VYLmedia

Premier Unlimited

VYLmedia's premier unlimited package offers customers high-quality residential VoIP phone service with unlimited calling to the United States and Canada.

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $23.97
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: unknown data

Special Notes

Service includes your existing phone number, caller ID, call forwarding capabilities, and many more additional features to help suit your business communication needs.

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Muti Lind User
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

VYLmedia



Sound Quality
4.027935
Reliability
4
Customer Service
4
Features
4
Price
4
Overall
4.029051

177 Reviews | Write a review

72% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: global
Founded in: 2006

"The service quality is excellent! I have multiple conference calls throughout the week and have NEVER had an issue with quality or reliability. I would recommend VYL to anyone wishing to save some $$."

by ecogrl13

VYLmedia strives to provide the highest quality residential VoIP phone service with the best possible features and services at the best possible price. VYLmedia offers its customes products such as VoIP adapters, local phone numbers, and a variety of valuable services. VYLmedia truly is a one-stop solution for all your VoIP needs. Whether you need to connect locally or globally, VYLmedia can provide for your communication needs.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

radelster's picture


Member since:
Mar 2010

xxx.xxx.61.33

VYLmedia: good price, bad customer service

Pros
when their service works, it is the best for the money.
Cons
when it doesn't work, customer service/tech support is USELESS

Been with these guys over 2 years now.   was a hassle getting signed up, for porting my number, but did it because of the price.

Had issues over the years, all of a sudden, phone will not connect.  Dial out, wait 40-60 seconds, and if lucky, would connect, but most times would not.   Their last 'solution' to this was to press # when finished dialing the numbers.

 

Several times (including today) dial an 800# (800, 888, 866, whatever), and get a fast busy signal.  Dial same number from cell, works fine.   Called in to their number, told them the problem, they transfer me to tech support.   wait, wait, wait... get a person, give them my number THREE Times, then they say - oh, we are not authorized to help on your account, you need to call customer service.    UGH!!!!!

 

So, I call back, and these people never identify themselves, tell him the problem, and the gyuy answering the phone basically is a go-between to tech support, because they are all 'busy'... but none of them are working on the issue causing me grief, as I try to call into a WORK meeting via 800#.....

 

Then he wasnt me to leave a message, and a call-back number.

Well, if I cannot dial 800# out, how do I even know if incoming calls are working??  

This is one in a long line of problems I';ve had with these guys, but switching and keeping my number is such a hassle, I put up with their crap, because of the low rate.

 

After today?   NO MORE!!!   Moving on to a more reliable company.

 

Oh, and after all the issues I've had with them, and communicated, you would THINK they would at least have offered me a discount on my service?   WRONG.   They did however DOUBLE CHARGE me one month... requiring me to call in and fight with them to get my billing straight. 

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
2.8
craigstelner75's picture


Member since:
Sep 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

As Expected

Pros
Saving money, easier to manage, Can forward my extension and got rif of the old phone system without parting with a ton of cash for a new one.
Cons
You need to be a little technical to install the router and phones.

I've had Vylmedia's service in my home for a while and have been very pleased. I just got rid of my office phone system and converted to their service where they host the phone system for you. There were a few configuration changes they had to make but everything went much smoother than I expected. I'll post again in a few months to update how its going. So far, I'm very happy with the decision.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
beyondthewestsuburbs's picture


Member since:
Aug 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

2 yrs and still satisfied

Pros
Customer service, Cool features like the hold music, good price, they could port my number when Vonage couldn't.
Cons
Who would have picked "Voip Your Life" for a company name? They took a step in fixing that with VYL Media

I don't usually take the time to setup an account to write a review, but I read a few of the posts and wanted to offer my 2 bits on this company too. I'm very happy with VYL Media (formerly VOIP Your Life). Prices are good and service is very good. Only a rare occasion do we have a problem with the phone, and then it's just a modem reset issue, although I don't think that's happened for over 6 months. As a marketing professional, I am hyper-crazy about the crappy level of customer service with most tele-electronics products and services, in the end resulting in damage to their business. So I am quite pleased with the fact that whenever I have called, I always talk to a real person. Never had a problem with toll-free numbers, maybe it's the type of toll free number? I often dial a teleconf toll free number for my business and have never had a problem. I also like the classy piano hold music that the caller gets when you put somebody on hold to take a call waiting. Anyway, no problems here, in fact I may be adding another line. Also, this company was able to port my local phone number when Vonage couldn't. I live in a small town in Illinois and was able to keep my local number. I was skeptical (how can a little outfit in Oklahoma do something that big Vonage can't), but they did it. It required some manual paperwork, so maybe that's what Vonage couldn't do.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
MikeCA's picture


Member since:
Oct 2008

xxx.xxx.43.38

Great features and Price

Pros
Price, quality, customer service, features and equipment.
Cons
Couldn't use our old phone number, and not a great selection of numbers (in Ontario). The numbers we selected seem to be crappy. That is we still get about 2 calls (on 3 numbers) a week for the previous owners mostly for collections.

We've only had 1 technical issue with the VYL service in 1 year for 1/2 day. Setup is easy and I havn't had any issues since. Voice quality it generally good, but there can be an echo with high internet traffic. About 4 months ago they fixed the toll free problem, so we can use them now. Like most Voip services quality depends on your Internet service. With Cable internet (Rogers 7 and now 10 Mbsp) this works good. Having 2 extra numbers is a great feature. Customer service is very good.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.6
BeGene's picture


Member since:
Aug 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

VYL Media has great phone quality and customer service.

Pros
Exceptional USA customer service and 27/7 tech support
Cons
none

I have had this voip service with VoIP Your Life for over 3 years. It is a great service. I have not had any complaints with this company. The only problem I had was briefly with my internet company when they were doing an upgrade. Once it was cleared, I have not had any problems. VYL Media as it is now called is the best and I highly recommend them to all. If you have only been thinking of signing up, go ahead and give them a try. I did and I have had tremendous savings since!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
devshar's picture


Member since:
Aug 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

Was a good service - sometime back

Pros
PROS: 1. Customer Service - ALWAYS get to talk to human. 2. Plans are not that costly. 3. Can't recall when the service went down last!!
Cons
CONS: 1. Service quality is going down fast 2. Resolving issue now takes couple of days (one took me about 3.5 weeks). 3. Cannot dial LOT of TOLLFREE numbers. They seem to give a new reason for it everytime. 4. Access to their forums is very much controlled. Lucky to get in. See if you can find any customers reviews which are bad. Why? Maybe they don't like people criticizing their service.

I have been their subscriber for about 2 years. i can surely say that their service "was" excellent. But be aware of couple of facts:
1. They do NOT allow toll-free calls to LOT of calling cards (international) - a cryptic message says "This number is not allowed at your calling level....", while I'm at their highest plan. e.g. Reliance India call, Airtel.
1.1 Lately also facing issues with dialing Stana Card numbers.
2. Call quality has been consistently deteriorating. May be the network is overwhelmed.
3. I have funny issue, recently, while making outgoing calls, my calls are not disconnecting even when I disconnect.

OVERALL: If you frequently use TollFree numbers or calling card numbers (even local) - DON'T go for this service. It would be quite a frustrating experience.

Setup their box immediately next to modem: Good: You have just killed your internet speed.

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
4
Price
4
Overall
3
jsimpson1010's picture


Member since:
Jul 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

Just added DSL service

Pros
Great quality, easy to reach, exceptional attention to detailed service
Cons

I’ve been a very satisfied customer since 2006. I rarely have a need to call but have never had a problem getting through to a live person. The service has been exceptional. The only real problem I had was a few weeks ago when the adapter they shipped quit working. They sent a replacement unit on a Friday with Saturday delivery and included return packing stuff for my bad adapter. It didn’t cost me anything for the replacement! The call quality is exceptional and I doubt I could find that kind of service anywhere else.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
guitargod1's picture


Member since:
May 2008

xxx.xxx.43.38

Almost 2 years and still happy

Pros
Upgraded caller ID Lots of cool voicemail options Lots of neat phone options Reliability Two free virtual phone numbers Good customer support/english friendly
Cons
Delay when calling, however, this is greatly reduced by pushing the # key on your phonepad immediately after dialing your number. Customer service hours could be 24/7 Not the cheapest

Now that the name has changed, thought I would take a minute to reaffirm my satisfaction with VYL Media (the artist formerly known as Voice Over Your Life. What can I say except that I'm extremely satisfied with the service. They have upgraded the email bill so that I can finally read it, thank you. The caller ID is upgraded, at last, only wireless calls come in with just a number now. I cannot speak to all the techy stuff that people complain about not being able to get up and running. I can only speak to the average Joe who just want to make and receive calls, get an occasional voice mail and block a call or two. Here are the nuts and bolts to service as I see it. Set-up is easy, I'm not good with most electronic stuff, so dumbing it down to a level that makes it a snap is nice. Once up and running it's just like having a traditional landline in the sense of when you pick up the phone it's ready to go. Features that are cool are the email voice messages, the do-not disturb feature is awesome, and the ability to block hundreds of numbers too. On the website I set a weekly schedule of what time the phone will receive calls. No more getting awakened in the middle of night by a crank caller for me. You can give yourself a wakeup call at a preset time, it's like being at a hotel! Set the number of rings before it goes to voicemail and of course the blocked/private # calls get sent right to voicemail. The virtual phone numbers are cool too. I have elderly relatives in Indiana so having a free number that they can call without paying long distance is awesome and you get two by the way. I recommend that if you do sign up, start out with the basic plan and then just use the phone like you normally would. If after the first month you end up going over the price of the unlimited plan, then just upgrade, there's no additional fee. Don't forget that you are not tied into a contract, just month to month, which provides incentive for them to keep you happy. Want to hear what the service sounds like? Call me at 407-705-2422, my real Florida number or if you like, call me on the new virtual Indiana number 219-841-5252, how cool is that. Don't worry about calling too late or too early, your call will go straight to voicemail thanks to that schedule I was talking about if you do, lol. Don't be afraid to leave a message, I'll try to call right back. Check out my two previous posts if you like, 3/08 or 9/07, take care and have a great day.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
4
Overall
4.6
ecogrl13's picture


Member since:
Jun 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

Excellent Quality for Consumer VoIP!!!

Pros
Quality & Reliability Easiest set-up ever Price
Cons
I don't have any to report

I've been using VYL for just over 3 months for my home office. The service quality is excellent! I have multiple conference calls throughout the week and have NEVER had an issue with quality or reliability. I would recommend VYL to anyone wishing to save some $$. This morning, I had the need to send a fax and was a bit nervous. The fax cover page had a barcode for scanning purposes. The fax went through perfectly!!! (ie. no packet loss whatsoever!!!) Thank you to VYL for finally providing a great consumer VoIP Product!!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
5
Overall
4.8
william01's picture


Member since:
Jun 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

Very Reliable

Pros
Much cheaper, great service, easy to install, easy to use
Cons
You have to install it yourself. They don't send anyone out.

I tried a few other companies before I found out about VoIP Your Life which I guess is VYLMeda now, from listening to Rollye James talk about it on her XM talk show. She is using the service on air! The service is as good as she said. My parents and my sister are using the service now as well and none of us have any complaints.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5