close
The price comparison tools on this website require you to disable Adblock for full functionality. Please consider disabling your ad blocker on our website in order to best take advantage of our tools.

magicJack Reviews

magicJack is an extremely cheap VoIP provider that works by using your existing Internet connection to make and receive calls. magicJack provides a plug-and-play device (like a USB drive) that you can connect to your computer or high-speed modem to start making local and long-distance calls. You can use magicJack for as little as $19.95/year per line. 

With the newest magicJack Plus system, you don't have to have your computer on at all times in order to receive a call.

Is magicJack worth it? 

We recommend that anyone interested in buying a magicJack read the user reviews here first.

 

Users Average Rating

Providers Comparison

Note: The graphs above only measure the user ratings displayed over the last five years.
Write your own review

Dr. Bob

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

This product is awful!! Save your money. I have bought this device a few times over the last 10 years and you would think they could get it right by now but, it’s get worse. 1. Sound quality is awe full 2. Drops in and out all the time 3. If anything on your phone goes off like an alarm or a message, it goes to automatically out the caller on hold and you can’t get them back! You guy should be ashamed for charge people this type of money and producing a horrible product! Run Forest RUN!!!!

Nothing
Check comments above
No

awful awful awful service

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

Awful service. We got the MagicJack and the texting did not work on the app. We returned it and there was a problem with the Canadian mail, so it was returned back to us. We spoke to the customer representative and they said they would refund us, so we returned it. Then they would not give us our money back. We sat on hold for hours, literally hours and they would not connect us to a manager to speak with. If they say they have recordings of our conversations, then they should be able to hear THEIR customer representative saying that they would refund us. Terrible company. Texting does not work. Terrible service. Do not waste a moment of your precious time. If I could give 0 stars, I would.

Nothing.
Awful service. We got the MagicJack and the texting did not work on the app. We returned it and there was a problem with the Canadian mail, so it was returned back to us. We spoke to the customer representative and they said they would refund us, so we returned it. Then they would not give us our money back. We sat on hold for hours, literally hours and they would not connect us to a manager to speak with. If they say they have recordings of our conversations, then they should be able to hear THEIR customer representative saying that they would refund us. Terrible company. Texting does not work. Terrible service. Do not waste a moment of your precious time. If I could give 0 stars, I would.
No

Billing problems

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

While the service is O.K. when it works, my problem is with billing. In February 2019, I renewed with a three year subscription for my older sister. In July, she received an email saying her subscription was ending, then cam the cut off. I renewed again for one year, Then I went to her email on an account set up just for Magic Jack. There was the thank you for the three year subscription AND the reminder to renew, plus another thanking us for the one year subscription. This happened to me earlier on my account,but I thought I must have been mistaken on the date. Now I know this is a grubby unethical regular practice on the part of Magic Jack. I am turning this over to California Consumer protection. I would recommend anyone else with this issue do the same.

Works OK when it works
Depending on internet load it can be erratic. business ethics stink.
No

Worst Customer Service, No Ethics

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

When the service works OK, technically, life is good. If you have any issue, you'll not get any serious support from their customer service. Lots of promises, slightly condescending tone but no real service or ethics. I requested porting of a phone number. They said it was completed but, calling that number from land line would still ring on the my old cell phone, with the current service provider, for which I was still paying service. If the transfer had been successful, the provider account would have been closed. I paid for service on that old cell phone for 4 months, arguing with MagicJack that the transfer was not completed. They would force me to uninstall Android app and reinstall, while I'm explaining that it's still ringing at the old provider. They did that 3 times and then I ask for reimbursement. They said they cannot reimburse because it's more than 30 days!! They would escalate to manager which said that the transfer was complete. I can my cell service with previous provider and then called MagicJack to close/cancel my account, which cannot be done. You have to wait until it expires (and makes sure it's not set to auto-renew). Sucks!!

Cheap service, if it works
Worst customer service, no ethics
No

MagicJack is Run with the Same Ethics of a Donald Trump Business =No Ethics.

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

Have been using MagicJack the traditional way plugging it into the USB power adapter connected to a land line and router for over 10 years. The price is cheaper than traditional service $74.03 per year including the Canadian phone #. I was even using a second MagicJackGO for about 5 years. I got an email from MagicJack one month prior to my service ending asking me to renew my Canadian phone # and service. I just assumed that they would charge me when my current subscription ended but they charged my credit card and added a year prior to the end of my service. My needs have changed and I wanted to connect to the MagicJack using a USB headset. MagicJack supports this feature. Instead of plugging the MagicJack into a USB charger it's plugged into a computer. First off I noticed neither of my 2 Macs would detect the MagicJackGO. On both My Windows 10 PCs the mic input is 2% with both MagicJack dialler and the PCs mic set for maximum. I spent 3 hours chatting with MagicJack Support. They weren’t helpful and not knowledgable ie: one Support guy asked me if I disconnected the USB power cable from the MagicJack while plugged into the PC? MagicJack only has one USB port. I kept hinting that the issue was a defective MagicJack but they would have none of that. Two Tech Support reps just ended the chat without explanation. The next day I found my MagicJackPlus and asked Tech Support to activate it and transfer my months onto it so I could test the service. She did this for me and I confirmed that MagicJackPLUS was detected on my Macs and the sound was louder on the PCs. I wanted to get a new MagicJackGO because it’s a newer device but they wanted to charge me $34 + delivery for this. I decided that it was a better value to buy a MagicJackGO with 12 year subscription for $49. I told MagicJack Billing that I bought a MagicJack with 12 month subscription and to cancel my 1 year with them. They told me it was over 24 hrs since I purchased the subscription so they couldn’t refund me. I brought up the point that my subscription was 4 weeks prior to expiring and that they should not have charged my card. Billing spoke to a Manager and said they would refund me. I got any email from MagicJack Billing Team the next day: Thank you for contacting magicJack. This is a follow up email regarding your call on June 03, 2019. Please be advised that we cannot process refund for order number Txxxxxxxxx since we have already transferred the subscription from your magicJack Go device with serial number A1132001131E60 to magicJack Plus device with serial number Axxxxxxxxxxxxx as per your request on June 02, 2019. This is extremely disingenuous. They could easily reactive my MagicJackGO (like Tech Support activated my MagicJackPLUS) and I could go into my MagicJack account and move the 12 out of 13 months of service so they could cancel and refund me but they won’t because they don’t want to refund me. The company has a very bad reputation for a good reason and I would not recommend their service.

Cheap subscription phone service
Business run with the same ethics of a Donald Trump business -no ethics.
No

Incoming Calls issue on magicJack Plus or magicJack Home devices

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

You may find on YouTube a fix for incoming call issue is to use high Amp AC to DC Adopter. Or you might have got impressed when you called magicJack Tech Support and they asked you to unplug and plug the device again and boom it started working. These are all temporary fix; unplug and plug again the magicJack to power, change the adopter, unplug and plug again the Ethernet cable from magicJack or from router side, make an outgoing call etc. all would resolve the issue but for few minutes. Not sure if this has been done intentionally to keep signalling burden low on some server(s) but these devices don't seem to keep themselves alive. All troubleshooting efforts result in kind of forcing them to register again with server, like the firmware is lacking in periodic re-registration. I won't recommend anyone to buy these devices and waste money, unless someone wants to keep the service for outgoing call and with an app on smartphone for incoming calls. However app should be running in background helping smartphone to drain the power. With an apk on my Galaxy no issue on incoming calls but the quality of voice is sometime terrible. It's hard to blame internet connectivity now-a-days as throughput is usually enough to cope with VoIP. It's more about QoS and SLA agreed upon. Also you can confirm this with any free app service like duo, whatsapp, signal etc. on the same connection at the same place

outgoing calls to USA/Canada on the said devices
Issue with incoming calls as per review
No

ok when it works. Devices fail. Terrible support.

user_review
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

ok when it works. Devices fail. Terrible support. acceptable quality (when devices work). Devices fail. Terrible support. So, really no value as without device, you are toast. You also lose the money you paid !!

acceptable quality (when devices work).
Devices fail. Terrible support. So, really no value as without device, you are toast. You also lose the money you paid !!
No

Stay away from MagicJack

user_review
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

There are better options out there. Stay away from MagicJack. Horrible customer service experience, Worse than even Comcast. I paid the first year upfront. On the 1yr anniversary, they charged my credit card for the next 2 years automatically, ok so far. I called to cancel the service after a few months past my 1yr anniv. If you go there website you will get the run around and give up. I didn't give up. Got a phone number and called them just for them to refer me back to their website. I gave them their order number, amount and date they charged my credit card. They had no record of it. They denied the fact I ever paid for the 2 yrs. A supervisor was to call me back regarding a possible refund for early termination. Never called me back.

Cheap
Customer Service
No

Convenient, cheap service with a benefit for foreign travelers

user_review
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

I ported my old land line to Magic Jack about two months ago and have been very satisfied with the service. I connected the phone directly to the Magic Jack adapter hooked to my wireless router, and have not used a computer connection. I have not used customer service; so, can't really comment on them, but the good news is I haven't needed to use customer service! The app for iPhone is quite good. It allows me to view calls as they come in, answer them or not, and listen to voice mail. I can also make calls from the app. I discovered while traveling in Ireland recently, that I could make calls with my iPhone Magic Jack app when connected to wireless internet to other US numbers, and they were treated as domestic calls with no charge. This was a big help since I had not bothered to get a sim card for my cell phone while there.

Inexpensive, reliable (no need for customer service yet), very good iPhone app; treats calls to US numbers as domestic calls even when calling using the iPhone app from Ireland
None
Yes

Not a happy camper!

user_review
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
2
Average: 2 (1 vote)
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

Horrible, HORRIBLE customer support!!! Techs are a little harder to understand and definitely very difficult for them to understand your problem, technical or otherwise. Basically, i was transferred, over and over again, to different "managers" (including the billing dept.!) and, without a resolve at all, to "leave a review" message. The device itself works reasonably well, sometimes some static, but ok overall. The cost of the device and service is very good. Bottom line, if you're lucky and the device works, you're good - but, if you need any kinds of support, fuggedaboutit, you won't get any!

Inexpensive, easy to set up
Everything else
No

Pages

magicJack

United States
2002Year Founded
27%Recommend
273User Reviews
Get Quote

Overall Rating

2.4375
3.58
53%
44%
49%
33%
71%

Service Locations

VoIP app

The Skinny

magicJack Revealed

What is magicJack?

A magicJack is a small device that allows you to make Internet phone calls for cheap prices.

As of 2016, magicJack Express costs $39.95 plus shipping and handling. You get 3 months of free unlimited calling to the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Additional years cost $35.

How does magicJack work?

One of magicJack's top selling points is its ease of installation.

  1. Plug your phone into the magicJack
  2. Plug the magicJack into your computer
  3. Start making calls

Is there a special magicJack phone?

Nope! The magicJack device is what's known in the industry as an analog telephone adapter (ATA). You won't need a special phone in order to use magicJack.

What do you think of magicJack?

Many users have had a variety of issues with magicJack (as evidenced by the reviews). However, here are a couple of advantages of magicJack:

1. Lowest Monthly Rates

Setting aside the fact that the first 6 months of phone service with magicJack are absolutely free, monthly rates are available for as little as $3.00 per month. Prices like that are extremely hard to complain about, and even some of our most scathing magicJack reviews still rate magicJack with 5 stars in the price category.

2. Cheap Equipment

Any way you slice it, $39.95 is a great price to pay for the complete setup of a VoIP phone service that uses your existing phones. Other VoIP companies require specialized IP phones that can cost over $100, and an ATA adapter alone is often more than $50.

Even if the device runs into a problem and needs to be replaced, the low cost takes most of the sting out of a new purchase. In fact, with the money you'll save with magicJack's low monthly rate, the device practically pays for itself.

3. Easy to Use

MagicJack is designed for people who have never heard of VoIP in the first place, and want a simple plug-and-play device that works right away. That's exactly what magicJack offers, and the new magicJack PLUS offers even more options. The old device required a constant connection to a computer to work, but the new one only needs to do so once to register. After that, just plug it into the wall and feel free to shut the computer off. The video below outlines how to use magicJack without a computer.

Previously the magicJack software was been reported by some as very difficult to remove. MagicJack software now comes with an easier to access uninstall option, so this point is no longer valid.

MagicJack Customer Service

Unfortunately, magicJack does not have a customer service hotline. That means that the only way to resolve a service issue is through a high-traffic chat room, which occasionally has a slow response time as a result. Fortunately, the device is easy to install, so you'll likely never need the support. If you run into trouble, our best advice is to be patient with the chat, and see if the issue lies with your router configuration or Internet speed in the meantime.

If everything checks out and the chat system seems frustrating, just try doing something else for a while and wait for the chat system to get back to you. You can watch one of the many fan-made YouTube videos for magicJack support, try one of the links below to see if your issue is answered there, or even take care of checking your email while you wait. Sometimes, the best option is to simply wait a few hours for the peak traffic to die down, so that the support team has more time to dedicate to your needs. Either way, spending an hour or two researching and fixing any issues with the magicJack adapter is definitely worth the amount of money that you're saving with .

Third-party magicJack Support

There are also some helpful blogs out there on the web that cover how to use magicJack if you still encounter trouble.

Overall Analysis

In the end, and despite the issues that customers raise about magicJack service, we feel that magicJack offers a very low priced Residential VoIP service, especially for someone new to VoIP. However, there are a lot of negative customer reviews you should take into consideration. The extremely low monthly rate for unlimited phone calls is impossible to ignore, and the ease of installation further makes the case that magicJack's barebones VoIP service is one of the best in the industry.!

Don't take our word for it. We've got over 100 magicJack reviews for real magicJack customers. See what magicJack users have to say.

If you have used magicJack, here's you should do: Write a review. We could use your voice on our website.

Have something to say? Leave a comment about magicJack.

Have you used magicJack's service? Write a review. You can help other prospective customers make a good decision.

Recent Reviews

net2phone logo
5
Net2Phone

We had a different VOIP provider for many years and this company is like night and day to what our business used before. The customer service has...

November 7th, 2019 - TECBuilding
magicJack logo
1
magicJack

Magic Jack is ok as long as you don't need records from them to validate your payments nor you don't get caught up in one of their scams for extended...

November 6th, 2019 - westugirl

Most Recent Blog Posts

Professional Email Address
Tips For Choosing a Professional Email Address

If you want to build trust with small businesses, it’s important that you have a professional email address that uses your domain name. Scams are becoming increasingly more troublesome, which is why...

Apr 01, 2019
Best Twilio Alternatives
Best Twilio Alternatives in 2019

Twilio is one of the most popular ways for businesses who want to use an API to make their own phone communication systems to work with their websites. If you want to use customized phone apps on...

Mar 31, 2019