MagicJack Reviews – More than a Bargain

magicJack

magicJack Reviews

Are you interested in magicJack?
Find out what our users have to say:

Sound Quality
2.8773
Reliability
2.34356
Customer Service
1.80368
Features
2.58282
Price
3.77914
Overall
2.667925

159 Reviews

Want to add your own review of magicJack to the record?

Note: If you would like to leave a review for magicJack, please go to the review page.

magicJack Revealed

What is magicJack?

A magicJack is a small device that allows you to make Internet phone calls for cheap prices. As winners of the 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer's Choice Award for Overall Best VoIP Service Provider, we are happy to have them as one of our paid sponsors.

As of 2014, magicJack costs $49.95 plus shipping and handling. You get 6 months of calling free to the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Additional years cost $29.95.

How does magicJack work?

One of magicJack's top selling points is its ease of installation.

  1. Plug your phone into the magicJack
  2. Plug the magicJack into your computer
  3. Start making calls

Is there a special magicJack phone?

Nope! The magicJack device is what's known in the industry as an analog telephone adapter (ATA). You won't need a special phone in order to use magicJack.

What do you think of magicJack?

Though some users have found issues with magicJack, we firmly believe that they offer the cheapest and most cost-effective service available in the Industry. Here are a couple reasons why:

1. Lowest Monthly Rates

Setting aside the fact that the first 6 months of phone service with magicJack are absolutely free, monthly rates are available for as little as $2.50 per month. Prices like that are extremely hard to complain about, and even some of our most scathing magicJack reviews still rate magicJack with 5 stars in the price category.

2. Cheap Equipment

Any way you slice it, $49.95 is a great price to pay for the complete setup of a VoIP phone service that uses your existing phones. Other VoIP companies require specialized IP phones that can cost over $100, and an ATA adapter alone is often more than $50.

Even if the device runs into a problem and needs to be replaced, the low cost takes most of the sting out of a new purchase. In fact, with the money you'll save with magicJack's low monthly rate, the device practically pays for itself.

3. Easy to Use

MagicJack is designed for people who have never heard of VoIP in the first place, and want a simple plug-and-play device that works right away. That's exactly what magicJack offers, and the new magicJack PLUS offers even more options. The old device required a constant connection to a computer to work, but the new one only needs to do so once to register. After that, just plug it into the wall and feel free to shut the computer off. The video below outlines how to use magicJack without a computer.

Previously the magicJack software was been reported by some as very difficult to remove. MagicJack software now comes with an easier to access uninstall option, so this point is no longer valid.

MagicJack Customer Service

Unfortunately, magicJack does not have a customer service hotline. That means that the only way to resolve a service issue is through a high-traffic chat room, which occasionally has a slow response time as a result. Fortunately, the device is easy to install, so you'll likely never need the support. If you run into trouble, our best advice is to be patient with the chat, and see if the issue lies with your router configuration or Internet speed in the meantime.

If everything checks out and the chat system seems frustrating, just try doing something else for a while and wait for the chat system to get back to you. You can watch one of the many fan-made YouTube videos for magicJack support, try one of the links below to see if your issue is answered there, or even take care of checking your email while you wait. Sometimes, the best option is to simply wait a few hours for the peak traffic to die down, so that the support team has more time to dedicate to your needs. Either way, spending an hour or two researching and fixing any issues with the magicJack adapter is definitely worth the amount of money that you're saving with .

Third-party magicJack Support

There are also some helpful blogs posts that we've found on how to use magicJack if you still encounter trouble:

Tech support numbers from Rip's Domain

Tech support questions and answers from Technical Musings

Overall Analysis

magicJackIn the end, and despite the issues that customers raise about magicJack service, we feel that magicJack still offers one of the best possible options for Residential VoIP service, especially for someone new to VoIP. The extremely low monthly rate for unlimited phone calls is impossible to ignore, and the ease of installation further makes the case that magicJack's barebones VoIP service is one of the best in the industry. With the 6 months of free calling that comes with service, you can't afford to not switch to magicJack today!

magicJack reviews on voipreview.org

Don't take our word for it. We've got over 100 magicJack reviews for real magicJack customers. See what magicJack users have to say.

If you have used magicJack, here's you should do: Write a review. We could use your voice on our website.

ratemyphone's picture


Member since:
Jun 2015

xxx.xxx.64.91

Magic Jack

Pros
Cheap - However one gets what one pays for
Cons
Multiple issues. Frequently calls cannot get through. Calls are dropped during conversation; sometimes numerous times. Have to keep calling back. Issues with calls not going out.

I paid to keep my same phone number prior to going with Magic Jack and now I had to pay $32.34 to port my number out. The only company that I know of the does this. Buyer beware!!!

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
3
sallygifford829@gmail.com's picture


Member since:
Jun 2015

xxx.xxx.22.246

Dont waste your money on MagicJack its horrible!

Pros
They change the price when you go to pay, it brakes in 6-9 monyths ends up costing as much as any service plan yet theres no customer support, just a bunch of idiots who irritate you and don't fix the problem
Cons
horrible, not cheap at all in the long run it breaks so often and doesn't work after a short while cant call out keeps saying need the area code or other problems , you try to get tech support almost non existent, it really is horrid I hate it and wish I never wasted mu money on this crap with horrid customer support,, you should save your money and headaches don't bother with magic jack Ive wasted my money 2x on it it never lasts more than a few months then stops working..so you don't even get your moneys woth, cost me at least $10/mo w what I paid and got. about 10 months of aggrevation also with it..

horrid MajicJack IS THE WORST EVER, WORST TECH SUPPORT OR NONEXISTENT, AND JUST SHEAR AGGREVATION AND WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY DONT BUY IT! DONT BUY THIS SUCKY PRODUCT

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
MaryM's picture


Member since:
May 2015

xxx.xxx.229.36

MJ Great for me - MagicJack

Pros
-Normal call quality, dependable! -Cheap! -Low cost international can be used from home number OR another added number, like a cell (with access code) -Newer router-plugged MJs don't depend on computer being on/logged in to function - fixed my main gripe with MJ. -Voicemail to email inbox is very handy. -Account interface on website has most everything one needs for management/maintenance.
Cons
-A couple of people's cell phones can't be heard when they call, consistently. Carrier issue? I just call them back. -There is a fee for 911 and to keep a ported number. It is affordable, but I was not aware of this initially. -Caller ID doesn't always display caller information -Old/original MJ has desktop screen that pops-up/activates every time a call comes in or that a call is made. Very disruptive as I often was typing at the time (I downloaded MJ service creator to fix this which makes it run as a windows service). Newer MJs that plug into the router like GO or PLUS don't have this pop-up screen. -*Old/original MJ was a problem if my computer rebooted in the middle of the night after an update, or after a power disruption, as MJ was not on (no phone service!) if the computer wasn't on and logged in. I would miss important early morning calls because I didn't realize my computer was off. Resolved with new, router plugged MJs. -Must be persistent with customer service if there are issues.

Has been great for my family! Extremely affordable and has been dependable for several years. I had to cut my budget extremely several years back, and this was step number one. I don't notice a quality or dependability difference (exceptions noted) from standard phone line.

The only real issue is that a couple of people who call me from their cell phones get through and can hear me, but I can't hear them. I usually can guess or see who it is and call them back, with no problems hearing. Caller ID doesn't always come through, but usually does.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
5
Overall
4.6
jobie's picture


Member since:
Apr 2015

xxx.xxx.93.67

Magic Jack Hell

Pros
Cheap enough but you get what you pay for
Cons
Customer service stinks

I upgraded my magic jack from one you plug into comp. to one you just plug into router. The yearly charges did not go from one to the other even though it was the same phone number. Half the time my service was not working and ended up where I just disconnected it as it was unreliable. Then I got an email from hell from them saying my subscription is set to auto renew in the next 60 days. First of all, I never auto renew anything. I prefer to pay for services when I know I have the money.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
Jepp's picture


Member since:
Mar 2015

xxx.xxx.14.122

Works great for me - Magicjack

Pros
Inexpensive. Reliable. Great sound quality. Portable to travel with. Easy setup.
Cons
Customer service is on chat line. Never really had a problem with it but live customer support would be nice. Lacks a few of the call features of the big phone companies like caller name showing up, true call conferencing. But these are minor things I can live with.

I really don't understand all the negative reviews. Many complain about porting their numbers. If you follow their directions it goes flawlessly. It did for me.

Most connection problems are due to the quality of your internet service not the MJ.

I am extremely satisfied with my MJ. I have had mine from the very first edition to the 2014 model. All have worked great for me.

Being that the MJ is inexpensive as is the phone service you can't complain much about it. No big phone company can match the cost of using MJ phone service.

MJ I feel is the easiest to set up and use.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
4.4
Kathib's picture


Member since:
Mar 2015

xxx.xxx.185.11

Don't waste your time - magicjack

Pros
Affordable
Cons
Costs to port out. Customer service information is not accurate.

Don't waste your time or your money. I called to inquire about porting my phone number to a different carrier and was told there was no cost, but that it should be done before my service deactivated. I did so. Not only did they NOT port my number, but I had to pay $5 to reactivate my account for another month, and pay a $30 porting fee. Such a scam. They do not honor what they tell you. This is such a scam. My service was poor when I had it. Could not get calls in, they went right to voice mail. It may not cost a lot, but honestly, you get what you pay for.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
1.4
dwilderva's picture


Member since:
Feb 2015

xxx.xxx.20.121

Magic Jack hidden fees

Pros
easy to install and the technicians working the on line chat for technical support try their best.
Cons
They don't advertise that they will charge you 10 dollars to keep (port) your current number I tried for 43 days to use the product. I was so disappointed in the service. Every time I made a call I would get disconnected and have to call back just to get cut off again.

After 43 days of struggling to get magic jack to work- I finally gave up and went back to my old provider. Imaging my surprise when I was charged $32.34 to port my number back to my old service provider. I checked the magic jack help section of their web page and looked up this question and answer:

Question: Is there a cancellation or early termination fee?
NO. If you choose to stop using magicJack, there are no cancellation, early termination, penalty or other fees.

I believe I should not have been charge a fee to port my number back since the site says "or other fees".

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2
ilanbloom's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.180.125

Affordable but... Magicjack

Pros
Affordable and you can port your existing number. I would recommend over the previous service I had through CenturyLink. I was being charged $46 a month for a landline.
Cons
Too many to list...but here are a few: A. You will receive more spam calls than you can possibly imagine. 2-15 a day. B. You will need to dial a 1 before calling any number, local and long distance. C. Certain US numbers, including several local number, are not accessible. D. You will encounter hidden fees, such as an international connection fee that is not mentioned anywhere and will drain your credit quickly, 911 yearly fee, needing to purchase international calling credit to dial certain US numbers, credit you buy for international calling will be applied only to your home phone but not to the mobile app that is linked to your home phone number. This requires a second purchase of credit. And on and on. E. Customer service is in the Philippines. Good English, nice reps, but they are not the company and will not be able to resolve issues. The company seems to not be listening to its customers.

Beware of this provider. Unclear policies, hidden fees and many short fallings make for a not-so-great experience. The system is set up to make money for the company and not to provide a good calling service. They get you to sign up and then provide crappy service.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
2
Price
3
Overall
2.6
sofisintown's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.18.5

MAGIC JACK- EXCELLENT VALUE!

Pros
Email notice for voicemail, loud and clear, use over the computer or handset, easy set up. You get to choose your number.
Cons
None

I had Magic Jack for a year now for home phone, and I am very satisfied with it. I do not have answering machine, but the voicemail service of Magic Jack always sends me an email when I have a message waiting. Over all it is an excellent value for $ 35.00 a year!
I took it with me and used it on a trip, and I saved a bundle by not paying roaming charges on my cell.
I recommend it to everyone!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
sonia sosa's picture


Member since:
Jan 2015

xxx.xxx.61.184

I HAVE BOUGHT 5 MAGIC JACKS AND ARE SCAMM

Pros
WELL THEY WORK WHEN YOU BUY IT AND ARE GOOD FOR iNTRNATIONAL CALLING.
Cons
WHEN THE ONE YEAR OR THE 6 MONTHS FREE WHEN YOU BUY THE DEVICE , i TRY TO RENEW IT LIKE THEY SAY, AND NEVER CAN DO IT, IT KEEP ME ASKING THE PAYMENT AND CHARGING TO MY CARD, AND i KEEP TRYING HUNDREDS OF TIMES AND THEY CONTINUE ASKING ME FOR THE SAME THING AND NEVER NEVER RENEW THE SERVICE, THEY NEVER CHARGE MY CARD, AND I HAD TO GO AND BUY A NEW DEVICE, BUT TO PAY ALMOST 50 DOLLARS AS i PAY IN A vACAVILLE cALIFORNIA rADIO sHACK STORE AND AFTER SIX MONTHS, WHEN THEY TOLD TO RENEW, THE SAME, ALWAYS THE SAME, IMAGINE I HAVE ALREADY 5 DEVICES, CHANGING NUMBER EVERY TIME, CHANGING CREDIT CARDS, CHANGING E MAILS, SO THEY ACCEPT THE NEW DEVICE, FOR ME THIS MAGIC JACK COMPANY ARE SCAMMERS, BECAUSE THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO A BUNCH OF FRIENDS.

WHEN THE ONE YEAR OR THE 6 MONTHS FREE WHEN YOU BUY THE DEVICE , i TRY TO RENEW IT LIKE THEY SAY, AND NEVER CAN DO IT, IT KEEP ME ASKING THE PAYMENT AND CHARGING TO MY CARD, AND i KEEP TRYING HUNDREDS OF TIMES AND THEY CONTINUE ASKING ME FOR THE SAME THING AND NEVER NEVER RENEW THE SERVICE, THEY NEVER CHARGE MY CARD, AND I HAD TO GO AND BUY A NEW DEVICE, BUT TO PAY ALMOST 50 DOLLARS AS i PAY IN A vACAVILLE cALIFORNIA rADIO sHACK STORE AND AFTER SIX MONTHS, WHEN THEY TOLD TO RENEW, THE SAME, ALWAYS THE SAME, IMAGINE I HAVE ALREADY 5 DEVICES, CHANGING NUMBER EVERY TIME, CHANGING CREDIT CARDS, C

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
5
Price
3
Overall
3
Join the conversation about magicJack

Have something to say? Leave a comment about magicJack.

Have you used magicJack's service? Write a review. You can help other prospective customers make a good decision.