CallCentric

North America Unlimited

For unlimited calls in the US and Canada, choose CallCentric's North America Unlimited plan. For just $19.95 per month (without a contract), this residential VoIP service not only allows you to receive unlimited calling between the two countries, but you also still receive CallCentric's competitive international rates.

Key Features:

  • Unlimited local and long distance
  • Low international rates
  • 30 standard features

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $19.95
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $0.00
  • Other Fees: N/A

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

NOTE: International rates displayed are based on calls made from US.

CallCentric



Sound Quality
4.206895
Reliability
3.931035
Customer Service
3.931035
Features
3.931035
Price
3.931035
Overall
4.086206

58 Reviews | Write a review

73% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States
Founded in: 2003

"At the end of the day, Callcentirc allowed me to cut my phone bills in half and provided me with a number of additional features that I never had. A+"

by EastofEden

CallCentric offers VoIP-based broadband Phone services for residential and business users. Their services include all of the essential features and much more.

Consider the IP Freedom phone service. As long as you are calling another CallCentric customer, with the proper installed software (or an IP-adapted phone), the call is absolutely, 100% free. The only downside is that you can’t call anyone on a landline.

CallCentric has three different paid calling plans. The first, Pay Per Call, is an extension of the IP Freedom calling plan. You simply credit a small amount to your account and you can call anywhere in world, at low VoIP rates. That’s it. You only pay for what you use. Calls within the CallCentric network are still free.

Second and third are the North America Unlimited Plan and the World Select Plan. Both are for a low monthly fee and both offer unlimited calls: North America Unlimited to North America and World Select to 35 countries around the globe. All CallCentric’s plans (even IP Freedom) have wonderful features included, like voicemail, browser management, and more.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

chris dean's picture


Member since:
Oct 2013

xxx.xxx.207.51

Good sound, TERRIBLE customer service with CallCentric

Pros
Cheap, good sound quality, good features
Cons
horrible, horrendous, obnoxious customer service. Their LNP process is terrible, their customer service rude, arrogant, and have a "your time is our time" philosophy

If you're not porting a number (and will therefore not have contact with their customer service), this is a pretty good service. However, the *instant* you need to open a trouble ticket, your life will be hell. Better yet -- the first time you need to open a ticket, just cancel your account.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
3
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
2.8
VoIPFan's picture


Member since:
Sep 2013

xxx.xxx.22.106

Stable service, excellant support with CallCentric

Pros
Affordable service, crisp calls, tons of features with more added several times a year, excellent support
Cons

Been using Callcentric for 3 years now and with the exception of a couple of bumps in the road, the service has been fantastic. Use them at office (PBX) and home (Obi Adaptor). Their service is always evolving and I frequently get e-mails about new features being added. With their Pay-Per Use plans my home service is less than $9 per month!

Simply excellent, give them a try!

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
4
Overall
4.6
mmisyter's picture


Member since:
Jul 2013

xxx.xxx.247.172

You better steer clear! - CallCentric

Pros
Great when it works
Cons
Poor dependability, Irresponsible management, Arrogant customer support and slow responsiveness.

I have 3 accounts. They completely LOST 2 numbers I ported in to them. The other sometimes answers "Number not in Service". They are a total nightmare. No phone support, only "Trouble Tickets" that they respond to when the get around to it, even emergency problem as mentioned. 6 hour response normally. To make things worse, they simply claim it is my equipment that is the problem when all 3 accounts in 3 different locations all go down at the same time....YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! They need to be shut down since it seems like the management itself could care less since I have been patiently hoping they would change, but since a year of issues, they have not.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
3
Overall
2.2
BuhByeBell's picture


Member since:
Mar 2013

xxx.xxx.195.86

Let the Savings begin!

Pros
Patient, understanding customer support Crystal clear call quality Call Treatments Both Pay Per Use and Unlimited Plans
Cons
Haven't found any yet!

Was tired of being taken advantage by Vonage, so at the recommendation of my neighbor I gave Callcentric a try. Am a bit of a noob and I wanted to try things out before "jumping into the water"; so I signed up for one of their Free DIDs.

Admittedly, I was a bit overwhelmed at first as I had never configured an ATA or an IP Phone before. No worries though, as after reviewing their config guides and working with their support team (at 10 PM on a Sunday night!); I was able to get my Obi 202 up and running in no time.

Once up and running, signed up for their North America 500 plan for outbound and their Pay Per Minute service for inbound. Took about 10 days to port my number to Callcentric..

My wife has said the Callcentric line sounds clearer than our Vonage service and my monthly bills are less than what Vonage was charging us in fees alone!

Never looking back, definitely recommended

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
4
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.8
trask768's picture


Member since:
Dec 2012

xxx.xxx.126.22

Avoid Callcentric like the plague!

Pros
Cons
Bad network, very susceptible to problems.

Stay away from Callcentric!!!

I first used Callcentric five years ago for my main business DID. After about a 10 months with them, I ported the number to another provider because I noticed that a small percentage of calls to our DID would fail. I did some testing and found that instead of going to voicemail or hearing a busy tone, callers would get the message "this number is not in service". For a business, that is completely unacceptable. The damage to my business well exceeded the cost of VOIP service.

Nevertheless, I liked the website and thought they may be a good option for a residential DID. Boy, was I wrong!

I switched my parents over to them earlier this year because I figured Callcentric would be able to handle the low volume of calls on a residential number. If a call here and there didn't go through, it wouldn't be a big deal. Callers could just try calling right back and would probably get through.

I can't say how unhappy my parents were with the service they got from Callcentric.

Starting in September, there was a DOS attack that caused major problems with their service. You could not place calls with them and inbound calls did not get completed. This issue dragged on for over a month. They kept coming up with a "solution" that would last for a day or so only to have the exact same problems happening again. At first, I had some pity on them, but after time kept dragging on, it seemed like they were completely unprepared for this and were just grasping at straws for a solution.

During Hurricane Sandy, it became extremely clear that their network was very poorly planned. They have all their servers in one building in downtown New York and do not have any generator backups! As far as I could tell, they only have short term battery backups that will only last for a power outage of an hour or so. They were down for days and blamed the weather, but it was really because they had such poor planning and network design. Other providers based in NYC didn't have any downtime. What's going to happen the next time they lose power?

A well designed VOIP network should have uptime that is not dependent on the local power grid. Servers should be in at least two different locations, separately by hundreds or thousands of miles. Callcentric has neither of these things.

Bottom line, avoid them like the plague. They have a nice website and good prices, but you can't trust these guys to handle your phone service. There are several other providers that can take their place.

Don't be fooled by positive reviews.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
2
wiesu's picture


Member since:
Nov 2012

xxx.xxx.118.78

Callcentric Unapologetic for over month of down time

Pros
Quality of service was average until recent outages. ease of use and bring your own device BYOD.
Cons
I am leaving Callcentric due to the unuseable service for over a month. You cannot call them for support, but open a ticket which never resolve the issues. Continue to charge even with the service down. Feel totally ripped off and really let down by a company that does not value service commitment to their customers.

I was their customer for over 3 years and did not experience any major issues during that time - the call quality was acceptable and the cost reasonable. The problems surfaced when Callcentric faced some serious technical issues that appeared beyond their technical capabilities. Callcentric did not take the down service seriously resulting in extensive downtime - I mean you cannot call out or receive calls and at best you can hear the other party, but they cannot hear you, or repeated dropped calls. Horrible experience that lasted over a month. What tipped it over the edge is that they just couldn't care about the pathetic level of service as long as they have your credit card on file and bill you for service that does not exist.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
1
Features
2
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
2.2
Fredrick2012's picture


Member since:
Oct 2012

xxx.xxx.168.223

Great savings --but lack of service due to DDOS attack & Sandy

Pros
It's was really easy to set up my service with me own equipment and to get my local tel # transfered. The features and price are great.
Cons
The past 2 week have been a nightmare. First they are attacked by VoIP terrorists with DDOS and now Hurricane Sandy has taken service completely down -- including their website. Can't even log on to transfer calls to my cell phone. I hope they come through this soon --- or I will have to look for some other option.

I really did like Callcentric and have been with them for over 2 years. It was the best and cheapest tel service I ever had. The dashboard on login was so easy to work with and set preferrences. I don't know what I am going to do now that their service is completely down.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
2
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.4
lowdough's picture


Member since:
Oct 2012

xxx.xxx.255.222

Worked great UNTIL SANDY HIT. NO BACKUP GENERATOR!!!!!

Pros
Very customer-friendly. It was reliable and easy to use for years.
Cons
NO BACKUP GENERATOR! NO GEOGRAPHIC DIVERSITY!! When the lights go out in New York, Callcentric goes down HARD. No service (not even forwarding service), no website. Nothing. Very amateurish setup.

I loved Callcentric until Sandy hit New York. My (skeptical) wife even agreed to use it.

Then hurricane Sandy hit and the lights went out in New York. Callcentric is currently down HARD. Incoming calls just get a busy signal. Our phone gizmo cannot connect to Callcentric servers. It is as if Callcentric did not exist.

This is day 2 now. I think I'm out and moving to voip.ms or some other service that has some geographic diversity so that if one location gets hit, the load can be moved to other sites.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
4
Price
4
Overall
3.4
vexorgtr's picture


Member since:
Feb 2012

xxx.xxx.172.90

CallCentric: No Nonsense Pricing

Pros
Fair Prices, calls go though, major savings over PSTN, Questions get answered quickly.
Cons
It's not always easy for a rookie to set up. I suggest contacting an Agent who can provide and configure hardware if you are inexperienced.

CallCentric's concept of pay per call is a brilliant idea.  For those of us who call infrequently, we pay only a few dollars.  For those of us who call a great deal, we get a monthly fee that is still a grand discount from the PSTN.  Because of the pay per call rules,  Idiots like Telemarketers don't tie up CallCentric's channels and your calls go through easily.  Lots of devices are supported,  No Contract, can be made to fit a 1 phone house, or a whole corporation.   I bought it originally because it was the only VOIP that could port my number.   I was a skeptic. I like it so much that selling VOIP for Callcentric has become a driving force in my business.  We now sell CallCentric, 3CX, and various hardware.   I like CallCentric's no nonsense pricing that promotes responsible use and discourages abuse.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
5
Features
4
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.6
mongofrye's picture


Member since:
Sep 2009

xxx.xxx.43.38

Simply the Best!

Pros
Cost! Quality! Features!
Cons
Setting up the Service.

I have tried VOIP services and non have compared to the price and quality i have gotten from callcentric.

If you set up your system properly, you will have a great, reliable alternative to an expensive land line.

i have had this for 2 years now and have spent less than $120 bucks on this phone service.

If you want to just plug in your phone and go or have a customer service rep hold your hand through the process, this may not be for you. but once it is set up, you will have wonderful service and no other service compares in features. There online support is very fast and thorough in their answers, no cut and paste responses. they actually give you an answer you can use.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
4.4