replaced my magic Jack device, later upgraded to two newer devices and still no improvement. My internet connection of 25/5 is great too, which they insisted was slow. MJ device connected directly to the router.

I was very patient with the (chat) tech support which is most likely located outside of US and seemed to copy/paste pre typed responses that did not make any sense.

When I signed up for Magic Jack service I was provided Terms of Service (TOS) that I had to agree to in order to proceed with the service. Nowhere in the TOS it stated that I must also review and agree to what is listed in Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Right now after many failed attempts of improving my terrible Magic Jack phone service. I have no other option but switch to a different career. When I requested a phone number port out, I was told that I must pay a port out fee of $30 as listed in FAQs. Any attempt to discuss a waive of this fee was unsuccessful and the support agent simply referred to the FAQs and ended the chat.

I would strongly discourage anyone from using Magic Jack, do your research there are many alternatives with much better phone service quality and better customer support.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2
starkmtnstudio's picture


Member since:
Jun 2014

xxx.xxx.192.54

Don't Bother! - Magicjack

Pros
It all sounds great in theory...
Cons
It does not work in reality... if you have satellite internet

As soon as I decided to try this device I got a really bad taste in my mouth for the company because of the way the push-push-push the sales on you for extended service, rate plans, insurance, faster delivery.. non-stop. I said no to all of them and still got it within 3 days.

I tried to get it to work putting hours into it over several days and nothing. I finally disconnected it as I was going out of town. Then I tried it again, and again. They say you can have it hooked up and using it within a few minutes. Finally I tried it again... same problems... did the on-line chat thing for over 2 hours. Finally the person said "Do you have satellite?" Well, yes I do.

Oh, our device does not work with satellite. OH REALLY! Why doesn't it clearly state that on your web site? Oh it does, but she could never point me to where it says anything like that.

Long story short, I've lost about 8 hours fooling around with this, which is even more valuable than my $70 - $49.99 plus handling and shipping - that I am now past the 30 days and they won't refund.

This is just a BAD and GREEDY company - I'd stay away if I were you.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1