MagicJack Reviews – More than a Bargain

magicJack

magicJack Reviews

Are you interested in magicJack?
Find out what our users have to say:

Sound Quality
2.853335
Reliability
2.313335
Customer Service
1.746665
Features
2.573335
Price
3.766665
Overall
2.639725

146 Reviews

Want to add your own review of magicJack to the record?

Note: If you would like to leave a review for magicJack, please go to the review page.

magicJack Revealed

What is magicJack?

A magicJack is a small device that allows you to make Internet phone calls for cheap prices. As winners of the 2013 Frost & Sullivan Consumer's Choice Award for Overall Best VoIP Service Provider, we are happy to have them as one of our paid sponsors.

As of 2014, magicJack costs $49.95 plus shipping and handling. You get 6 months of calling free to the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Additional years cost $29.95.

How does magicJack work?

One of magicJack's top selling points is its ease of installation.

  1. Plug your phone into the magicJack
  2. Plug the magicJack into your computer
  3. Start making calls

Is there a special magicJack phone?

Nope! The magicJack device is what's known in the industry as an analog telephone adapter (ATA). You won't need a special phone in order to use magicJack.

What do you think of magicJack?

Though some users have found issues with magicJack, we firmly believe that they offer the cheapest and most cost-effective service available in the Industry. Here are a couple reasons why:

1. Lowest Monthly Rates

Setting aside the fact that the first 6 months of phone service with magicJack are absolutely free, monthly rates are available for as little as $2.50 per month. Prices like that are extremely hard to complain about, and even some of our most scathing magicJack reviews still rate magicJack with 5 stars in the price category.

2. Cheap Equipment

Any way you slice it, $49.95 is a great price to pay for the complete setup of a VoIP phone service that uses your existing phones. Other VoIP companies require specialized IP phones that can cost over $100, and an ATA adapter alone is often more than $50.

Even if the device runs into a problem and needs to be replaced, the low cost takes most of the sting out of a new purchase. In fact, with the money you'll save with magicJack's low monthly rate, the device practically pays for itself.

3. Easy to Use

MagicJack is designed for people who have never heard of VoIP in the first place, and want a simple plug-and-play device that works right away. That's exactly what magicJack offers, and the new magicJack PLUS offers even more options. The old device required a constant connection to a computer to work, but the new one only needs to do so once to register. After that, just plug it into the wall and feel free to shut the computer off. The video below outlines how to use magicJack without a computer.

Previously the magicJack software was been reported by some as very difficult to remove. MagicJack software now comes with an easier to access uninstall option, so this point is no longer valid.

MagicJack Customer Service

Unfortunately, magicJack does not have a customer service hotline. That means that the only way to resolve a service issue is through a high-traffic chat room, which occasionally has a slow response time as a result. Fortunately, the device is easy to install, so you'll likely never need the support. If you run into trouble, our best advice is to be patient with the chat, and see if the issue lies with your router configuration or Internet speed in the meantime.

If everything checks out and the chat system seems frustrating, just try doing something else for a while and wait for the chat system to get back to you. You can watch one of the many fan-made YouTube videos for magicJack support, try one of the links below to see if your issue is answered there, or even take care of checking your email while you wait. Sometimes, the best option is to simply wait a few hours for the peak traffic to die down, so that the support team has more time to dedicate to your needs. Either way, spending an hour or two researching and fixing any issues with the magicJack adapter is definitely worth the amount of money that you're saving with .

Third-party magicJack Support

There are also some helpful blogs posts that we've found on how to use magicJack if you still encounter trouble:

Tech support numbers from Rip's Domain

Tech support questions and answers from Technical Musings

Overall Analysis

magicJackIn the end, and despite the issues that customers raise about magicJack service, we feel that magicJack still offers one of the best possible options for Residential VoIP service, especially for someone new to VoIP. The extremely low monthly rate for unlimited phone calls is impossible to ignore, and the ease of installation further makes the case that magicJack's barebones VoIP service is one of the best in the industry. With the 6 months of free calling that comes with service, you can't afford to not switch to magicJack today!

magicJack reviews on voipreview.org

Don't take our word for it. We've got over 100 magicJack reviews for real magicJack customers. See what magicJack users have to say.

If you have used magicJack, here's you should do: Write a review. We could use your voice on our website.

Texas Lady's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.179.124

Magic Jack FRAUD!!!!

Pros
NONE!!!
Cons
Crystal clear sound, great customer service, $5.00/Month Plan

I had an old (1st generation Magic Jack) unit. I needed to use a phone and my cell was not working, so I decided to try my old magic jack. I plugged it into my laptop and decided to use the free trail for $5.00 for 30 days. Prior to the 30 days (12/17/2014) they send me an email stating they will bill my credit card $37.73 Renewal on 12/20/2014. I had been charged for a renewal that I didn't authorize. They claim it will take 1 to 2 business days before they can refund my money. This is fraud. I have filed a complaint with the Texas Attorney General as well as Consumer Affairs.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
Alincollin's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.182.84

Stay away. Not usable - MagicJack

Pros
Cost
Cons
Unusable. No customer service

I ported my number from Vonage and was essentially trapped. The calls would directly go to answering. You can only get in touch with support by chat and every time I was told to just power cycle. Does not help. I'm back with Vonage and regret trying these guys out. I guess you get what you pay for

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.4
cestlevie's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.25.191

Love my Magic Jack

Pros
Inexpensive, reliable, portable
Cons
lack of customer service

I like that I can get my calls at home to my cell phone as I travel for work. I love that it is so inexpensive also. I had Vonage before for 5 years and when I changed to Magic Jack I didn't notice a difference in sound quality. I've had Magic Jack for 3 years and am getting ready to purchase another year.I don't like the fact that there isn't any customer service to speak of. Also, people who call when I'm on another line cannot leave a message. It just keeps ringing and ringing until they hang up if I don't answer the call.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.6
dglinx's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.101.103

DO NOT BUY MAGICJACK PDODUCTS

Pros
Easy setup. Sound quality is good.
Cons
Customer service is not existent. Web customer portal is very poorly designed. Everything is geared up towards marketing and sales but NOT towards customer account management! No free Conference calls as advertised.

The CUSTOMER SERVICE DOES NOT EXIST!!! I had two accounts. One for my iPhone and one for my LAN Line with 5-year subscription. While making modifications to my iPhone account one of their "Technical Support Representatives" by accident disabled my both accounts. She did not have a clue on how to reinstate it??? I have lost my business line. It has happened on August of 2014. After numerous messaging (No Phone Support. Only Web) and many different levels of "Support" they never got it working. Still No Dial Tone as of this review writing! It is Already December of 2014.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.8
daya78's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.131.157

Don't port your number to or from MagicJack ever!

Pros
It is cheap.
Cons
Voice quality is poor. Customer service is abysmal. Website is very uninformative and it's impossible to get someone on Live Chat.

I joined and cancelled within the trail period. Unfortunately, I decided to port my phone in and out. That was a huge mistake. I understand there are fees for porting in, but when I wanted to port out, I was dinged another $30 for that. So basically if you decide to port in and out you end up paying as much as you did for the MagicJack for a year!! I can't even change my mind now since I mailed the device.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.2
jpmwriter's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.208.62

Wasted Money on MajicJack Purchase!

Pros
Price good, if only it worked!
Cons
Too many cons to list! A MJ tech did spend time on chat, testing my connections, then finally announced that there is no guarantee when one is using a satellite company for internet. I live in a rural area, no cable providers here, so Dish is my only choice. I can hear whomever I call perfectly, but they can never hear me and always comment how I am breaking up too badly to continue call, etc. Using headset or plugging in my phone seems to make no difference; I have tried all possible settings.

Beware of third party MJ tech services. I called one, and he accessed my pc, only to place a mysterious password on it when I recognized I was being scammed. He wanted $500 or more to fix! I had to take my pc to a professional, as no one could reboot or sign back into my computer anymore. Lost most of my saved data.... Huge expense and inconvenience. If I had the time and energy, I would research and sue this particular company, and know I would win in court.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
1.4
Tekmark's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.181.228

Great service for a Navy dad. - Magicjack

Pros
Good price, easy install, local number, convenient communication worldwide.Haven't
Cons
Haven't had any need for customer service, so no complaints to date.

Bought this device at a thrift store for $1.99! Sent it to my daughter deployed in Japan with her Navy hubby. I can call, or they can whenever. So far, so good.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3.6
Newbury's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.98.214

Great Product - Magicjack

Pros
Price, Reliability, Ease of Use, Support, Can Bring Your Phone Number When You Travel
Cons
None

I purchased a magic jack 3 years ago for my office fax line. Previously I was paying the local phone company $70 per month for the extra line. I have it set up so the fax line goes into a computer so that I do not have to waste paper and ink printing out unwanted ads.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
Mac85658's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.135.218

Customer Service and Oxymoron - magicjack

Pros
Cheap and when it works it is quite good
Cons
Ill trained customer service reps who are reluctant to transfer proble to higher tier level of support.

Customer service ill trained and repeatedly ask same question. Very polite but not very helpful with a problem ie a call from US to Spain resulting in error message no routing available but no one in customer service could answer what it means and/or how to fix it

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.6
Rusty's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.205.157

worst phone company out there! - Magicjack

Pros
the cheaspest phone company out there...
Cons
The worst working product ever!

I had Magicjack for a year and all I can say good about it is the price. After that year it had problems. I could call out, but I couldn't hear everyone that called me. So after doing "live chat" over and over, being told the same things by different operators....I finally insisted on them sending me a new unit, because I felt mine was not working. (even though they thought it was just fine) The new one worked....so I was correct. These people are idiots who do the live chat! Then after one month, it was doing the same thing.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.2
Join the conversation about magicJack

Have something to say? Leave a comment about magicJack.

Have you used magicJack's service? Write a review. You can help other prospective customers make a good decision.