Phone Power

Freedom Unlimited

Unlimited calls to US, Canada and Puerto Rico.

Key Features:

  • Free 2nd line
  • Free equipment
  • 60 free international minutes

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $5.99
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $14.95
  • Other Fees: $14.95 shipping and handling (if applicable).

Special Notes

Maximum limit of 5,000 minutes/month.

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

Phone Power



Sound Quality
4.2
Reliability
4.033335
Customer Service
4.033335
Features
4.033335
Price
4.033335
Overall
4.160001

149 Reviews | Write a review

70% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2005

"I used my own SPA942. Set up was EASY! Just do it!"

by Edherd

For competitive rates, Phone Power serves every one, from a single-line residential customer to a corporate call center, and everything in between.

Phone Power usually has several distinct offers related to their Freedom Unlimited residential package. If you are willing to sign a long-term contract, Phone Power can guarantee lower rates. Then again, their monthly package isn’t exorbitant, either.

Each unlimited plan, regardless of the term (24 month, 12 month, monthly, or annual) will get you virtually unlimited calling. You can take inbound calls without a limit, and are granted a high outbound calling threshold of 5,000 minutes a month. Free equipment, a second line, and 60 minutes of international calling are also incldued with each plan.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

s isaacs's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.137.155

Poor Service and Up Time - Phone Power

Pros
Can't think of any.
Cons
Hard to configure Phone Power interface. Unreliable service and routing. Fax service does not work.

I decided to use VOIP service to handle phone service in three offices located in two cities. I started using Vonage VOIP around 2005-2006. I eventually moved off Vonage to Broadvoice and stayed with Broadvoice from around 2006 until 2013. While on Broadvoice I had 5 VOIP lines on a VOIP PBX system which worked great. Let me emphasize that everything worked fine, I had no complaints. Line configuration was straightforward and Broadvoice tech support was great. However, when I tried to add an additional line, Broadvoice stated their equipment couldn't handle that number of lines and required that I switch all my lines to Phone Power - their parent company. I switched to Phone Power over 6 months ago and am NOT happy. In short, the Phone Power VOIP software is hard to configure and calls are not routed properly. Unlike Broadvoice tech support, Phone Power tech support will not help reconfigure my VOIP PBX system to work with the Phone Power service. The manufacturer and tech support of my PBX says the problem is with the SIP settings - a Phone Power issue. Since switching Phone Power hasn't been able to configure my basic phone lines to consistently work. Call routing on my primary business line has been down now for nearly three weeks - incoming calls go nowhere. I have wasted a lot of time trying to get Phone Power to fix the problem. Additionally, the Fax line is a joke - it doesn't work. When I tried to switch back to Broadvoice from Phone Power I was informed by Broadvoice that it was against Phone Power company policy. I have lost a lot of business and clients because of Phone Power. I am now searching for another VOIP provider.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
2
Price
4
Overall
2.8
htkonop's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.145.113

THIS IS GREAT - Phone Power

Pros
EVERYTHING !!!
Cons
NOTHING !!

only took 3 days for shipping, set up was so easy, call clearity great, so many great features included, price comparison i am saving lots of $$ a month. the things i can do to my account online are fantastic, and the mobile app is another added bonus.
customer service is great i had one thing i wanted changed and they did it, then they called me back later to check if it was done and to see if i wanted anything else.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
riverlebon's picture


Member since:
Dec 2013

xxx.xxx.41.179

Phone Power - The price is fair and the system works fine

Pros
The price is fair and the system works fine
Cons
Sometimes you can hear a background noise, though that's not usual. Also, there could be a lower rate for those, like me, who only need to call to a single country.

I have being using the service for three months now and made lots of calls, some of them for longer than one hour and the system is working fine. I would definitely recommend it to my friends, but would suggest a lower rate for those, like me, who only need to call to a single country.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.4
someday's picture


Member since:
Nov 2013

xxx.xxx.47.198

Phone Power service

Pros
all has been working as advertised.
Cons
one time was told by receiving party that they were getting feed back, i didnt here it, and its only been that one tm.

yes that i didn't get to tell verizon management why i was dropping their service, oops i used the word verizon and service in the same sentence.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.8
Lucidboomer's picture


Member since:
Nov 2013

xxx.xxx.203.192

Phone Power is Outstanding!

Pros
The company is fast and efficient and above all, their representatives can actually speak if full sentences - unlike the competition. They are very helpful and accommodating. Another PRO is that the void unit comes all pre-installed. You just have to plug it in and that is it! Quality hardware. Quality service.
Cons
Haven't found any yet.

After suffering for four years with ACANAC, I finally took some advice from my brother and moved over to Phone Power. What a difference! The people behind the company can actually speak English and are able to string sentences together that make sense. They are very helpful and all that. But the most important thing is that the quality of the hardware and the system itself is so high that it just blows you away. No one can compete with this. This is the perfect service. I hope you never change from this! I will convert everyone I know to this system.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
TM242's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.199.187

Phone Power Works For Me

Pros
Free Equipment, Quality, iPhoneApp
Cons

I got the adapter on Amazon (for free after rebate). It was easy enough to set up and I've enjoyed the service since then. Calls sound clear and my monthly expenditure for phone service is much less than it was with my previous service provider. I use the iPhone to use my home service while I'm out and about (great for calling another country and/or not using cell minutes) I highly recommend them.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
baytowne's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.96.209

Good Service but Lousy Transmission Phone Power

Pros
Great features and easy to use the online interface.
Cons
Voice quality on local calls is fine, but on Long Distance it is really bad. And if you decide to go with phone power,it takes 10 days for the modem to come from California to Ontario. If you pick a date before 10 days has passed, you will be out of service for 2 days like I was...although I was able to go online and forward my calls to the cell phone. That was pretty cool.

Poor Reception and Transmission on Long Distance calls. My calls were to Waterloo Ontario, just over 80 miles from where I live. It was like I was calling England in 1978.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
2
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
3.6
fpdiab's picture


Member since:
Sep 2013

xxx.xxx.29.254

Extremely pleased Phone Power

Pros
Real phone support with real people! Click to Call feature is excellent! 2 lines with same phone number at home very useful.
Cons
Perhaps paying 2 years up front could be considered a con.

This is my very first online review but I thought it was worth taking the time to give this company some credit. There are not that many options for inexpensive but reliable service in Canada that could port my home number. When I first signed up for service I had buyer's remorse because I only waited until after ordering to check other people's reviews. There were enough complaints to make me think I made a mistake.

I must say that the personable service I have received has been second to none. They have walked me through some of the features (like setting call forwarding rules and the click to call feature) and they tweaked my line because I was getting some initial echoing.

I can only guess that those people who are complaining must not have internet service fast enough to handle Voip.

Paying up front is a bit of a pain but my justification is that it's like paying 6 months up front with my regular phone company but I'm getting 2 years of service. Not bad at all! Keep up the great work Phone Power. I highly recommend them!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
LarryJay's picture


Member since:
Aug 2013

xxx.xxx.41.164

Beware of Hidden Costs! Phone Power

Pros
+ Good audio quality but only if your broadband supports the service + Free softphone which makes it easy to 'carry' your phone service around with you even globally without having to carry any hardware other than your laptop or tablet. + Very minimal service downtime and high call connection rate
Cons
- Lack of transparency in billing process - Very poor customer service and unfriendly staff

Beware of their so-called 2-year plan for "$199.99 or $8.33 per month". What they won't tell you is that the true cost, after adding various charges for hardware, P&P, fees and taxes, several of which are not even explained, is closer to $400 or $16.67 per month. Before locking in into a 2-year plan with the risks of losing all your pre-paid funds if the company goes out of existence within the period, I would strongly advise the buyer to check for monthly plans that are more transparent and honest in their pricing process. Ask about all hidden charges and fees and be sure these are justifiable before concluding their plan is cheaper than others based on the listed price alone. Many of the so-called charges and fees are not even explained so you cannot even be sure they are legit but once you have signed on your options become thinner.

You sign on with this Company believing that once you've paid $199.99, you can then relax for the next 24 months and not have to worry about phone bills, right? Wrong! The $199.99 is nothing other than a standard bait-and-switch tactic and the surprises start even before you pay when fees and charges immediately add almost $90 to your first payment. The second year, you are hit with even higher fees and charges, this time with absolutely no explanation or details. Tough luck for your financial planning if you haven't anticipated and planned for this. Sadly, by then you have no option other than a no-refund cancellation and losing all of your second year prepaid expenses.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
2.8
NinaP3's picture


Member since:
Jun 2013

xxx.xxx.252.239

Phone Power has Power

Pros
It was extremely easy to set up and was way cheaper than having a second line installed by a conventional telephone company.
Cons
Has an app for android but is not very reliable.

It was extremely easy to set up and was way cheaper than having a second line installed by a conventional telephone company. I will be using the service to make both domestic and international calls with little or no extra cost which is very convenient. I love it. It also has voice mail to email which is great when away from home. It has a E911 registration and even the use of another line without extra cost.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
4
Price
3
Overall
4