TinCanTalk

Unlimited calling in the USA, Canada

Starting at $11.95/mo. Many plans and features available.

Key Features:

  • Unlimited local and long distance
  • Low international rates
  • No contract month-to-month

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $26.95
  • Cancellation Fees: $25.00
  • Setup Fees: $25.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

NOTE: International rates displayed are based on calls made from US.

Sound Quality
4.816325
Reliability
4.612245
Customer Service
4.612245
Features
4.612245
Price
4.612245
Overall
4.746938

49 Reviews | Write a review

94% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2005

"I know VoIP and TinCan is the best. I’m extremely satisfied with the service and support and I do not hesitate to recommend this provider to anyone whom reads this."

by shop@burgbuilt.com

TinCanTalk is a residential VoIP service provider that supplies top-quality customer service over a top-quality connection. They state their terms and fees up front and try to keep things simple.

While TinCanTalk's motto is "as simple as two cans and a string," their VoIP service offers many complex and helpful features. Speed Dial 100 puts — you guessed it — up to one hundred distinct numbers at your fingertips, in only the touch of two buttons. Anonymous call reject protects you from sneaky telemarketers. And email notification ensures that you never miss a call — the notification will be waiting in your designated email account.

TinCanTalk offers several residential phone plans. Residential Basic 500 offers five hundred minutes a month, perfect for low volume residential customers. Residential Unlimited offers unlimited minutes within the United States and Canada. A VoIP Virtual Residential number ensures that family and friends in other parts of the country can always make a local call; a Residential Toll Free Number means that your family and friends can call and you can accept the charges. The ultimate plan, in expense, minutes, and featuers, is the Residential Home Office PBX: 2500 outbound minutes, free home phone service, PBX features, and two inbound numbers mean that your home office is well-equipped to grow and grow.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

scooter269's picture


Member since:
Mar 2012

xxx.xxx.50.141

TinCanTalk Truly Cares About Customers

Pros
Customer service and more customer service.
Cons
Tin Can Talk has to deal with other companies that do NOT have good Customer service, such as when you want your phone number ported.

I choose to go with Tin Can Talk primarily for their customer support.

 

When you do a search for VOIP providers, Tin Can Talk is not at the top of the list, and in some cases is not even on the list. However, if you dig a little bit, you will find them and they have excellent reviews!

 

When you call them, they answer. When you email them, they reply. When you have a problem, they solve it. In my opinion, their customer support is second to none. They are not the cheapest (you get what you pay for), do not have the best features (some of which are never used anyway), and their web interface is not the best (but it gets the job done).

 

This is a company that, I believe, truly cares about its customers and will do all they can to solve any problems you may have. They really want their customers to be satisfied. I can not emphasize enough Tin Can Talk's customer support. What good is a product if the company that sells you that product will not support it. I plan to be with them for a long time.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.6
Evie's picture


Member since:
Jul 2008

xxx.xxx.86.54

TinCanTalk review: Can not rate this company highly enough

Pros
The best customer service! Very helpful. You speak with a person not a message.
Cons

Can not rate this company highly enough. The owners are very proactive, helpful and knowledgeable.

You do not have to talk to a machine you get a real live person.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.8
suzieQ's picture


Member since:
Apr 2011

xxx.xxx.96.14

Re: TinCanTalk - You won't be sorry if you choose them!

Pros
Great Customer Service. The sound quality is so clear. It works! I am saving so much money. No down time. No Surprises.
Cons
None

GREAT Folks. Everyone I have talked to is so friendly and helpful.  When I first started with them, I was afraid to try to hook it up. They helped me over the phone.  They were so patient with me. Got it working as fast as I could plug it in. I have been with them now for a year and the phone service is wonderful. 

Their price is what they say.  No Surprises.

They had a problem last September, but they took care of it in such a professional way. Everything is now fixed and the reliability is even better than before. I love them.

You won't be sorry if you choose them!

 

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
dhardie's picture


Member since:
Sep 2008

xxx.xxx.220.126

TinCanTalk: great company

Pros
Tincantalk is one great company to do business with. The customer service is superb. The husband and wife time work together to give you the best in customer service. Any issues that I have had have been resolved to my satisfaction. Keep up the good work Tincantalk. The phone quality is excellent.
Cons
There is nothing that I can't say.

This is my fourth provider.  They are the best in customer service and support.   All other providers give you lip service without resolving the issue.  They have lived up to their name in customer service and support.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
jimrky's picture


Member since:
May 2008

xxx.xxx.195.132

TinCanTalk Review - Nice People, No Disaster Recovery

Pros
Nice People, good technical customer service
Cons
No disaster recovery at all

I have been with TinCanTalk for over 2 years and was satisfied - until 3 weeks ago when the service went out. TCT blames their vendor and has transited to another. I'm trying to get a credit for the bill that came in the day after the service went out (9/21/2010 - today is 10/12). They claim to have placed it but MasterCard can't even see a credit in their system waiting to be applied. TCT wants their ATA (the appliance that connects to the computer) and says they'll charge $40 if it's not returned - and I have to pay the freight. No disaster recovery (something happened last year and they promised never to be caught short again - they didn't even have a customer list or email addy's to let people know what happened on 9/21) and questionable treatment once you're done with them. Oh they are POLITE. Good business and polity are 2 different things! This has soured us on VOIP - we're going cellphone only - and losing a 22 year-standing phone number because I can't see another company doing any better - this one looked SO GOOD!

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
2.2
LostChord's picture


Member since:
Jul 2010

xxx.xxx.101.250

TinCanTalk: one of the best

Pros
Technical support, customer service, excellent communication with staff.
Cons
None.

I have been a customer of TinCanTalk for a year and a half and can say without hesitation that this company is one of the best in their business.  When I needed technical support,  I was given immediate, knowledgable attention.  The phone quality is excellent.  When I was searching for a VOIP service, I searched many VOIP review sites.  Some are cheaper, but from the reviews I read, none matched TinCanTalk's.  You have access to an easy-to-use web site and all the features you would possibly want.  I would recommend TinCanTalk to anyone.   

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.6
SEDCORP's picture


Member since:
Mar 2010

xxx.xxx.5.133

TinCanTalk: Reliable with Best Customer Service

Pros
Features, Reliability, the Best Customer Service and Saving Loads of Money!
Cons
None

We've been using the VOIP Virtual PBX from Tin Can Talk for about a year now. Lots of great features, solid reliability and personalized customer service second to none. We have offices throught the Untied states. All of our reps are connected through the PBX including their VOIP lines, cell phones or landlines. The system works seamlessly. Any one in the company or any of our customers dial the three digit extension of anyone anywhere and the system connects us. We communicate through regular conference calls with as many as a dozen callers at atime. AT&T doesn't even know how to do this anymore (I tried). The Tin Can Talk PBX system provides us with the capability and it's 100%, 100% of the time. Voice mail to email is a great time saver. Our reps use iPhones and Blackberry's and receive their voicemail via email wherever they are. I could go on and on about the features but the bottom line is that this capability would cost us over a thousand dollars a month from AT&T but from Tin Can Talk we pay a small fraction of that amount. It doesn't get any better!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
PARISS's picture


Member since:
Oct 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

TinCanTalk - one outstanding company!

Pros
Unbeatable service, great options, and crystal clear voice
Cons
NONE – and I’ve looked!

TinCanTalk – is one outstanding company

I recently moved my company from New Jersey to North Carolina, and learned that the easiest way to take my corporate phone numbers with me was to use VOIP. I contacted a number of companies and found the service of each to range from non-existent to appalling. That is until I found Jerry at TinCanTalk. I decided to install the TCT VOIP system while I was in NJ and then take it with me “debugged” to NC.

My NJ telephone company provided a nightmare combination router and modem with my DSL. Jerry solved the problems and delivered a perfectly working system.

When I moved to NC I used cable internet connection with my choice of modem and router per Jerry's advice, but even then things got complicated. Yet again Jerry delivered a fully functioning system. There are so many great TCT service options Jerry spent all the time necessary, training me to get the most out of the system.

And its not only Jerry who is service oriented, all the folk at TCT are a pleasure to do business with.

Bottom line, I cannot recommend TCT more highly! If you are even thinking about VOIP then use TCT you will not regret it!

Jeremy
jlerner@lightforminc.com

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
Johnbennett's picture


Member since:
Oct 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

The BEst Ive ever tried

Pros
EVERYTHING !!
Cons
NONE !!

Ive tried many VoIP providers and TinCan is the best by a long shot. Every feature of the big boys and unsurpassed service and support. In fact the owner and his wife often assist customers personally ! If you give them a call about you'll know what I mean. Innitally I was weary about not going with one of the large providers by the reviews I read here about them are spot on ! They are awesome. Customer service makes all the difference in the world !

Thanks Tim Can / Jerry. You've earned every accolade people have said about you here.
John Bennett
Indianapolis Indiana

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
47tom's picture


Member since:
Oct 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

Tin Can Talk customer review

Pros
Professional, tech savy and user friendly; in house customer service of the highest caliber. Good system features. One of the best customer oriented companies I've ever worked with.
Cons
NONE

I got an assignment to buy a new phone system and to reduce the cost of phone service for the company I work in. I quickly saw that hosted VOIP was the way to save money, but I didn't know what to expect in quality and reliability. The people at Tin Can talk were willing to answer all questions for me. Before I ever spent a dollar with them I must have called a dozen times as different questions came up. They were great. I got sensible, understandable answers to every question. I almost always got same day response to phone calls or e-mail - often within an hour. Let me say that I talked to at least 5 other phone service providers and none of them even came close to Tin Can service.

I have now had the system running for several weeks and it has exceeded my expectations. Everything about it is excellent: Voice quality, PBX features, reliability, ease of use, price - everything. Several individuals, and a sister company have also subscribed to the Tin Can service with equally excellent results.

I highly recommend Tin Can Talk, and I can hardly praise the people enough. If I could give them a 7 star rating I would do it.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5