Vonage Business Solutions (formerly Vocalocity)

Small Business VoIP Phone Systems

Unlimited local and long distance, NO contracts.

Key Features:

  • Unlimited Calling
  • Dozens of Business Boosting Features Are Standard
  • No Contracts or Installation Fees

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $19.99
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.000/min
  • Shipping: varies
  • Other Fees:

Special Notes

Shipping prices vary

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

PBX - Small Business VoIP Phone Systems

Unlimited calling, both local and long distance. Without a contract.

Key PBX Features:

  • Unlimited Local and Long Distance Calls
  • Dozens of Business Boosting Features Are Standard
  • No contracts, not setup or installation fees

SIP Trunking - Small Business VoIP Phone Systems

Get unlimited extensions from the Small Business specialists. Just convert your existing phone systems.

NOTE: International rates displayed are based on calls made from US.

Vonage Business Solutions (formerly Vocalocity)



Sound Quality
4.698115
Reliability
4.37736
Customer Service
4.37736
Features
4.37736
Price
4.37736
Overall
4.577359

53 Reviews | Write a review

89% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: US and Canada
Founded in: 2003

"I am very satisfied with the Vocalocity system, quality of calls, reliability of service and the features, especially for a small business owner."

by Richard Karlen, Millenium Financial Services

Vonage Business Solutions (formerly Vocalocity) specializes in providing VoIP to small and medium businesses. Vonage Business Solutions offers a low price and scalability that growing businesses need, with free features that assist in teleworking and mobility, as well as a great deal of other helpful VoIP features as standard: a unified inbox for fax, email, and voicemail, call flip, voicemail transcription, and an award winning dashboard interface, to name a few.

Vonage Business Solutions’ hosted PBX technology has helped lower costs by at least 30% for small businesses. Part of this discount comes from Vonage Business Solutions’ investment in VoIP technology—they own and develop everything they send you. All phones have been certified, and all the software will be updated as quickly as it can be.

Check with Vonage Business Solutions for more information.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

steve hull's picture


Member since:
Apr 2014

xxx.xxx.203.17

Red Flag on Leaving with your Fax #

Pros
If you can get it configured correctly and fully, it's a great system
Cons
Customer service and tech support could take 20-30 minutes to get on the phone. Poorly trained & too few techs. Leaving Vocalocity/Vonage business and hit with $100 charge to retrieve by Fax number back. hard to get the FAX numbers back from EFAX

When you sign up for Vocalocity it states "cancel when you want" & "no cancellation fees" While Vocalocity service is not completely bad, certain features never got set up correctly. Auto attendant is difficult to adjust if you need a change, phone app never worked, several of the Cisco phone features don't work because of programing etc. Decided to move to Nextiva better tech support, features and for about the same price. Porting got rejected by Vocalocity and in a customer service call, the Tech explained that the faxing is handled by EFax (a J2 Global company). In order to get my fax number back, I must pay an additional $100 "Porting Out fee". They are happy to release all my other local and toll free lines I brought into Vocalocity, but the fee is an EFAX terms of service issue. We signed up my phone service with Vocalocity that explained that fax service would be provided in our account. Calling Efax, explained I could transfer my account away from Vocalocity to a EFAX "consumer account" for $16.95/month but would still have to pay a $40 cancellation fee to get our fax number back. Looking at Google, hundreds of J2 Global customers are complaining about being charged for service long after they cancel, and that they are exempt from US FCC rules. So we don't want to give them our credit card - even for a month.

Our business has had phone lines for 22 years and this is the first time we have ever had to pay to get our phone numbers back. Yes, Faxes are obsolete but many customers still use them for documents and POs so we still need to receive them.

If their is a Class Action Lawsuit filed against Efax and/or Vocalocity (now a Vonage Company) we will be first in line. Vonage should protect it's customers from 3rd party vendors partnerships it sets up when they go bad. As I said above, I am not completely unhappy with Vocalocity's phone service BUT this incident, charging us to get our phone number back is completely unforgivable. Unless this is resolved I will tell thousands of my current and former customers NOT to use either of these companies (J2 Global and Vonage)

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
2
Price
4
Overall
3.6
poodlelv's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.15.186

Not for more than 3 people and only 1 location

Pros
Great concept if you have only one office and less than 3 employees.
Cons
Don't get this service if you have more than 3 lines or phones, never get for more than 1 office location EVER. Down time to configure with your current systems (best to have same computers-year, make, model, through out office), is terrible, could lose more than 3 days to configure.

My boss was taken in by the sales rep that stated that this was a great service for her and her business. He talked a good talk and she was taken in by this. I run her satelite office, just me, and I have been down for 6 days now. Her other office (has more than 3 people and more than 3 computers) has capability for some things but are still having issues. I am sure this is a great service for EXTRA small businesses or home businesses but do not be fooled by all the stuff they are saying. It does NOT work for multiple locations nor is it compatible with all databases. This has been the most frustrating experience and I hope she will never do this again.

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
2
Price
5
Overall
2.4
js39's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.179.66

Poor service and experience with Vocalocity

Pros
Promotional information presents a fantastic service
Cons
Service poor, requires a minimum of two calls, generally more. Features did not work as advertised

The initial problems they blamed on prior provider. Then they blamed it on the phone. Neither was the source of the problems.
Their problem solving capability is very weak. They had problems finding capable techs. Resulting in the need to transfer calls. Calls and email to Vocalocity were often ignored. Although the quality of calls I made were good, the quality of calls I made to Vocalocity were poor.
I experience extended and intermittent periods when I could not make or receive calls. There were even long periods when callers could not leave messages.
Their philosophy is; the customer is always wrong.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.6
Denise Presley's picture


Member since:
Aug 2013

xxx.xxx.76.34

The most frustrating part of running the business is Vocalocity.

Pros
The customer service folks try really hard to satisfy customers but they are saddled with engineering problems beyond their control. The quality of tech support people varies. Some genuinely work to fix problems, some are arrogant and singularly focused on getting to the next call, which means dismissing your concern or shifting blame.
Cons
You cannot tell whether someone else in the office is on another line from the telephone console. You must open the dashboard on your desktop and keep it open to view which lines are in use. The call quality is unreliable... some days- even weeks- its just fine, other days not. Some days outbound calls are declined or dropped.

There's lots of blame shifting. On at least two occasions, they've emailed letters apologizing for network problems in my area, but then deny that the problems we're experiencing are related. No matter what the issue, its some one else's fault. Some days service is so bad, I've resorted to using my cell phone to make calls. This is no way to run a business. We've been told to keep a log of problems so they can tell us what to tell the internet/ equipment/ consultant. The key here is they can't help, but someone else might be able to. The only solace is when clients point out how bad the phone connection is I tell them that service is provided by Vocalocity.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
3
Price
2
Overall
1.8
goconcierge's picture


Member since:
Sep 2012

xxx.xxx.26.26

REceived Great Support with Vocalocity

Pros
Great service and support
Cons

I just switched from another provider and was very pleased with the level of support I just received. I spoke with Myra and she was able to take care of my needs quickly while maintaining a great attitude. After having a disappointing experience with another company, it is refreshing to work with such a professional team!

Thanks,

Adam

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
hiscjodi's picture


Member since:
Sep 2012

xxx.xxx.81.198

Great Customer Support

Pros
Great system and great solution to meet our growing business needs. Makes receiving client calls much more efficient.
Cons

My entire experience with the Customer Care department has been great. Never long wait times, and am always helped in a friendly and satisfactory manner. Michael was of great help to me to day, enabling me to carry through with the porting process and breaking the set-up process into easy-to-follow steps. Thanks, Michael!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
anna.hall's picture


Member since:
Sep 2012

xxx.xxx.178.155

Outstanding Tech Support from Vocalocity

Pros
Our phone calls have great quality and both customer service and tech support are always very helpful and knowledgeable. Dammond from tech support went above and beyond to answer our questions regarding new services and how we can best utilize them.
Cons
The only thing we don't like is not to do with the providor but the phones we chose. We have not had any complaints about the service we receive.

I would recommend Vocalocity for anyone looking for a voip system with great customer and technical support. We have been very pleased with the quality and reliability of service.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.8
b4volley's picture


Member since:
Oct 2009

xxx.xxx.129.174

Call Queue for vocalocity is poor

Pros
A bunch of features
Cons
Unfortunately the features they provide don't work well. The call queue has gone down without notice and logged all users out and left our customers parked on eternal hold until they hung up. This has happened at least 15 times over the past 3 months. To top it off, we were charged hundreds of dollars for those calls parked in the queue due to their failure. Vocalocity readily admits the issue, but also admit that they won't notify it's users when the queue goes down as all users don't use this feature, and don't want to alarm them.

Look elsewhere! We were an Aptela customer, and they were bought out by Vocalocity. This service seems to have more features, though they have many growing problems. Customer service not quite up to the task!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
2
restmedsupp's picture


Member since:
Aug 2012

xxx.xxx.89.189

Vocalocity and Restoration Medical

Pros
professionalism, skills and knowledge from the reps whether in sales or support teams these are the only departments I had to use so far. Most of all their patience with me when I don't understand what I'm doing.
Cons
Nothing bad about the system nor service just a little PERK---I was thinking what would it take to put music on the phones: when we're wearing our headsets we can push a button on the phone to listen to some smooth Jazz or classical music and when the phones rings the music goes mute until you are completed with your call. Just something to think about. Now the catch is for all customers that have your system - probably give them 6 mos probation period (no charge) and if the want this service you can charge a month, yearly charge, therefore both parties are satisfied. I had this with another system and it works.

I had the pleasure of talking with Sarah in the past and Carlos just today 8/21/12 and it was wonderful talking with them. Their professionalism, skills and knowledge is something that keeps a company moving ahead. Thank you. Pat

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
3
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.6
jtunnell's picture


Member since:
Aug 2012

xxx.xxx.99.175

Vocalocity

Pros
Cons

I have been very happy with Vocalocity. Great features for the money. I switched after having a bad experience with another service provider and have been very satisfied with the change.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5