ITP

VoIP Phone Service

2 months free. No contracts. And unlimited calling. Interested?

Key Features:

  • 2 months free, any plan
  • Phone adapter provided
  • No contracts, no cancellation fee

Basic Info

  • Monthly Fees: $8.32
  • Cancellation Fees: $0.00
  • Setup Fees: $0.00
  • Long Distance: $0.00/min
  • Shipping: $12.95
  • Other Fees: N/A

Special Notes

Free ITP phone adapter included in the package. 2 months free after 10 months paid. ITP does charge an activation fee, which varies based on your service plan.

Available Features

  • Call Blocking
  • Conference Calling
  • Fax Capabilities
  • Faxes to Email
  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Hold
  • Call Transfer
  • Music on Hold
  • Caller ID with Name
  • Call Waiting Disable *70
  • Call Waiting ID
  • Distinctive Ring
  • Do Not Disturb
  • Multiple Users
  • Area Code Selection
  • Extra Number (Virtual Numbers)
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, SIP)
  • Call Messaging
  • Enhanced Voice Mail
  • Voice Mails Emailed to You

NOTE: International rates displayed are based on calls made from US.

ITP



Sound Quality
4.20408
Reliability
4.285715
Customer Service
4.285715
Features
4.285715
Price
4.285715
Overall
4.255101

98 Reviews | Write a review

74% recommend this provider to a friend.


Availability: United States, Canada, Puerto Rico
Founded in: 2007

"ITP is the best VOIP provider out there. I've been fishing around trying to find the optimal provider to use, and ITP, without a doubt in my mind, is the best I have used."

by Jerrylew

ITP is one of the leaders in the VoIP revolution – because they are flexible. One of the few VoIP providers able to offer excellent business and residential VoIP service, the Internet Telephone Provider (ITP's full name) won't give you the run around, because they don't want you to run around. They want your business and they'll work for it.

Consider ITP's business VoIP plans: they know there are a lot of business out there. And they know that every business has different needs. That's why they provide a basic metered plan, at two-and-a-half cents a minute, for businesses and phones with a low call volume.

ITP also knows your business needs unlimited calls, too. So they provide scalable unlimited plans. For instance, having more than 20 lines on the same ITP plan will net your business a 25% discount – up front. That in addition to any concessions and perks they throw in to make the sale. Add in that ITP has various unlimited international calling packages, easily customized for the other countries that you call the most, and ITP looks better and better. Check the international rates tab to the right for an example of some of ITP's great international rates. (Be sure to check their website frequently, too; the rates can change for the better very quickly).

Where ITP really shines is in consumer VoIP/residential VoIP market. Whether you need one line or two, specific low international rates or an unlimited international calling plan, or just unlimited calls in the United States, consider ITP. They got a bevy of plans to choose from, but we'll give it to you straight, right here:

They don't need a contract and don't want one.

Unlike some of the other guys, ITP will give you a hefty discount without a contract. You'll pay for ten months, then get the final two months for free. Plus, you get an ITP phone adapter included in your service plan. That means you can take your phone anywhere. And, since there isn't a contract, there isn't the prohibitive cancellation fee that some of the other providers out there conceal. Throw in unlimited calling and what's not to love. What's not to love?

ITP stands for Internet Telephone Provider, technically. But ITP also has some great internet telephone people, too, who are there for you, 24/7 (that's our way of saying that they have 24/7 customer service).

Go ahead. Go ITP.

Users' Reviews

Write a review! Tell us about your VoIP experience.

Sort Reviews By: latest Posts | Oldest Posts | Positive Reviews First | Negative Reviews First

itdood's picture


Member since:
Apr 2014

xxx.xxx.131.170

Switched over to ITP after 5 years with Vonage

Pros
Many plans to choose from. Extremely feature rich. ITP offers very granular control to block any incoming number including the ability to block large blocks of phone numbers, and you can do this by time of day. The adapter sent to be is an Obihai. I received this from the New York area in 2 days of the order. Call clarity is the same as we experienced with Vonage and POTS. I was up and running within a few minutes of receiving the adapter.
Cons
None yet

I read a lot of the recent negative reviews on ITP here and almost decided against them. Some of the reviews sounded really angry, I don't' trust those types of reviews, so I took a chance. So far so good. Fast shipping on the new adapter and call quality is fine. I've been meaning to switch to ITP from Vonage for a long time for ITP's rich feature set. Despite being part of the "no call" list we receive far too many robo calls, debt collector calls, and other nuisance calls. Myself and many other Vonage customers have been making a feature request to have more granular controls of incoming calls for many years. I was with Vonage for 5 years and realized this was never going to happen. The only reason I didn't leave was out of laziness. Then our Vonage adapter stopped working. The options to fix it quickly were sparse. I decided it was time to move over to ITP. So far so good. The only things left to do are port my # and test the alarm system. I will update this review if there are an problems.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
Jack305's picture


Member since:
Mar 2014

xxx.xxx.131.133

Read the small prints - ITP

Pros
Good customer phone and technical support, but....
Cons
Not many plans to choose from. No yearly plan offered. Not a good company to save money.

The $19.99 monthly plan is not really $19.99 but $21.98 when you add the $1.99 telephone fee tagged to the monthly fee. This is just a way of extracting more dollars from its customers. ITP does not tell you this piece of information. You have to pay for any extra service that already comes bundled and free in many other competitors. Example: softphone is an extra $10.00 for a ridiculous 500 minutes. ITP mobile voip calling plan is another extra $10.00 for 500 minutes. Both of these services come at no cost with Voipo, Phone Power, etc. An extra line would fetch another $19.99 ($21.98) from you as it is considered a new service. You add all this up and you pay as much or more than Vonage or Comcast and possibly the Bells.

Do your math.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
4
Features
3
Customer Service
5
Price
1
Overall
3.2
connerpop@hotmail.com's picture


Member since:
May 2013

xxx.xxx.15.30

ITP is essentially useless

Pros
At least the caller ID works fine.
Cons
Calls are absolutely unintelligible ~60% of the time. Tech support blamed it on our internet connection, but my son can receive calls on his itouch with perfect clarity.

We mainly use cell phones but I wanted to maintain a land line as well. The price seemed right but the call quality is so poor its essentially useless. I have been with them for about a year because I've been too lazy too switch. I suspect its people like me who keep them in business.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
3
Customer Service
2
Price
2
Overall
1.8
fletch25's picture


Member since:
Apr 2013

xxx.xxx.128.64

ITP looks good upfront, but that's about all

Pros
The cost for their service is very good.
Cons
They don't follow through on requests from customers, and their support employees are not professional.

ITP initially comes across as a very friendly and professional company, plus their rates are very good. But I had to call them three times before they started the process of transferring my service. After a month of frustration, I called to cancel my service and after two more weeks it was finally cancelled. You shouldn't even call ITP, even is it's just for information. It's just not worth it.

Sound Quality
4
Reliability
2
Features
2
Customer Service
2
Price
2
Overall
2.4
Maggie John's picture


Member since:
Apr 2013

xxx.xxx.85.173

Buyers BEWARE - this company is the WORST to do business with, SHAMEFUL!

Pros
Cons
Trying to get int ouch with the customer service is so painful. Then when you do get to speak with someone, they are the most unhelpful, unkind and patronizing. Trying to get them to refund your money - is an incorrigible experience. No one ever calls you back and you have to keep calling them as if it's your new full time job. Not to mention, all the while they keep billing you and refuse to ever give you back the amounts promised; everyone you talk to has a different thing to say.

The actual VOIP call quality and service may be good, but I never even bothered to find out or hook up the service as I needed to call them when I first received the product with an attachment missing. My life was hell after that and it took almost THREE months to get it resolved. Eventually I just settled for the extra fees they charged me as my refund just to be rid of them - such a NIGHTMARE!! I have NEVER had to write such a review, but I'm that mad and had to satisfy my conscience by not letting anyone else subject themselves to this insanity.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
danaml's picture


Member since:
Feb 2013

xxx.xxx.59.242

ITP Voip

Pros
NOTHING
Cons
I had not even completed the process to transfer my phone number when their lines went dead. I could not get a live person so the next day I cancelled activating my number transfer. Neither Jackie nor Blanca would refund my fee of $57.89 because my account was "activated". When I informed them that I had not even returned ITP's required forms they said too bad. BUYER BEWARE. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

I had not even completed the process to transfer my phone number when their lines went dead. I could not get a live person so the next day I cancelled activating my number transfer. Neither Jackie nor Blanca would refund my fee of $57.89 because my account was "activated". When I informed them that I had not even returned ITP's required forms they said too bad. BUYER BEWARE. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Customer Service
1
Price
1
Overall
1
jmathis's picture


Member since:
Jul 2012

xxx.xxx.35.32

Great value

Pros
Sound quality is great. Simple installation.
Cons
None as of yet

I've had the ITP service for about a week. So far it's great. Installation was easy. Sound quality is clear and sharp. So far, I'm satisfied with ITP.

Sound Quality
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
5
Price
5
Overall
5
mkleinvoipreview1's picture


Member since:
Mar 2012

xxx.xxx.91.136

ITP: A deceptive company

Pros
Easy setup, good call quality.
Cons
Less than 100% accuracy in pricing and busines practices. Buyer beware - as these people are somewhat misleading. See review.

This company is less than completely open about their pricing. They indicate it's a set price - but then they tack on their own "per line charges" to increase their monthly prices (and they only show the extra charge under the nebulous heading of "fees".) They also indicate that the first month is free? Not quite - which is another bit of deception in their business practices. They will only do that if you catch and complain about the automatic billing and they still charge you their line fees. I find this company less than completely open and honest in their marketing and business practices – it’s a shame really as their feature list is strong but their business ethics seem weak. Ah well, it’s time to find a replacement for them. I would NOT recommend this company to a friend.

Sound Quality
3
Reliability
3
Features
4
Customer Service
1
Price
2
Overall
2.6
szuckut's picture


Member since:
Mar 2012

xxx.xxx.108.227

ITP: Inferior voice quality

Pros
Friendly service. Easy set up of ITP equipment.
Cons
Inferior voice quality; charges higher than advertised; very tough contract making it difficult to move away from them

I switched from Comcast to ITP effective 12/6/11 and ported my phone number over to them.  Within a few days I realized that the voice quality was significantly worse than Comcast (e.g. couldn't different 's' from 'f' when people were speaking) and the tech support couldn't solve the problem.  so I figured it was either my set up or that the service was just inferior. Part of the problem may be that the ITP box connects to an ethernet port on my router, while with Comcast, the phone cable directly connects into Comcast's cable modem.  On 12/9/11 I called Comcast to get the phone number ported back to Comcast.  ITP made it very difficult for Comcast to port the number back.  I spent a few hours on the phone with Comcast, ITP, sometimes with both firms in a conference call to resolve the issues.  Finally, on Feb 27 2012, my number was ported back to Comcast and I am enjoying the higher voice quality again.  Also, I had ITP basic service and the monthly charge is $26.17 (that is what my credit card statement says), and they also charged me ~$45 for the little Linksys box that is required for their service.  So I think they are not advertising the correct rate.

One other piece of information:  I based my decision to select ITP on the website whichvoip.com.  So after this experience with ITP I wanted to provide a review (there are many reviews on this website).  It turns out one cannot provide reviews!! which makes me think that the website whichvoip.com is fraudulent.  I filed a BBB complaint in this regard.

It is a shame that even review sites you cannot trust anymore!  I hope this is useful and thank you for reading this post.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
5
Features
5
Customer Service
3
Price
3
Overall
3.4

ITP VOIP Review

Thank you very much for your review!  I am paying 50% more than the quoted price, and the sound quality is not great.  Shipping and setup fees were $40+.  I also experienced GREAT difficulty trying to post a negative review of ITP.    It seems it is not possible to submit a review.  The review is rejected, and the fields are all erased.   I wish I had seen this review before I signed on with ITP. 

said audiodave - Apr 09, 2012

ITP Reviews

FYI - I see negative reviews for ITP on the whichvoip.com review site. Just saying. I used voipreview.org and whichvoip.com during my research, both seem like decent sites to me. They both have +ve and -ve reviews for ITP. I think there are better options out there than ITP looking at the reviews on both sites, especially recent reviews, not very encouraging.
said smithstonejohn - Jun 04, 2013
axing's picture


Member since:
Feb 2012

xxx.xxx.82.180

ITP: Inconsistent voice quality

Pros
Good features good price
Cons
Inconsistent voice quality. gets worse over time to the point of useless

After 1-2 months of use, it is becoming inaudible. Not usable at all. Tech support was good but couldn't solve my problems. I maybe just one of the outliers who is not lucky. I'm going to try Ooma instead. At least I can get it from Costco and have 3 months risk free.

Sound Quality
1
Reliability
1
Features
5
Customer Service
3
Price
3
Overall
2.6