Phone.com

Virtual Office

Obtain top professional business VoIP phone service for under $1 per day. Phone.com offers their customers professional, cost-effective, and easy to use VoIP services for small business communication needs.

Key Features:

  • Pricing tailored to you! Unlimited EVERYTHING!
  • Phone, Fax, SMS, Toll-Free! 40+ Features
  • No Contracts. 24x7 U.S. Support, 30-Day Trial

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $17.99
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.000/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees:

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

Home Phone Plus

Phone.com provides their customers with a flat rate home service. Your moneth home phone charges will always be constant. Home Phone Plus offers buyers home phone service starting at only $9.88/month and NO monthly contracts. Obtain great phone service at a consistent low price.

Key Features:

  • No long-term contract
  • Voicemail transcription
  • Works with your mobile phone

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $6.99
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Special Notes

Keep your existing phone number.

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail

NOTE: International rates displayed are based on calls made from US.

Phone.com



Sound Quality
4.591835
Reliability
4.2449
Customer Service
4.2449
Features
4.2449
Price
4.2449
Overall
4.383674

49 Reviews | Write a review

76% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2007

"Moving to Phone.Com service was the best move we did to cut our phone bill to 1/4 and have much more features than ever. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED."

by Ransharon

Phone.com provides both residential and business-based VoIP phone service. With award-winning VoIP technology and 24/7 customer support, Phone.com is a strong competitor in the VoIP industry.

Phone.com offers four scaled business VoIP plans, all organized under its Virtual Office program and based on the number of minutes provided (from 300 minutes per month to 2500 minutes per month). Each business plan carries the same standard features and rates for optional features do not fluctuate between the scaled plans. Phone.com additionally offers month-to-month and year-long contract options. Be sure to choose the right option for your needs.

Phone.com's residential service, Home Phone Plus, offers a wide variety of specialized VoIP features in addition to scalability between limited and unlimited monthly plans. Pricing is also discounted for signing a year-long contract.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

bananabroker's picture


Member since:
Jun 2015

xxx.xxx.45.82

Unique Features / Very Flexible - phone.com

Pros
Very Flexible Call Handling and Good Pricing
Cons
Customer Support was a little slow to respond. Missing call-screening in Queues.

We have been evaluating solutions to get away from RingCentral for quite awhile. While Phone.com is not perfect, we think it will provide the flexibility we require that RingCentral lacks.

Their call rules are vastly superior to anything else we evaluated. We run (3) companies under the same roof, each with their own auto-attendant. With Phone.com we can have one account and play different greetings based on the number the customer dialed. With other platforms, we would have to sign up for multiple accounts each with their own users and minutes.

Phone.com's call handling is also very flexible. When wait times are exceeded, you can do everything from play a recorded message, transfer to voicemail, or forward to another queue / extension. With most other services, when wait times are exceeded, your options are to send to voicemail or hangup.

A gripe we had was how we couldn't setup call screening on queues... we have a lot of mobile users that use cell phones and the "press to connect" feature prevents the cell phone carrier's VM from taking the call instead of the PBX's voicemail system.

Customer service was okay. We had some issues on New Year's Eve / New Years day that were not resolved for a few days into the new year. While I understand many companies are understaffed this time of the year, I still want to know we have access to true 24x7x365 support to handle urgent matters. I rate the customer service "okay" because our issue was resolved eventually.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
3
Features
4
Customer Service
3
Price
5
Overall
3.8
scottandkellisue's picture


Member since:
Jun 2015

xxx.xxx.7.143

Poor customer service - Phone.com

Pros
It has a lot of neat features.
Cons
Customer service is horrible.

I signed up today after someone recommended the service. The price was a little higher than I wanted to pay, but with the happy review from a friend I thought I would give it a shot. It took me (literally) 2 hours to try to get things set up, and after I was unable to get a feature to work, I thought I would try to give the customer service a call for help. I sat on hold for more than 30 minutes and decided that I am not willing to offer that much money to a company who makes finding help so difficult. I'm sure they are a great company. I just need more peace of mind when my business is involved.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
3
Features
5
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
2.8
phoneComNO's picture


Member since:
May 2015

xxx.xxx.254.242

Avoid phone.com just not there yet - Phone.com

Pros
Nice presentation but reality is oppostive
Cons
Does not always record conversations - no reason why. Billing problems, you pay bill months later they say a months part was not paid. Can't delete recordoings (severe security issue). Downloaded records are not saved with logical names (numbers called in or out and date but a random string that does not help) Shows call current activity in May 2015 as current calls in November 11/14. Severe caller id issue Andoird app very glitchy. They profit by you making mistakes and not setting up free extension and they bill per minute on this misteake

They are a good service SOMEDAY, right now its real buggy and has a lot of issues that you simply cannot trust if you are using them for business or anything serious. I send this email to them and got no reply:

Danielle, we can talk anytime, here are my concerns:

1) From Debra’s email I was under the impression that there was a past due PREVIOUS invoice that carried over - that was confusing as I have paid each month.

2) The Pending local number message that still persist in screen is bothersome and may be indicative of a coding problem that might be affecting my service. Since I already emailed Leslie about this weeks ago with a screenshot, I assumed it would have been resolved. Apparently the work I am putting into helping phone.com fix problems is wasted time - I do not waste time.

3) Conversations do not always record, there is a pretty good history of logs where conversations go unrecorded despite all being set to record.

4) Can’t delete recordings. As a security consultant this appears to be a severe problem with security that we are ultimately saddled with. If we have archived messages and are ultimately responsible for if recorded conversations we have made are shared, lost or stolen or hacked into, we could be violating Federal law without a way to delete them and actually take proactive steps to protect these federally protected conversations.

5) Downloaded recordings are not saveable with logical names (numbers called in and out and date) but instead a random string that does not help in archiving. At minimum the log should maintain the true recording file name…

6) The current activity in May 2015 has calls from November 2014….database issue (very scary).

7) The caller id issue which I think was fixed..

8) Despite phone.com blogging about how great zoho is in 2012, in 2015 there still is no way to integrate phone.com into zoho CRM (twilio and Ringio have that integration). Feature suggestion...

These our issues with phone.com. Now we are actively using ringcentral, vonage, twilio, ringio and other services and if we moved all our business to one provider, they would have a great deal of business with us. Sadly all are not quite there yet.

Hopefully this won’t fall on deaf ears.

- weeks later, nothing.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
2
Price
3
Overall
2.4
shabnamshahid's picture


Member since:
Feb 2014

xxx.xxx.133.199

phone.com - user review

Pros
nice features
Cons
absolutely garbage customer service, way too many problems, over priced,

will not recommend to any one, they will just waste your time and money. if not try it and you will see.director of customer service even worse. no product or service knowledge.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
2.4
samanthajoe's picture


Member since:
Feb 2014

xxx.xxx.237.5

Amazing VoIP provider: Phone.com

Pros
Outstanding VoIP provider.
Cons
For now, nothing I can say. This provider is Great!

This VoIP provider is recommendable. I used this for more than 2 years now. www.phone.com is the best VoIP provider I never seen before. Thanks for your awesome services.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
xtanmanx's picture


Member since:
Sep 2013

xxx.xxx.176.192

Phone.com: Best decision ever made for phone service

Pros
Portability, Customization, Utilities
Cons
They won't give out account information, therefore can only use their programmed services.

I've had Phone.com for 2 years now and have to say that it is the best decision ever made. The user GUI is very simple to understand yet VERY easy to customize...I had a ball creating custom greetings for every single person in my address book! I've NEVER had a service issue with them and my support has ALWAYS been quick and accurate. When my card expired for auto payments, they just automatically put it off until the next billing cycle.

I do wish they would give the account information as I already use a softphone for work and would really like just add a second line instead of having to "purchase" their softphone. But other than that, i have no complaints. I even had need for a 3rd line for a few months and when I cancelled service they did not request the ATA be returned so I factory reset it and used it for Google Voice.

All in all, very worth the money.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.8
i1901's picture


Member since:
Aug 2013

xxx.xxx.83.115

Great customer service Phone.com

Pros
Prompt equipment delivery, great communication during number porting process, great customer service
Cons
None so far

I haven't used them for very long as I decided to go with Sonic.net that offers a fusion DSL and land line service. However, the fact that I was able to call and cancel on the spot without returning their equipment or any other gimmick that other VOIP provider go to to stick you with another month or two of billings speaks volumes to me about their customer service or business practices. Way to go Phone.com! If I ever decide to go VOIP route again, they are the first company I will call.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
3
Overall
4.2
EddieB's picture


Member since:
Aug 2013

xxx.xxx.121.218

Good idea, very poor execution, stay away from phone.com

Pros
Interesting concept, really mobile. Some positive experiences with Customer Service. Call quality on the soft phone seemed ok
Cons
Setup to trick you out of a trail account to a pay account (be careful!) Difficult to understand how the system works (unlimited user vs. extensions vs. numbers, rules vs. default extensions, etc...) Once I got the softphone working, its connection would drop on occasion, it was really heavy on the system during boot times. I was not able to get the mobile app working. They locked my account because I was traveling, and did not notify me (how mobile is that??)

Great concept, and I really wished it worked for me (going to try another provider to see if they can do it properly), but execution was really poor with phone.com. I travel a lot with my job and need a phone service that can do so with me. The idea of phone.com was appealing so I attempted to set up an account and try it out. The setup process is very difficult to understand. I would recommend that you don't try to figure it out, just contact customer service and have them walk you through it. Some CSRs are really great (others no so much).

I was really excited about two things: Mobile App, and Softphone. I wasn't able to get the mobile app working properly (but this can be my particular situation, and can't ding them for it), and the softphone is difficult to get set up. It is also very heavy and designed for a call center (I think they just use a prepackaged softphone product, with little configuration). I had long system boot times after installing it, and it took a while to log in (skype is much faster and lighter - never thought I would say that!).

What really got me was that they locked my account because I wasn't in my home area. To me that was the whole point! The really bad part is not that they locked it, but they didn't notify me. It took me contacting them to figure it out, and the process to get it working again seemed long and complex. At one point it is just not worth it.

TL;DR: If you are looking for a mobile voip solution that is solid, keep going, nothing to see at phone.com.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
3
Price
2
Overall
2.2
nalte's picture


Member since:
Jul 2013

xxx.xxx.226.141

Great Customer Service Phone.com

Pros
Good customer service, good call quality & reliability
Cons
Fees

Good call quality and reliability.

I was especially happy with customer service. When I cancelled my account halfway through the month, I was refunded half of my bill for the unused half of the month remaining. I was not pressured to keep my service.

The only issue I had was unexpected fees pushed my bill up from the advertised $14.99/mo to just over $19/mo.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
3
Overall
4.6
Scotty B's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.248.177

Phone.com telephone support is AWESOME, but they can still improve on their billing policies/procedures

Pros
Their customer service when called on the phone is great (not so great when thru email) Good value (not the cheapest but still competitive, and their top notch service is worth the extra expense)
Cons
Incoming calls count against your minutes when on their metered minutes plan Overage minute feed are among the highest in the VOIP industry when on metered minutes plan Billing system is mercurial and opaque to customers (but ultimately fair so far...). Online/email customer service not always good (best to call them on the phone directly).

The only reason I might leave Phone.com is this issue of counting incoming calls against my plan (many others count only outbound calls). I don't use my land-line for much. Virtually no outgoing calls, and only a few incoming calls (so I use the metered minute plan to save $$$). However, unless I keep on top of my call logs and actively block all the telemarketing idiots that incessantly call my number, I sometimes risk going over my minutes allotment (more than 50% of my minutes, and sometimes as high as 90%, go to incoming unsolicited sales calls every month. I guess that's what I get for having the same phone number for twenty years). Given the fact that many other VOIP carriers do not count incoming calls against their plan minutes, does make me consider changing VOIP providers...

But, then something comes up and I need their help....and the experience always reminds me of just how great their customer service is. In my experience, its hard to find -- almost impossible in fact -- a company whose "customer service" isn't merely a euphemism for emotional rape. I haven't had an inordinate number of issues with my VOIP service with Phone.com, but the two or three issues that came up every year are always fixed promptly by their staff, and my experiences are not merely adequate, but are so good I have to rave about them a bit (when I call them on the phone only; its not so great when you contact them through email). Rarely do I experience much of a hold queue. I have never had to endure any forwarding of my issue through some silly hierarchy within their customer service department. The person I spoke to always had the power to solve both my technical and my billing issues right over the phone, and I have never encountered anyone with inadequate speaking and/or communication skills for this kind of support. In short, their staff is not simply adequate, but inordinately well-trained and professional -- what everyone expects but rarely experiences.

If I simply went with their unlimited minutes plans (at twice the monthly rate), my complaint here would be moot and I would definitely give phone.com the highest of recommendations. But for those of us who are frugal and/or on a budget, my issue here might be worth their consideration.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
5
Price
3
Overall
4.4