close
The price comparison tools on this website require you to disable Adblock for full functionality. Please consider disabling your ad blocker on our website in order to best take advantage of our tools.
Home > All Providers Reviews > Phone Power

Phone Power Reviews

For competitive rates, Phone Power serves every one, from a single-line residential customer to a corporate call center, and everyone in between. They also provider International calling plans that allow for unlimited calling to a specific number of countries (depending on the plan you select). Phone Power also provides helpful online quick links and e-guides to their customers seeking support, as well as support chat, email, and telephone number. They are even available for a select number of weekend hours!

Users Average Rating

Providers Comparison

Note: The graphs above only measure the user ratings displayed over the last five years.

Editorial Review

Phone Power is a California-based VoIP company that delivers residential VoIP phone solutions throughout the US and Canada. Founded in 2005, Phone Power has a growing subscriber base and has earned a number of industry awards. In fact,the company was ranked the 30th Fastest Growing Company by Inc. 500, made the Top 22 on Deloitte’s Technology Fast 500, and was also recognized as Editor’s Choice by VoIPReview.org.

Unlimited Calling

Phone Power’s home phone service plans offer unlimited calling to anywhere in the US and Canada, along with 60 minutes of free international calling to over 75 countries worldwide. Customers can choose from three different plans and payment terms: a 12-month contract term that starts at $9.95/month, a month to month subscription without a contract or prepay which begins at $19.95 per Month, and a 12-month prepaid plan that comes at the lowest monthly price of $8.33.

Powerful Phone Features

Aside from unlimited calling, each plan from Phone Power also includes over 45+ phone features (such as Mobile Phone App, Voicemail-to-Email, and Call Waiting Caller ID), a free second line and softphone, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee.

 
Write your own review

Phone Power: Resolved to My Satisfaction

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
4.2
Average: 4.2 (1 vote)

Yeah I wasn't real thrilled about being down for part of a day either, but given that I pay $14 a month for phone service and it's the first time I've been out in 2 and a half years of good service, I'm not going to make a huge deal about it. My internet service has gone out more than that. I called in afterwards and it was resolved to my satisfaction.

Cheap, cust service
Yes

Phone Power: Two Major Outages

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2.2
Average: 2.2 (1 vote)

We switched our business to PhonePower about 7 months ago, and we've experienced poor sound quality along with two MAJOR outages.  Both times they have had outages, PhonePower has had no phones themselves, no website, and no message to clients about the situation.... nothing.
This seems to be a business run out of someone's garage with a single server and with very, very poor reliability.

They're cheap
They're NOT so cheap once you consider all the business you've lost due to terrible phone service!
No

Phone Power: Clarity but phone out for day

user_review
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3.4
Average: 3.4 (1 vote)

lsot service for the day, missed major phone calls that  had to be received, affected my business and devasted timelines and missed situations that had to be dealt with today. I am upset to say the least. This has affected my life and my day. communication is importatn in my business and missing calls is not acceptable. I am a new customer and hope Phone Power does not allow this again.

the clarity of my calls is outstanding. the features are awesome and so useful.
The devastating part is that the phone was out for most of the day. I have business to carry on and calls to make and was unable to do which devastated some situations that had to be handled today. Plus i run a business with that phone. Please make sure this does not happen again hone Power, I am new and don't want to have to cancel service or lose my business due to this.
No

Phone Power: Cheap, Mediocre

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1.6
Average: 1.6 (1 vote)

I have used VOIP phones for years.  I used Sunpower until they went TU.  Then I got PhonePower.  I was using Quest phoneservice and dialup internet.  I switched to cable broadband and VOIP and saved cash -- better all the way around.  However, I've not found VOIP without it's problems.
 
It does require a 2 year pre-payment, which I lost part of to Sunpower's demise.  The phone quality isn't stellar by any stretch, but still serves as a phone though.  I'm uncertain to the 911 functions as we've never had to call -- knock on wood.  I wouldn't totally rely on it thoughy.
 
\When I switched to Phonepower they wouldn't change my caller ID name to my name, because they said I didn't have proof that I owned it, though it was our number for 2 years with Sunpower.  So when I call people they look at the caller ID and it says Mohamid Khan -- my real name is more like Dan T.  Oh well, it got to be a joke after awhile.
 
SO, if you like to get cheap, mediocre and somewhat undependable phone service under the wrong name -- Phonepower is the place for you.  HOWEVER, if you want to shoot more for something cheap, yet dependable -- keep on looking.  And post it when you find it and I'll go there two.

I've had Phone Power since 2009, never had much trouble so I went for another 2 years. Way cheaper than Comcast bundles or other VOIP comms.
Now, Phonepower doesn't seem to exist. Can't reach their website, my phone doesn't work either. No calls in or out.
No

Phone Power: Works as Advertised

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4.2
Average: 4.2 (1 vote)

I'm not sure why people get so worked up one way or another about this technology.  It's telephone service people!  I plugged it in and I can make calls.  So in my mind it works as advertised.  I don't use any fancy features.  But it saves me money over my previous company.  I would recommend.

It works as advertised. It's telephone service. Not that exciting.
Yes

Phone Power: Stay Away

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
3.2
Average: 3.2 (1 vote)

They charge you for things you don't want, add fees without cause and don't seem to have a real place of business.  Maybe that is so that they cannot be served!!
They add on charges, charge more than they quote and refuse to give a mailing address to send a payment.
STAY AWAY!!!

it seems to work
The company is NOT honest!! They add on charges, charge more than they quote and refuse to give a mailing address to send a payment. STAY AWAY!!!
No

In Canada: awesome features set, so-so routing & support

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2.8
Average: 2.8 (1 vote)

Last year, I took the plunge and switched from a big local telephony provider to a web-based VoIP provider: Phone Power.
Their features set is quite something: free second line, voicemails to email, some free international minutes, etc.
But, when it comes to routing local calls, they are so-so.

I live in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Many local agencies & companies have 1-800 numbers that are geolocation-locked; you can’t call those numbers from outside Canada, or outside Quebec (depending). How they detect the origin of the call is not based on the caller ID (the caller’s phone number); it has to do with how the call is routed, i.e. where it’s coming from for real.

Now, the problem is not that Phone Power isn’t technically capable of routing those calls correctly, since I have been able to call those numbers on multiple occasions. The problem is that they are unable to keep routing consistent. The result is that those calls will only work sometimes, and will sometimes fail. And, when it’s not working, and you call/chat support to fix it, they don’t know how to resolve the situation. Sometimes, after 20-30 minutes of back and forth, they are able to make those calls go through. Other times, they can’t fix it, and answer that they’ll investigate further, and contact me later when they found something.

Here’s a timeline of my (10+) contacts with support regarding this:

2011-08-17
Me: I can’t connect to the following number: 1-800-361-3977 Would it help if my voip phone number was a canadian phone number maybe ?
Support: Possibly. Likely. Though you’d need to speak with billing for the logistics of that.

2011-09-26
Me: Trying to dial [a 1-866 number], it’s telling me that number can’t be reached from my calling area.
Support: Basically i tried forcing the call through all of the providers i have available to me and i get the same message from them all. Call the bank and see if they allow inbound calls from outside canada.

2011-09-27
Me: Michael called me today regarding a problem I’m having with 1-866 numbers.
Support (after 1+ hour of back and forth): Can you dial one more time plaese?
Me: yes, it’s ringing! Bingo!!
Support We will be calling you back because we do not want this issue to happen to you or an other customer. I will currently leave it on for now. They might be changing it to test it on our end.

2011-09-28
Support: This is a follow up email regarding the ticket you recently opened with us about dialing toll free numbers in Canada. While we do bill calls to Canada at a domestic rate, the call features recognize Canadian numbers as International in nature (as we are an American based company). So with International dialing blocked, it would not permit you to call such numbers.
Me: [...] it seems like it only partially block Canadian numbers… Because I can call local Canadian numbers without a problem with the setting On. It only prevents me from being able to call some Canadian 1-800 numbers…

2011-09-29
Me: Returning the call from Dude. He asked to call back if my 1-866 calls failed again. They do. it worked fine at the end of the chat session on the 27th, but now they are failing again.
Support: Please try calling again and let me know what happens now.
Me: It’s working. All of them seems to work again now.
Support: We are still going to need to work on this issue to get it fully resolved. We will contact you once we have an update.

2011-10-14

Me: “The number you have dial has not been recognized.”; different error message than earlier today.
Support: [We need to trace the call; can you dial the number again?]
Me: [No, my wife needs the phone now. I'll call back again when the phone if unused.]

2011-10-15
Me: Some 1-866 local numbers can’t be reached again.
Support: Ok, lets go again.
Me: working now.

2011-11-10
Support: We tried to reach you in regards to the problem or service issue you reported on your Phone Power account, but had no success. If you are still experiencing the problem or issue, please reply to this email, or contact us at 888-607-6937 (option 3) in the next 24 hours.
Me: It’s working fine at this time.

2011-12-02
Me: Since I last wrote to you about this on November 16, 2011, when all was working fine, some 1-800 number are not working again.
Support: …
Me: if you can’t fix it like that, just make it so all my calls are routed like they were on Nov. 16 and leave it at that.
Support: I have already tested that and it did not work either. I will look into this more and contact you later.

2011-12-17
Me: What’s the update on this ? Last contact was on December 5: “I will look into this more and contact you later.”
Me: (7 hours later) Official complain email sent to [email protected], with instructions to forward to the appropriate person, since there is no other contact information on their website.
No response whatsoever.

2012-03-30
Support: This is a follow up email regarding the ticket you recently opened with us about your outbound calls to toll free numbers, we attempted to reach you however were not successful. We have removed the test route, please re-test and let us know if problem still exist.
Me: 1-800 / 1-866 calls are failing again.

Awesome feature set.
Local toll-free calls are often not working, preventing me from calling local health agencies or banks!
No

Phone Power: Customer service is HORRIBLE

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)

Your service works for approximately 50% of the time for calls and faxing 5% success rate. Reception is iffy-fading in and out. Technical Support does not follow through and fix problems they simply call and close the ticket after the call.
Using your phone while out of your home-forget it. I left for 3 months and had people trying to call in and never getting in. Finally I just used my cell phone as the primary as Phone Power was useless. Very bad if your doing business and expecting calls.
Resolving chronic problems in not Phone Powers subject of expertise. They get offended and simply close the ticket and call the problem solved. And then you go on having problems and they wonder why your still calling? and not cooperating??
 

The website account info on your account is good. Such as call logs, blocking numbers, contact list with names, viewing invoice.
Customer service is HORRIBLE. Your service works for approximately 50% of the time for calls and faxing 5% success rate. Reception is iffy-fading in and out. Technical Support does not follow through and fix problems they simply call and close the ticket after the call. What good is the website account info area if your service is minimal??
No

Phone Power: sweet support but no Android app

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4.2
Average: 4.2 (1 vote)

I have had the service roughly 2 years.  When I first signed up I had trouble getting the service to work.  I contacted support and talk to one of the lower techs who then escalated me to a tier 2 guy.  He was able to help me get my the issues resolved.  Apparently something with my router was causing problems with the VoIP service.  This was pretty sweet considering I ported my number from Vonage and last time I had an issue they told me the only thing they could do was bypass the router.
At first the features seemed slick and more advanced than I would ever need.  I started to lean on the service more and my desire for schedule based rules and more expansive call screening has become essential.  The fact that they seem to cator to the iPhone community and pushed Android users to the way side has been a little frustrating also.  It has been pretty good I don't have any other complaints other than their support hours seemed to have narrowed.  Hopefully they get their Android app rolling soon I am tired of using some 3rd party app on my phone.

Solid network, basic features and American Support reps,
No Android App or advanced forwarding
Yes

Phone Power: Not Trustworthy

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2.4
Average: 2.4 (1 vote)

I purchased a plan from Power Phone in early 2011. By purchasing my own equipment and prepaying the first year, I was supposed to get the second year free. At the beginning of what should have been my free year, a $25.24 charge showed up on my credit card. When I inquired with Power Phone, I was told that I had a different plan and that was that.
The phone service is OK, but their "deal" is clearly bait and switch. This is not a trustworthy company. Good luck getting them to honor their agreements.
 
I am going back to Vonage. They were honest.
 

Price if they actually sold you what they say they sold you
Price since they bait and switch what you are getting
No

Pages

Phone Power

Winnetka , CA
United States
2005Year Founded
74%Recommend
158User Reviews
Get Quote

Overall Rating

4.0545
4.27
82%
78%
85%
75%
85%

Service Locations

  • United States
  • Canada
  • Puerto Rico
VoIP app

The Skinny

Phone Power offers residential and international plans on top of VoIP hardware installation guides in order to meet all of your calling needs. Their home phone service is the same plan with three different pricing tiers, and offers you nearly unlimited calling throughout the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico. You can even keep your current phone number with Phone Power's residential calling plan! Phone Power also has three International plans available, and depending on how many countries you call determines what plan is right for you.

If you aren't satisfied with their service, Phone Power offers its customers a 30 Day money back guarantee.

the rub

The Rub

For home phone service, Phone Power provides consumers with the USA/Canada Unlimited Calling plan. If you are willing to sign a long-term contract, Phone Power can guarantee lower monthly rates. Then again, their monthly package isn’t exorbitant, either, so you can't go wrong with affordable phone service whether or not you want to sign a contract with Phone Power.

Each unlimited plan, regardless of the term (1 year prepay, 1 year contract, or monthly) will get you virtually unlimited calling. You can make and receive inbound calls without a limit, and are granted 60 minutes a month of international calling. Plus, with their USA/Canada Unlimited Calling plan, Phone Power provides a mobile phone app, free activation, and a free cloned second line. 

bottom line image

Bottom Line

If you know that you need a dependable VoIP phone service that will help you save money, opt for the 1-year prepay to save the most money. However, be sure to consult Phone Power's website As a trustworthy and reputable residential VoIP provider for ten years, they can provide you the phone service and customer support that you require to stay connected. Plus, their support team is 100% US-based, and their website offers e-guides as well as tech support chat.

While the monthly rate is entirely affordable and much less than a traditional phone provider, taxes, fees, shipping, and handling still apply to your order. 

award image

Awards

Phone Power has received the following awards:

  • Gold Award Top Ten Reviews 2013
  • Deloitte Technology Fast 500 2012
  • Inc. 500's 30th Fastest Growing Private Company in America
  • Editor's Choice Voip Review
comment image

Our Two Cents

Phone Power makes it easy to have an affordable residential VoIP phone system. They offer three differnet payment options in their USA/Canada plans: a Monthly Average (as a 1-year prepay), a 12-Month Term, and a No Contract option. This makes it easy for users to choose a term that they are most comfortable with. Even still, Phone Power offers a 30-Day money back guarantee to its customers. These calling plans also offer customers the option to keep their current number for free, when other providers do so for a charge.

Phone Power's residential VoIP plans also have a mobile phone app, faxing capabilities, and free activation on top of many calling features. Your calling plan also comes with an allotted number of internationl minutes per month for calling to select countries. One thing unique to Phone Power is that they give you a free second cloned line with your service, which allows you to make or receive calls using the same phone number. 

Plan Info
Plan Name Home Phone USA/Canada Plan
Plan Summary With Phone Power for your home phone, you get to keep your existing number, have unlimited calling to the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico, access to a mobile phone app, free activation, and a free cloned second line. All for a low monthly cost and a 30-Day money back guarantee if you aren't satisfied!
Key Features
  • Unlim. Calls US & Canada
  • Money Back Guarantee
  • Mobile Phone App
  • Free Activation
Notes Prepay for one year of service and get the lowest monthly cost. This Plan is available in the following countries :
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • Plan Pricing & Services1
    Regular Price $8.33
    Promo Price N/A
    Price Disclaimer $8.33 is monthly average with 1-year prepay
    Setup Fees Free
    Activation Fees Free
    Number Porting Fee Free
    BYOD Yes
    Termination Fee Free
    Unlimited Minutes Yes
    Toll Free3 No
    Plan Pricing Tiers2
    Annual Contract Paid Monthly
    (per user)
    • 1-year contract : $9.95 / mo.
    Month to Month
    (per user)
    • No contract : $19.95 / mo.
    Annual Contract Prepay
    (per user)
    • 1-year prepay : $5.99 / mo.
    	
    Toll Free
    Setup N/A
    Monthly $5.00 /mo.
    Included Min. N/A
    Add'l Min. Cost $0.04 /min.
    Faxing
    Setup N/A
    Monthly Included
    Included Pages N/A
    Add'l Pages Cost N/A
    Number Availability & Details
    Area Code Selection
    Local Number Port
    Number Port
    Toll-Free Number
    Virtual Numbers
    Equipment Options
    SIP/BYOD
    Phone Credit
    IP Phone Included
    IP Phone For Sale
    ATA Included
    ATA For Sale
    Plan Minutes
    Local Min. Included
    Add'l Local Min. Cost N/A
    Long Distance Unlimited
    Incl. Long Distance Min. N/A
    Add'l Long Distance Min. Cost N/A
    Plan Features3
    Admin Dashboard/Portal Yes
    Anonymous Call Rejection Yes
    Auto Attendant No
    Barge No
    Business SMS No
    Busy Lamp Field No
    Call Analytics No
    Call Announce No
    Call Continuity No
    Call Forwarding Yes
    Call Forwarding - Advanced No
    Call Hold Yes
    Call Logs/Reports Yes
    Call Me Now No
    Call Monitoring No
    Call Notifications Yes
    Call Park No
    Call Pass No
    Call Queuing No
    Call Recording No
    Call Return Yes
    Call Routing Yes
    Call Screening No
    Call Transfer No
    Call Waiting Yes
    Caller ID Yes
    Caller ID - Dynamic Yes
    Caller ID Block Yes
    Caller ID Control Yes
    Click-to-call Me No
    Click-to-dial Yes
    Conference Bridge No
    Conference Calling Yes
    Custom Greetings Yes
    Custom Tagging No
    Desktop Integration Client No
    Dial-by-Name Directory Yes
    Directory Assistance (411) Yes
    Do Not Disturb Yes
    E911 Yes
    Fax to Email No
    Find Me/Follow Me No
    Group Paging No
    HD Video Conferencing No
    HD Voice No
    Hunt Groups No
    Interactive Voice Response No
    Local Number Portability No
    Mobile App Yes
    Mobile/Desktop Sync No
    Music on Hold No
    Redial No
    Ring Groups No
    Selective Call Acceptance Yes
    Selective Call Rejection Yes
    Shared Call Appearance No
    Simultaneous Ring Yes
    Softphone Yes
    Speed Dial Yes
    Switchboard Software No
    Telephone Numbers (DIDs) No
    Third Party Softphones No
    Unified Inbox No
    User Portal Yes
    Video Conferencing No
    Virtual Extensions No
    Virtual Fax No
    Visual Voicemail No
    Voicemail Yes
    Voicemail to Email Yes
    Voicemail Transcription No
    Whisper No
    1Plan pricing displayed here has been sourced directly from the provider's website or via the provider's sales team. Pricing is subject to change without notice. Check provider's website for most current pricing.Plan pricing may differ based on the country for which you are requesting service.
    2To determine the number of users for your VoIP phone system, count the number of devices you need, including desk phones, softphones, conference phones, and fax machines.
    3The following plan features (offered by the provider) are either included in the plan, available for an additional fee, or unavailable. Check with provider for most current feature listing and any prices that may be incurred.

    Recent Reviews

    magicJack logo
    1
    MagicJack Plus

    Not doing anything exotic with MagicJack so a limited feature set is not a problem. The device seems to work fine. Customer service, however, is...

    January 23rd, 2019 - Captjohn787
    windstream logo
    1
    Windstream

    This is an awful company. No ethical standards at all. They were charging our church $240/month for VOIP phone services for years. We finally...

    January 21st, 2019 - rbceugene

    Most Recent Blog Posts

    contact center solutions concept
    Q&A with TCN: on Streamlining Payment Processing in...

    Organizations seeking new approaches and solutions to grow their businesses and enhance employee experiences while cutting costs and delivering value to their customers should engage in collaborative...

    Jan 10, 2019
    voice over internet protocol phone on notepad
    Competitors to Vonage in 2019

    In its infancy, there were only a few providers and household names in the Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) industry. VoIP was introduced in 1995 with a company called VocalTec and their product...

    Jan 08, 2019