Phone Power

Freedom Unlimited

Unlimited calls to US, Canada and Puerto Rico.

Key Features:

  • Free 2nd line
  • Free equipment
  • 60 free international minutes

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $5.99
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $14.95
  • Other Fees: $14.95 shipping and handling (if applicable).

Special Notes

Maximum limit of 5,000 minutes/month.

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

Phone Power



Sound Quality
4.2013
Reliability
4.025975
Customer Service
4.025975
Features
4.025975
Price
4.025975
Overall
4.15065

153 Reviews | Write a review

69% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2005

"I used my own SPA942. Set up was EASY! Just do it!"

by Edherd

For competitive rates, Phone Power serves every one, from a single-line residential customer to a corporate call center, and everything in between.

Phone Power usually has several distinct offers related to their Freedom Unlimited residential package. If you are willing to sign a long-term contract, Phone Power can guarantee lower rates. Then again, their monthly package isn’t exorbitant, either.

Each unlimited plan, regardless of the term (24 month, 12 month, monthly, or annual) will get you virtually unlimited calling. You can take inbound calls without a limit, and are granted a high outbound calling threshold of 5,000 minutes a month. Free equipment, a second line, and 60 minutes of international calling are also incldued with each plan.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

busyuqboy's picture


Member since:
Jul 2015

xxx.xxx.232.66

Treated like a criminal - Phonepower

Pros
they have what they say they have
Cons
Customer service

Paid everything up front and barely used their service. After the two years I had a hard time finding the phone hardware because I hadn't used it in a year (and we moved). When I didn't want to continue with their service things went south. Horrible customer service. I tried to work with them but they were bullies. They wanted their hardware back. Ok, that makes sense. Well, I eventually found the equipment and I told them I found it and would send it in. They still put collectors out for me with annoying daily phone calls even though I TOLD THEM I HAD THE EQUIPMENT.

I am self employed and I have never treated anyone like that. Shame shame Phone Power.

The worst part is that they wanted to charge $99.50 for a box that was clearly less than $40 in cost.

Warning to all - don't trust their business practices. They have no concern for anyone but themselves.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
3
Features
5
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
3
db3480005's picture


Member since:
Dec 2014

xxx.xxx.249.101

Substandard quality service, still long way to go - Phone Power

Pros
Crystal quality phone calls when it works. Internet cable which is high speed very almost zero downtime. At a same time connected two lines works fine. International calls works great.Setup is fairly easy. I use xp or 7 shouldn't matter.stayed on long calls without interruption.
Cons
(a) I have a hard time to setup simultaneous ringing/call forwarding through web interface. In my opinion it is very confusing and not straight forward. (b) I can't get more than one month call records which doesn't make any sense. (c) Service is not reliable which bothers me. When I pick a voip service as a primary phone service it better be reliable. Every month I see that phonepower goes out of service for an hour or can't dial toll free phones. Once I call customer service they say we are working on the problems, which is not good for me. I had a better service with Viatalk and I am switching back to them . The price is not cheap like magicjack either. So paying a premium I expect a good quality service which in my opinion phonepower doesn't deliver. Once they polish up their quality I might consider . At this point of time I don't recommend phonepower.

I am having phonepower service currently. I have two different brand cordless set connected to two lines. The call quality is great, however the service is not reliable. I am not very pleased with the interface setting up call forwarding/simultaneous ringing through web interface. Very confusing and not straight forward. I donot want to have a primary phonepower service. I am not going to renew after 2 year service. Almost every month I see phonepower techincal difficulties such as (out of service for 30 mins or can't dial toll free numbers). I don't like this kinda interruption. Otherwise, I stayed an hour long interview and then stayed hour long outgoing call and recieved long calls all worked backed to back fine with crystal clear call quality. I have downstream(30mbps) and upstream(3mbps) any given point which is exceptionally good for decent call quality. I will go back to viatalk which is more reliable than phonepower. I would not recommend phonepower right at this time, let them polish up their quality and then worth trying.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
3
Price
2
Overall
2.6
andybw's picture


Member since:
Oct 2014

xxx.xxx.63.128

Happy With PhonePower So Far

Pros
Voice quality is very good, fairly easy install, equipment arrived in 1 day, free 2nd virtual line, mobile app, lots of other features
Cons
None really but confused about Broadvoice and PhonePower brands

ISP recommended Broadvoice so I went to the website and selected 1 year pre-pay plan.

However when you get to the ordering page its changes to PhonePower, after reviewing Phone power I decided to proceed anyway.

Equipment arrived in 1 day and was easy to setup but instructions in box do not tell you to put TA in DMZ zone therefore after 20-30 mins of the box flashing and resetting I researched in support and found that you need to put in DMZ to allow unfiltered access to internet. After that the box came up fine and outgoing calls worked.

It only took 3 days for my old number to be ported and I was up and running.

So far I have been impressed with the quality of service and value for Money, even international calls dialed using iPhone app had great call quality. I really cant tell any difference.

Can't believe I have been paying over $50 per month for AT&T landline but needed it for DSL service, but now that I have switched to DSLExtreme's TrueSstream service I can drop the landline. I thinks its criminal that AT&T can charge so much for basic phone service in this day and age with CID/CW but without free long distance or international calling.

Hope PhonePower service keeps on working the way it is and I will be very happy, but not sure if I can pre-pay another year next year for low rate or if it will go to monthly.

Didn't know about 2 year pre-pay until I came to this website, could have saved more, even if you have to pay taxes for 2nd year. Not sure why some people miss this fact and then complain.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
PDXAl's picture


Member since:
Sep 2014

xxx.xxx.160.238

Almost what they seem to advertise. - Phone Power

Pros
Really a good reliable service with only a few hiccups but heck nothing is perfect. Good quality, service and hookup without a hitch.
Cons
The price includes a couple snags like other unexpected charges called taxes, fees and surcharges. Then you have a return bout the second year if you get the second year "Free", say "WHAT?" like $52 of free.... That is a $5 lift per month.

The service as a whole is great, only had one issue and it was a result of using the adapter after the router and needing a port forward setup to accommodate which I had heard about but didn't do because it gave me partial service. Other than that they have provide an almost flawless service.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
3
Overall
4.6
s isaacs's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.137.155

Poor Service and Up Time - Phone Power

Pros
Can't think of any.
Cons
Hard to configure Phone Power interface. Unreliable service and routing. Fax service does not work.

I decided to use VOIP service to handle phone service in three offices located in two cities. I started using Vonage VOIP around 2005-2006. I eventually moved off Vonage to Broadvoice and stayed with Broadvoice from around 2006 until 2013. While on Broadvoice I had 5 VOIP lines on a VOIP PBX system which worked great. Let me emphasize that everything worked fine, I had no complaints. Line configuration was straightforward and Broadvoice tech support was great. However, when I tried to add an additional line, Broadvoice stated their equipment couldn't handle that number of lines and required that I switch all my lines to Phone Power - their parent company. I switched to Phone Power over 6 months ago and am NOT happy. In short, the Phone Power VOIP software is hard to configure and calls are not routed properly. Unlike Broadvoice tech support, Phone Power tech support will not help reconfigure my VOIP PBX system to work with the Phone Power service. The manufacturer and tech support of my PBX says the problem is with the SIP settings - a Phone Power issue. Since switching Phone Power hasn't been able to configure my basic phone lines to consistently work. Call routing on my primary business line has been down now for nearly three weeks - incoming calls go nowhere. I have wasted a lot of time trying to get Phone Power to fix the problem. Additionally, the Fax line is a joke - it doesn't work. When I tried to switch back to Broadvoice from Phone Power I was informed by Broadvoice that it was against Phone Power company policy. I have lost a lot of business and clients because of Phone Power. I am now searching for another VOIP provider.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
2
Price
4
Overall
2.8
htkonop's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.145.113

THIS IS GREAT - Phone Power

Pros
EVERYTHING !!!
Cons
NOTHING !!

only took 3 days for shipping, set up was so easy, call clearity great, so many great features included, price comparison i am saving lots of $$ a month. the things i can do to my account online are fantastic, and the mobile app is another added bonus.
customer service is great i had one thing i wanted changed and they did it, then they called me back later to check if it was done and to see if i wanted anything else.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
riverlebon's picture


Member since:
Dec 2013

xxx.xxx.41.179

Phone Power - The price is fair and the system works fine

Pros
The price is fair and the system works fine
Cons
Sometimes you can hear a background noise, though that's not usual. Also, there could be a lower rate for those, like me, who only need to call to a single country.

I have being using the service for three months now and made lots of calls, some of them for longer than one hour and the system is working fine. I would definitely recommend it to my friends, but would suggest a lower rate for those, like me, who only need to call to a single country.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.4
someday's picture


Member since:
Nov 2013

xxx.xxx.47.198

Phone Power service

Pros
all has been working as advertised.
Cons
one time was told by receiving party that they were getting feed back, i didnt here it, and its only been that one tm.

yes that i didn't get to tell verizon management why i was dropping their service, oops i used the word verizon and service in the same sentence.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.8
Lucidboomer's picture


Member since:
Nov 2013

xxx.xxx.203.192

Phone Power is Outstanding!

Pros
The company is fast and efficient and above all, their representatives can actually speak if full sentences - unlike the competition. They are very helpful and accommodating. Another PRO is that the void unit comes all pre-installed. You just have to plug it in and that is it! Quality hardware. Quality service.
Cons
Haven't found any yet.

After suffering for four years with ACANAC, I finally took some advice from my brother and moved over to Phone Power. What a difference! The people behind the company can actually speak English and are able to string sentences together that make sense. They are very helpful and all that. But the most important thing is that the quality of the hardware and the system itself is so high that it just blows you away. No one can compete with this. This is the perfect service. I hope you never change from this! I will convert everyone I know to this system.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
TM242's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.199.187

Phone Power Works For Me

Pros
Free Equipment, Quality, iPhoneApp
Cons

I got the adapter on Amazon (for free after rebate). It was easy enough to set up and I've enjoyed the service since then. Calls sound clear and my monthly expenditure for phone service is much less than it was with my previous service provider. I use the iPhone to use my home service while I'm out and about (great for calling another country and/or not using cell minutes) I highly recommend them.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5