netTALK

netTALK DUO

Key Features:

  • Keep your number for free
  • International add-ons
  • All-in-one Adapter

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $29.95
  • Cancellation Fees: N/A
  • Setup Fees: $49.95
  • Long Distance: $0.02/min
  • Shipping: $5.95
  • Other Fees: Early termination fees may apply.

Available Features

  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Transfer
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

NOTE: International rates displayed are based on calls made from US.

netTALK



Sound Quality
2.285715
Reliability
1.57143
Customer Service
1.57143
Features
1.57143
Price
1.57143
Overall
2.028572

7 Reviews | Write a review

13% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States and Canada
Founded in: 2008

Based in Miami, Florida and founded in 2008, netTALK offers big savings on residential VoIP service with easy-to-use products so you can "Fire Your Phone Company." They offer the unique feature of being able to make VoIP calls without a computer with the DUO phone adapter.

Local and long-distance calls are free from within the US and Canada and DUO-to-DUO calls are free worldwide. International rates are competitive, and prepaid credits can be purchased to make international calls for the basic plan.

netTALK Calling Plans

Purchasing the netTALK DUO at $49.95 gives you the device and one year of free service. There is a 30-day money back guarantee and early termination fees may apply for cancellation after the 30-day period. neTALK’s mission statement states that superior customer service is provided to all customers.

Basic

There is an annual flat charge of $29.95 after the first year, which is $2.50 a month, for the basic call plan.

Enhanced

The North America add-on extends your calls to Puerto Rico and Mexico for an annual fee of $70, which is just under $6 a month.

The International add-on extends your calls to another 60 commonly called countries for an annual fee of $120, which is $10 a month.

netTALK Call Plan Features

All call plans have the same standard features:

  • Free 411
  • E-911 service
  • Voicemail to email
  • Caller ID
  • Three-way calling
  • Call waiting
  • Call forwarding
  • Live tech support

Features of the netTALK DUO

The netTALK DUO’s best feature is the patent pending technology that connects right into the router when the computer is off, letting you make calls when you need to. You can also plug the DUO into any USB port on your computer to use the Internet connection if you don’t have access to the router.

The DUO is portable and allows you to take your phone number with you when you are on the go.

The DUO supports faxing as long as your fax supports VoIP.

The DUO comes with a free phone number on purchase, but netTALK also offers a number porting service so that you may keep your current phone number.

netTALK Reviews

netTALK reviews have very high ratings and searching “netTALK reviews”, or even “net talk review,” pulls up four-star reviews by commendable sources. PCMag, PCWorld, Laptop Magazine, and the New York Times have reviewed netTALK and found it to be a worthwhile competitor to the MagicJack.

However, more than one netTALK review by users mentions that the customer service was not what they expected when they encountered issues. A call placed to the company to get more accurate shipping quotes went unanswered due to the fact that the customer service operates on EST hours.

In general, netTALK reviews discuss the ease of setup and installation, the cost-saving benefits of using the DUO, and the ability to try out it out during the first 30-days worry free. Feel free to leave reviews about your own experience with netTALK.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

Mike McGarry's picture


Member since:
Nov 2014

xxx.xxx.18.104

NETALK IS UNRELIABLE AND UNPREDICTABLE

Pros
If a product doesn't work as advertised, is problematic and unreliable, then how can there be any Pros. If the advertised customer service is unreachable after repeated phone calls and emails and opened tickets, how can there be any Pros. If the customer service department says the product is fine, but it is either my internet connection or my telephone, how can there be any Pros.
Cons
The caveat from the NetTALK supervisor I ultimately spoke to is they can't be sure that their device will or won't work with any given telephone handset, and that it may or may not work with any given ISP (based on the ISP's routers or other electronics). The biggest Con is the unknown unreliability factor of their product. NeTALK's customer service outs are many -they don't really have solutions for their product when it doesn't work.

As I mention above I have no Pros for this device. The negatives are buying a device you expect to work, and when it doesn't the advertised customer service is all but unavailable ( it took me four weeks to get a response from NeTALK). It is a good idea, just poorly executed when NeTALK's excuse for nonperformance or functionality is that the problem is either your phone or your internet connection.

The warning I got from their customer service department is that their device may or may not work with any given telephone or internect provider. Based on that I would not invest the time or money as the frustration level is not worth the price of admission.

The problems with the unit is that once a call is dialed it may not go through, it just goes to dead air space. Sometimes it will go to a fast busy signal other times it will ring once and a recording will answer saying the number is not available right now. I validate the above three scenarios to be false by making the same calls from a landline and they go through immediately with no problem.

I conclude with the old adages of "Buyer beware" and "You get what you pay for". AVOID NETALK DEVICES.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
4
Overall
2.6
alpac's picture


Member since:
Jun 2014

xxx.xxx.28.237

OK when it works but if you have a problem you are on your own

Pros
Very cheap
Cons
Unreachable customer services. Not reliable. No support

I have had Netalk for a year and a half now and I really wanted to like this product. When it works it works great, sound is clear and it is very cheap. Unfortunately when you have a problem you are on your own as the customer service is almost unreachable. I had 3 issues since I got Netalk. It took 2 and 3 weeks to fix the first 2 and I am not out of the last one. Dont even try to call the online help desk as when you call there is a voice message telling you to use the online chat. When you try to use the online chat you are put in a queue with 80 or 100 people waiting ahead of you. On this online chat you get stuck for hours with no response until they close the chat. You can also open a ticket and if you are lucky you may receive a response within 4 or 5 days. Bottom line you cannot rely on a Netalk phone. I am extremely frustrated. At the moment my Netalk phone is unusable as everytime I try to call any phone # I get a voice message saying that I dont have enough credit while my account had been prepaid until March 2015. I have opened tickets, tried the online chat but no response yet.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
5
Overall
3
Thunderpoke12's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.137.165

DISAPPOINTED!! The only reason I gave them one star is because I couldn't go lower!

Pros
Inexpensive, no computer hookup required
Cons
Customer Service non-existent, voice quality mostly poor, lots of echoing, have to re-power several times a day.

I was absolutely delighted with Net Talk when I first subscribed 3 years ago - everything was perfect, Customer Service was friendly and very helpful, voice quality was good, God was in his heaven and all was right with the world. Then just a few months ago, all of a sudden it seems, I noticed that I wasn't getting dial tone sometimes and had to re-power, and I never knew when that would happen. Consequently, I was surprised to find phone messages in my email. People began complaining about echo during conversations, as well as time lapses. I called the Customer Service number in my manual, only to find it was no longer working - same with Tech Support. All that was available seemed to be to make out a service ticket, which I did, explaining the problem. Three weeks later I received a reply stating that according to their agent, the problem had been solved. I wrote back explaining that not only had it not been solved, it was now worse. That was two weeks ago and I haven't heard from them on that one. Don't know what's going on with Net Talk - maybe the were bought out by idiots, or maybe they're going belly-up. But here's one person's advice to anyone considering subscribing to Net Talk......DON'T DO IT!!!!!! RUN AWAY!!!!

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
kito's picture


Member since:
Feb 2014

xxx.xxx.115.152

netTalk - No customer service defective product

Pros
It was the only thing available.
Cons
There exists no customer service. No functional forum. No customer contact email. Slow or inexistant answering to complaints. No contact number and can't make international calls to reach you if you are outside the country.

Well i bought this product and it never worked. No matter what i tried. It doesn't work, it's most probably defective, but the incompetance at the nettalk company impedes them from being able to get a technician to call me in order to perform a diagnostic, so I don't even know for certain. I've submitted tickets to their complaint office, and many of them at that. The only thing i got was the old school run around. Loads of bull excrements. I tried their chat but it's the same. My only option was to contact the email that specifically said not a customer service email, which is where i got the closest thing to customer service, but they couldnt manage to make a call to an international number. I even sent an email with an explanaition on how it is done. This company is acreditation with BBB has been REVOKED. If at all possible don't buy anything from this company. The device is garbage and the software is horrible and not user friendly in the least you don't have any sort of options. Basically don't buy it.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
lorvince's picture


Member since:
Jun 2013

xxx.xxx.120.55

2 Thumbs Up for NetTALK

Pros
Easy to setup Easy to Activate Easy to make and receive calls Easy to manage with online account Easy to forward calls or block specific numbers Easy to setup voicemail Easy to retrieve voicemails from your email Call quality much better than Freephoneline or MagicJack
Cons
None so far

I had been with Freephoneline for a long time and had bought their $50 one time for the ATA and sip settings and had used it with no problems for first 2 years or so but once they switched to Fongo my call quality dropped and people on other end were just hearing me choppy all the time.
Before that I had been with MagicJack and I was ok with them but just didn't like the echoness all the time from both hearing my own voice and from other people hearing echoness too
What really made me switch to Nettalk was I just couldn't take the call quality and constant issues I had with FPL ATA adapter. Had to always reset the adapter whenever the dialtone stopped being heard on my phone.
Since having the Nettalk setup I immediately noticed a much louder, cleaner and crisper call quality when receiving or making calls now. It was really a big difference since I was already so used to the lower end call quality that FPL gave me all that time. This was such a big improvement for me that I went ahead and even did an auto-renewal for when my subscription will near expiring next year in June of 2014.
For the price and call quality this is by far the best one I've used and come accross.

Also: I never went with MagicJack Plus although I heard some good reviews on it. I just didn't want to chance it again
I never went with Vonage because I was with them years back paying monthly all the time and who in their right mind would pay monthly nowadays especially when Vonage is nowhere near being a replacement for an actual landline so why pay monthly for that?
I never went with Ooma because of the high device cost and again why would I when Nettalk does the job for me
I never went with Obihai even though reviews are good for it but I needed to be able to go in somewhere and walk out with an actual device not order online and sit around for it to arrive

Lastly: I've seen some reviews where users are having issues with their voip calling, connections etc. I've got to tell you I have never had those problems and it seems the people having these issues are ones that don't really understand their home network or internet connections. You really have to make sure you have a good internet speed and good upload speed to get any kind of good call quality with any voip you've got connected. If you're internet speed at home is less than 5 Mbps and don't have a decent upload speed than you definitely should be looking at upgrading your internet package with your provider rather than looking at the voip as an issue right away.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
4
Price
3
Overall
3.8
juststacy's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.1.228

Very Dis-satisfied with netTALK

Pros
Ok, so the idea of netTalk Duo is fantasic, isn't it. No one can deny it boasts a great game.
Cons
It cannot provide service as promised.

I bought my netTalk Duo in October and I have been so frustrated and disappointed. I have never been able to pick up my messages, not from my phone nor through the emails sent via netTalk. I haven't been able to even get into the setting part to make it so the message service is shut off so that people cannot be tricked into believing I got their message! The messages saved and sent to my email address, do not open ever, the phone requires constant resetting, and finally, and most recently they changed my phone number (without warning) to a number outside of my area code making it a long distance call for people to telephone me. I have never been able to get customer service in the 8 months that I have tried and now my phone won't even reset so that I can make phone calls out if I wanted to. No one has ever really been able to phone me, and I have rarely been able to phone out. Please save yourself a lot of frustration and steer clear of netTalk Duo.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
juststacy's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.1.228

Very Dis-satisfied with netTALK

Pros
Ok, so the idea of netTalk Duo is fantasic, isn't it. No one can deny it boasts a great game.
Cons
It cannot provide service as promised.

I bought my netTalk Duo in October and I have been so frustrated and disappointed. I have never been able to pick up my messages, not from my phone nor through the emails sent via netTalk. I haven't been able to even get into the setting part to make it so the message service is shut off so that people cannot be tricked into believing I got their message! The messages saved and sent to my email address, do not open ever, the phone requires constant resetting, and finally, and most recently they changed my phone number (without warning) to a number outside of my area code making it a long distance call for people to telephone me. I have never been able to get customer service in the 8 months that I have tried and now my phone won't even reset so that I can make phone calls out if I wanted to. No one has ever really been able to phone me, and I have rarely been able to phone out. Please save yourself a lot of frustration and steer clear of netTalk Duo.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
techguru's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.186.54

Don't Waste Your Money on netTALK

Pros
Price is Good and operates without a computer
Cons
Reliability was poor - had the device less than 2 months and it failed. Tech Support is non-existent - 10am-4pm Mon-Fri - wait hours on the phone to speak with anyone Sound quality marginal

I would NEVER recommend this service. This company needs to do much more in the way of customer service to win my business. Do not waster you money or time investigating this service.

Sound Quality
2
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
1.8